If I had $1000... I would go to Japanese subtropical islands again :)

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Hi :) This is my entry to the Pinmapple If I had $1000 Contest.

Did you know that Japan, which is called "the land of the rising sun", consists of 3,000 to 6,852 islands (depending on who counts) ... so maybe a country of thousands of islands would be a better name? :)

A year ago, I managed to fulfill one of my dreams and visited the subtropical Japanese islands - Okinawa and Zamami. These islands are called Japanese Hawaii :) I wrote two articles about them: Zamami the island of dreams

1.jpg

and about swimming with the turtles.

2.jpg

To this day, I remember clear water with wonderful blue-turquoise color, beautiful coral reefs, plants that I saw for the first time in my life, cheerful inhabitants of the Islands, amazing food. I have a feeling that I did not spend as much time there as I would like and if I had 1000 $ I would go to the Japanese islands again and do whatever I could not do the first time. But apart from new experiences, it would be nice to try what I liked during the first visit.

0002162a.jpg

I know that there are amazing promotions for a flight to Okinawa from Europe and I can see with my imagination that soon after winning $ 1000 I would see information about such promotion on the internet and I would fly to the island for 1/3 of my budget. The flight would be with a stopover in mainland Japan, but thanks to it I could go to Osaka for the second time and eat delicious ramen and kushikatsu for a few hours in this city, visit Dotonbori, and maybe also a local park. Each visit to the park in Japan was amazing for me because I saw plants there that do not grow in my country. After a few hours of walking around the city, I would go to the airport to fly from there to Okinawa.

aerial-photograph-1381600_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

a.jpg

At the airport in Naha, I would be greeted by a familiar welcome board with a traditional island roof, vending machines (and my favorite drinks there - with mango and guava), people resembling Hawaiians, wearing Hawaiian shirts and exotic flowers.

You know, writing this article gives me back fond memories of my first trip to Okinawa, there are snapshots of places, events, smells, or people I met there. It puts me in a very good mood :)

okinawa-723246_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

oki2.jpg

z11111a.jpg

And now we are starting a wonderful adventure on the island. I can already feel the sun that pleasantly warms my face and the rest of my body, the smell of exotic fruit floating in the air ... This time I will eat more traditional Okinawan dishes (including champuru, which consists of a mixture of tofu, seasonal vegetables and bitter melon ( goya), local fish and fruit. I will drink Fanta with Shikuwasa fruit and lots of fresh fruit juices. I will not care about my weight whenever I want, I will eat ice cream ;)

fa2.jpg

mitsuo-komoriya-mHXgB_NsfLE-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

Certainly, food would play a big role during this trip because the Okinawan diet is one of the healthiest in the world and the people of the islands are known for their longevity. So I would definitely like to taste the local food as much as possible and learn some of the Okinawan diet principles so that I can continue them when I return home. Here are the principles of this diet:

predominant in green leafy vegetables, root vegetables (mainly sweet potatoes), soy-based foods and other legumes. The diet is also based on a moderate consumption of fish (the second main source of protein after tofu), seafood, lean meat and fruit. A characteristic feature of the described diet is also a low consumption of dairy products and a moderate consumption of alcohol. A drink drunk by the inhabitants of Okinawa on a daily basis is sanpin jasmine tea. Instead of table salt, a wide range of spices and herbs (e.g. turmeric, ginger) are used, which have antibacterial and anti-inflammatory properties.

Source: dietetycy.org.pl

okinawa-soba-724986_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

I'll rent a car and explore the whole island. My first destination will be the amazing Yanbaru National Park in the north of the island. I hadn't been there before and read that the fauna and flora there are amazing!

