Room with a view in the nature paradise on the south Cape coast of Africa

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Welcome to another view of the beautiful south Cape coast of Africa. Today in this clip from a few months ago, back in winter of mid 2020, you can see the epic view from the town of Plettenberg Bay, the prime tourist holiday town in South Africa. The view is epic across the bay, where whales can be occasionally be seen during this time of year. They arrive in the winter for calving and stay a few months before heading back to Antarctica further south.
In this scene here you can see how warm and sunny it is throughout the winter on the south coast of Africa. The mountains in the distance may occasionally – once a year - get a dusting of snow that only lasts a day or two and is then evaporated. You can imagine the sublime and surreal scene of being on the beautiful white sandy beach on a clear sunny day, while simultaneously looking at the snow-capped peaks in the distance.
From this particular window where I’m standing, you get a great view of the bay. If you ever wish to have a nature-filled holiday, then Plettneberg Bay is the top town to visit here in Africa, as you have everything from beaches for surfing to lagoons for canoe paddling. In fact I have occasionally gone way upstream along one of the rivers that lead out from the lagoon. You can paddle up the creek, so to speak, to regions where no road or path can access. You can only get there by canoe.
It’s then possible to stop at one of the sandy river banks and camp overnight if you wish. And you will be remote even though it’s just a few miles from the town. This is a little gem of a place with indigenous forests and you can even go to see some of the last elephants in their indigenous habitat on the coast here. So you have the largest sea mammals and the largest land mammals all within the same region of this epic holiday town.
And it’s really quiet throughout most of the year, filling out in summer of course. But any time of the year is pleasant and mild, and ideal for tourists who like the outdoor lifestyle in nature. That’s why I moved here and live in this area called the Garden Route, if you want to look it up on a map. There are not many places in the world where you can see the combination of natural sights that you can find here.
Having been born and raised near the ocean, I have grown quite attached to it. The health benefits and quality of life are unsurpassed, despite any conditions under covid. My health has remained excellent throughout, facilitated by the fresh air and warm climate. I recommend this as a place to visit on your travels, if you still are able to travel. I presume, as I write this, that I have the place to myself right now.
No one is really allowed to enter South Africa from what I understand, so I will simply enjoy the place myself. Lockdown and covid regulations have changed the world of travel, so it’s much like Thailand here, where the locals have the exquisite beaches to themselves right now. I hope that wherever you are, you can also access such a beautiful region and tap in to the health and uplifting environment provided by nature at its best. At least I can show you the view from a window on paradise here today.

(image source - https://www.thedunesplett.co.za/blog/post/the-best-whale-watching-spots-in-the-cape-2018/)


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Absolutely wonderful view. Did you also get to see some whales from there? :)

My pleasure to nominate this great post to my latest upvote giveaway for more visibility and add some TipU support ;)

@tipu curate 2

Many thanks for your kind support, yes in season I do get glimpses of the whales in the bay below. They are usually around for a couple of months, and some years the sightings are better than others.

Awesome :) What a privilege.

!wine

Wow thank you for the wine, you are very kind. Not sure what to do with it, though I presume it goes into my Hive engine wallet, where I can sell it for Hive.