You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking Through a Bamboo Forest on a Cheese Farm in the North West, South Africa

in Pinmapple7 months ago

Nice hike except the heat, more for winter me thinks..., many of these areas were all wild open spaces, a couple of farms in the region when we ventured there when young.

Losing so much space it is upsetting to see old forests disappear, bamboo growing I know here at the coast, cannot recall ever seeing it up that way.

Excellent outing and coverage!

!BEER

Sort:  

So true. I hope in my naivety that when these farms "die" or that when we stop using them, that the forests will return. Probably not in our lifetime, but they will.

Yes, for sure, the heat was bad. But my girlfriend and I did another hike last week or so in the Magalies berge in North West and the heat there was even worse. We only managed half of the hike because our water ran out and the heat just got worse and worse. Hiking here is not a summer sport haha.

We had loads of fun in the Maglies not too far to travel for a picnic along a stream after hiking in. Lovely koppies in the region.

Indeed! My family always went there for vacation, so my earliest memories were made in the Magalies mountains mid 90s. Going back there now was kind of a shocker. It is similar to how you always imagine a tree being bigger when you are younger and it comes as a shock when you are older that it was never that big to begin with.

We had a shock going past Donaldson Dam when visiting Westrand twenty odd years ago, what was open veld is now wall to wall shacks. Nothing in that province attracts me back, will live with great memories thanks.

Oh I can imagine. I always look at old family videos and photographs and the places does not look the same anymore. I grew up in Vanderbjil park Gauteng, but apparently it is unrecognisable. Townships surround the town and no infrastructure repair.

Not many places left untouched by human abuse, only one or two towns perhaps.

Even in the “better” places, there are some areas you just rather not go.