According to the WWF, Yanbaru is the habitat of over four thousand species, with eleven animals and twelve plants peculiar to the area. Rare species include the flightless Okinawa rail (Yanbaru kuina in Japanese), Okinawa woodpecker (Special Natural Monument), Ryukyu robin, Amami woodcock, Ryukyu black-breasted leaf turtle, Anderson's crocodile newt, Ishikawa's frog, Holst's frog, Namiye's frog, Ryukyu long-tailed giant rat, and Muennink's spiny rat. All these species, with the exception of the Ryukyu robin, are classified as endangered; the Muennink's spiny rat, the Okinawa woodpecker, and Yanbaru whiskered bat being critically endangered.
Wikipedia

okinawa-3421784_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Cape Hedo is the northernmost point in Okinawa. Two huge bodies of water are mixed here - the Pacific Ocean and the South China Sea. It is a somewhat lonely, wild place where you can feel the power of the sea element.

manzamo-2887204_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

I might like to explore the exotic nature. In the northern part of Okinawa is Tadeke Falls. You can feel like Tarzan there. In order to reach them, you have to cross the jungle, prepare for climbing (e.g. on a rope), and cross the river. This is a trip for adventurers, so I would definitely like it :)

skaterlunatic-MGqKxk2L1m8-unsplash2.jpg

Source: Unsplash

After intense physical exertion, I would take some rest, go on the beach and collect local shells (they are beautiful), but be careful because some of them are quite dangerous (ie cone shells). Last year I was quite scared when it turned out that I had collected a few shells, in which if there was a snail and I was bitten, the bite would be comparable to being bitten by a dangerous snake, and no serum. These are the downsides of such places, besides the wonderful nature, there are also poisonous snakes ... and even shells ... but now I would know how to distinguish between the dangerous ones and the ones that can be collected without stress ... and the Okinawa shells are so wonderful, that collecting them is a great pleasure ... and so is collecting pieces of a dead coral that takes on all sorts of interesting shapes.

muu12.jpg

And I will snorkeling in crystal clear water feeling like I have moved to another world. To this day, I remember various exotic fish that swam next to me, and even whole shoals of fish. A venomous sea serpent, which I was fortunate to see at a distance from me. Interestingly, in the north of Okinawa there is a popular diving site called The Toilet Bowl. The name comes from the specific shape of the coast. And most importantly - now I would rent a camera for taking pictures underwater and making videos. I really regret that I did not do it the first time because I do not have souvenirs from the underwater world, and the camera, which was supposed to be waterproof, broke down quickly ... This time it would be different, I would come back from Okinawa with pictures and films from snorkeling :)

hiroko-yoshii-9y7y26C-l4Y-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

hiroko-yoshii-C8X9mV6JlEA-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

To stay within the budget, I would spend all nights in Okinawa in the houses of people from Couchsurfing. Thanks to this, I would meet many locals and I could feel what it is like to live a little in a traditional, wooden Okinawan house, guarded by numerous shiisaa lion figures on the roof.

okinawa-1033452_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

hibiscus-787030_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

It might turn out that a new friend I met thanks to Couchsurfing has a motorboat that would take me to one of the wonderful islands near Okinawa.
Or maybe he could even have a private plane :) Then we would fly to Ishigaki Island. This is one of the most beautiful islands in the area with the amazing Kabira Bay and coral reefs that look like corals formed underwater botanical gardens there (unfortunately I did not find free photos on Pixabay, please google these unusual things). I would spend a few days there - snorkeling, walking in the exotic forests, watching amazing sunsets.

ishigaki-3420678_1920.jpg
Source: Pixabay

I would also visit the most recommended places on the island. I would be interested primarily in places with interesting nature. In the beginning, I would go to Rhizophoraceae Plant Community of Fukidogawa River. I know you can buy a canoe trip there and explore the mangroves of Rhizophoraceae Plant Community of Fukidogawa River.

Where during low tide the tangled limbs of the trees come to the surface, along with various crabs and the interesting goby fish. I could spot there many water fowl and other birds who dwell in the mangroves, thriving on the rich aquatic life below.

Source: inspirock

Then I'd go to Yaeyama-yashi of Yonehara that is, to the place where amazing palm trees called Yaeya grow. They have been nationally recognized as a Natural Monument. They are very tall, up to 20 meters high.

okinawa-2309281_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

kyohei-okinawa-Xd2_frzFDtE-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

Finally, I'd like to go to Kabira park. There is a view point from which you can observe the beautiful bay of Kabira. Depending on whether the tide is high or low, the water has a different color, the views are beautiful.

okinawa-746643_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

ryo-yoshitake-Fim4XEASDZc-unsplash.jpg

Source: Unsplash

Would anyone like to go there with me? ;)

japan-3393550_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!