My Best Journey; A Visit to the Vatican City

in Worldmappinlast month (edited)

The world is filled with many historical places that could be appealing to almost everyone to visit. Some have had the opportunity of visiting quite a number of the places they have mapped out to go but many are yet to visit even one due to several barriers of which money is the major obstacle.

For me, I have also had the desires to be in some of the historical places in the world and almost always prayed about them. I am glad that I am able to achieve one of those desires and that is my visit to the Vatican City. In my last post, I shared my experience of travelling to Italy from Nigeria to further my education and fortunately for me, my school is located inside the Vatican City and so I have the privilege of passing through the Vatican almost every day.

IMG-20240213-WA0071.jpg

The Vatican City is a Small State but rich with many arts and stuffs to admire. Thus, passing through the environs is totally different from paying a visit to see the many of its properties. Therefore, in this post, I shall share my experience of Visiting the City as a tourism.

Due to the numerous things that there are to see there, I have visited the city about three times now and yet I have not seen it all. I am yet to pay a visit to the Vatican Museum where one cannot exhaust all that there are to see within a day's visit. Indeed its so rich. This is really the best place I have been to in my life and I can't stop talking about it each time with my friends.

The distance from the Vatican and where I live in Rome is just about an hour by foot but with a car, its about half an hour because of the stoppages at the traffic light junctions. But I went with the local train which would take me from my nearest train stop called Batistini and drop me at the nearest train station to the Vatican City called Ottaviano. Then I would walk about 10 to 15 minutes to the Vatican.

IMG-20230828-WA0005.jpg

The Vatican City is an independent state. In fact, it is the smallest independent state in the world. Its governed by the Pope. Basically, the Vatican City is a Catholic City. People troop in on daily basis to pay a visit. Every Wednesday, the Pope has an audience with the people and there are usually much more number of crowds flocking the City such that there is usually no space for those passing by.

On my visits to the Vatican, I walked around the vicinity and looked at the beautiful tall buildings and the dome. I could not climb to the dome because I didn't have the money to pay to do so. One needed to pay to go up to the dome. The Swiss guards are always on guard around the major entries. Then the Vatican army is also on guard always. The Police goes around with their patrol Van always watching and making sure all is fine.

The St. Peter's Basilica is always one major sight for everyone and so one would not make a visit to the Vatican City without entry and be satisfied, hehe. To get into the Basilica, there is usually a very long queue because of the check-in by the security personnel.

IMG_20230717_160933_904.jpg

IMG_20230717_160513_518.jpg

Inside the Basilica there are many beautiful sights to behold. There are several chapels dedicated to several saints. I joined a mass celebration at the Chapel of St. Joseph.

I was privileged to also visit the Tombs of the dead popes. Visiting the tomb is exclusively on special permission but I was lucky to go with some priests and so entrance was granted me. Taking of pictures are prohibited inside the tomb but I secretly did anyways, hehe.

I am so glad that I have the opportunity to be at the Vatocan. It is for me a dream come through. But one thing is left, I hope to be able to meet with the Pope and take a picture with him. I am still working on that and I know I shall achieve that also.

IMG-20230822-WA0000.jpg

IMG_20230717_160526_888.jpg

So this is my best journey ever and I am glad to share my experiences with you all. In the future, I hope to visit Jerusalem and see the Sacred tomb of our Lord. For now, I am glad that I have achieved one. Thanks for reading friends.

This is my participation for the week 3 of the worldmappin challenge hosted by #dreemport for the month of July..

Sort:  

I hope you get the opportunity to meet the pop too.
See fine man naw ah ah. Vatican is a very beautiful place, I love it

When someone tells me I can't take pictures at a particular place, that is when I do it secretly. Lol
The Vatican city is a beautiful sight to view and I love your pictures taken in there.

Hehe, na naija we b forever, hehe
Tha na for coming around dear