I'm back in HIVE | Japan Travel Blog 1 [Osaka]

in Pinmapple11 months ago (edited)

It has been 5 years since I last posted in HIVE and I must say that I miss writing blogs. So many things happened in the past 5 years. There were ups and downs but the fun thing is I got to travel in different places. Going back in HIVE means getting to share with you my travel (and a lot more) experiences!

I was thinking of a way on how to get back to writing and thought that maybe I can start with the most recent and maybe the biggest decision I've made, that is living in Japan.

I am in Japan to pursue my PhD degree at Osaka University. As some of you know, I was pursuing my master's in meteorology the last time I posted. I finished my MSc in 2019 and continued my research career. Fortunately, I was given the chance to enroll in Osaka University for PhD under the Japanese government scholarship.

I came to Osaka, Japan last April 3, 2023. I was lucky to still be able to see cherry blossoms that time. Cherry blossoms in Osaka usually start to bloom by the latter weeks of March until first to second week of April.

In search for a scenic place to take sakura (japanese word for cherry blossom) pictures, I went to Expocity which is one station away from my residence. Look how gorgeous cherry blossoms were during that time, together with the Osaka wheel - the largest ferris wheel in Japan!

 "Cherry Blossom at EXPOCITY.JPG"

Cherry blossoms with the Osaka wheel at Expocity.

Cherry blossoms are really pretty in person. Personally, I felt relaxed just looking at them as they fall down every time the wind blows. There are also snacks made with sakura and they are definitely a must try during the spring season.

 "Cherry Blossom.jpg"

Cherry blossoms in focus.

In my first month in Osaka, Japan, I also celebrated my birthday. It was my first time spending my birthday away from home and my family (I already miss the Philippines). Anyways, it rained during my birthday but I still went out to celebrate at Dotonbori. Dotonbori is one of the tourist places in Osaka, popular for its vast options of luscious food and colorful night lights. It was pure bliss to finally see the iconic Glico man and of course the very busy streets of Dotonbori. Due to the amount of people on a weekend, plus the rain, I wasn't able to try okonomiyaki or takoyaki at Dotonbori. But will definitely go back there soon!

 "Dohtonbori.jpg"

Dotonbori canal and the famous Glico man.

To cap off this first entry in five years, let me share with you a snap of the Osaka castle. The Osaka castle was built in 1580s and was considered the largest castle in Japan. This historical castle is one of the famous tourist spots in Japan. It served as a stronghold during the war in sixteenth century. Sightseeing in Osaka castle is free so when you visit Japan, you must definitely add it in your itinerary!

 "Osaka Castle.jpg"

Osaka castle

This has been a fun first entry in many years. I will definitely post more of my travels soon and hopefully bring you guys to the places I have been and will be visiting in the future.

Sort:  

Hi there @jughead15 welcome back to Hive and glad that you chose to make your first post in Pinmapple.

Hive is a much better place than it was when you were last around and the sense of community is also much stronger. There's an active Team PH both on chain and Discord, let me know if you need me to hook you up.

There are many different communities on Hive, I'll recommend you to search by keywords. Joining different communities is the quickest way to grow your network, but don't forget to check all the community guidelines before you post to avoid being muted!

All the best

Hello @livinguktaiwan thank you so much for the tips! I agree with you, there were lots of improvements in Hive. Sure, you can loop me in Discord :)

Let me hook you up with some folks from Team PH here

@wittyzell @adamada can you help @jughead15 please. Thanks

Hey there @jughead15!
Welcome back to Hive! Though I think you came here before me 😅

You’re lucky to be able to get that opportunity to study here in Japan. How’s the language so far? I bet you’re good at it since you’re a student.

I’m also a Filipina in Japan. Wahehe
We might know some things in common.

If you have time, Hive PH community is on discord too so hope you can join us! https://discord.gg/hHgcbeV4

Congratulations @jughead15! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!