Exploring the timeless charm of Rethymno city in Crete

in Pinmapple25 days ago

Sunday was a trip day.

I woke up at 5 in the morning, being very anxious because it would be a very long trip.

One of the places that was in our map was Rethymno city.

Rethymno City is located on the northern coast of Crete and is the city between Heraklion and Chania.

It has a beautiful Venetian port, colorful buildings in the old part of the city and the harbor is bustling with activity - every time of day and night!

Not only that, but the city has a 2 2-kilometer sandy shore for everyone to enjoy, both locals & tourists.
The city has a rich history and can be admired in its well-preserved landmarks such as the imposing Fortezza, the ornate Rimondi Fountain and more.

In my visit I did not have so much time to visit every part of the city, but I did manage to visit a part of the harbor and some of the lovely narrow streets of the old town.

Rethymno City offers an unforgettable blend of tradition and modernity that enchants visitors from around the globe.

image.png

Let me take you through my short trip (that is the beginning of more to come in the future)

This is the spot that I visited and I will show you through the images and videos!

image.png

When we parked, this was the first spot I visited and started shooting.
The day was very calm and beautiful, all you wanted to do was simply to enjoy the fine weather.

image00001.jpeg
short video here

I started walking towards the lighthouse.

The lighthouse

image00002.jpegimage00005.jpegimage00009.jpeg

This is such a photogenic place, I could just stay there and take hundreds of different photos.

(Unfortunately, I have issues with my phone battery, and the power banks do not work, so I had to be very picky with how I used my phone)

image00003.jpeg

image00004.jpegimage00008.jpeg

If you walk past the building, you will see some really nice water reflections!

image00001.jpegimage00002.jpeg

Let's learn about the Venetian Harbor

The city's northeast harbour existed long before the arrival of the Venetians in 1211. Beyond it, spread the castrum Rethemni, the byzantine fortified settlement of Rethymno. Because of its small size and continuous silting, the harbour was only peripheral hub for regional commerce, during the early Venetian period. Later however, from the 16th century onwards, direct communication with major commercial ports, such as Alexandria, Marseille, Constantople and Smyrna was established. The lighthouse at the end of the north pier was built in 1838, during the Egyptian occupation, on the site of an earlier one.


After spending some time at the blue, I decided to visit the old city and to get lost in its streets.

Before that, I stood in front of a female sculpture, because I wanted to see why this woman was so important that she stands at such an important spot of the city.

It turns out that this is Kalliroe Parren Siganou, a writer & journalist born in Rethymnon. She is the person who launched the feminist movement in Greece
More info here
May she rest in peace.

image00005.jpeg


image00006.jpeg
(Bonus photo of vintage motorcycles parked all together!)


In the Old Town of Rethymno

I walked pass the Loggia, but it was not open for visiting.

image00007.jpeg

I continued walking and I was admiring the lovely doors & houses.

image00008.jpegimage00009.jpeg

image00002.jpegimage00003.jpegimage00005.jpeg

I tried to knock on a door, but the past did not open. I was speechless with wonder, seeing all these beautiful and quiet streets and short buildings with the ornamented old doors.

image00006.jpegimage00007.jpegimage00009.jpeg

And guess what I saved for last!

I found out a hotel named .. LEO :)

image00011.jpeg

I hope you enjoyed today's walk :)

I wish you a lovely start of the week - may it be amazing and productive for us all!

i.e. You can find more videos in my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCY0T7LAdd_WFjKFxGDO97mA and some will be also uploaded on https://www.instagram.com/katycrete

Sort:  

There are some lovely places on your island for you to visit. I was wondering whether the names of the cities and towns have meanings. For example, in Devon, Exmouth means "the town on the estuary of the river Exe".

Wow
Rethymno city looks very beautiful. There is no way you won’t have a nice time there with these cool pictures I’m seeing
I’m glad you had a wonderful Sunday trip day

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love the sights off Crete as it seems like paradise on earth.