Dessert Museum: A Quirky Art Exhibition for your Inner Child

in Pinmapple4 years ago (edited)

What is the Dessert Museum?

It's a modern interactive dessert-themed studio located in Manila, Philippines. It's kind of like a museum because there are tour guides that tell a bit of information. But people go there mainly for the art exhibition or photo studio. People go there to take Instagrammable pictures. I'm one of those people 😁

dessert museum.png

My friend April, whom I introduced in my Japan Adventure Series - Part 5, literally traveled by air to Manila solely for a Blackpink concert. She had her departure and arrival flights on the same day. I just inserted myself to her itinerary 😂

We searched for cafes near Mall of Asia Arena where Blackpink was performing so she won't be late. It wasn't a cafe, but Dessert Museum caught our attention with its cute, colorful, and most notably, Instagrammable set-up. A pop of colors!

Their regular rates are PHP 699 for online booking and PHP 799 for walk-in. In our case, we were able to avail of their Valentine's promo because we went in February. The promo is called "BRING YOUR DATE FOR FREE". So, instead of paying the full 799-rate, we had a 50% discount because we "brought our date". LOL. We see a promo, we take advantage.

As soon as we went inside the entrance, we were excited and impressed with how cute the place looked. My favorite color is pink so my eyes were very happy with the pink fest.

When we entered, we were given electronic wristbands. We were told not to lose it because this would be scanned when we claim our sweet treats in each of the "8 mouthwatering dessert-themed rooms".

dessert museum.gif

The tour is timed--around 2 hours maximum-- to avoid large crowds inside the modern museum. You can eat your treats while exploring the place, or you can collect them for later. If you can. Treats such as ice cream, cotton candy, and dipped marshmallows should just be eaten right away. The servings are not that big anyway, just enough for a taste.

 

donut room.png

From the entrance, you can either slide down the "Donut Slide" or you could just normally walk down the stairs. Because we were extra, we slid down the slide. Haha! At the bottom of the slide, the Donut Room becomes our receiving area where the tour guides gave us our first treats. Actually, I can't remember what they were. I guess they were small-sized donuts 🤷‍♀ I was more excited to take pictures with the yellow background that matched my shirt! Pink plastic donuts hang around the room by strings, some were designed to be part of the wall.

marshmallow room.png

The next area was a room filled with marshmallows. Not real ones, unfortunately. Several strings with fake marshmallows were donned around the room attached to the ceiling. The bigger sized ones were made part of the blue wall. As you go around the room, it looks like you're in Cloud 9 with the calming blues and whites.

The treats in this room were marshmallows. Real, this time. AND you can dip and coat them in their chocolate and milk fountains!

candy cane room.png

IMG_20190202_154707.jpg

When you enter in the candy cane room, there are two aisles where you can pass. The pink one was labeled "nice", while the blue one was labeled "naughty". There's me walking on the blue aisle posing naughty lol. The pink and blue aisles converge to a circle with a seesaw at the center. There's a color partition of pink and blue both in the circle and the seesaw.

 

IMG_20190202_155038.jpg

Aside from that, other areas for picture-taking were also blue and pink walls with hanging lip balloons. My favorite one was a corner that looks like a walk-in closet/pantry room filled with jars of candy balls!

Oh, the treats in this room were candy canes.

 
 

ice cream room.png

This is my favorite room because it had a ball pit! And the treats were flavored ice cream popsicles!

The ball pit was not deep enough to do some Bazinga swimming 😉 But it's shallow enough to do snow angels. The corner had what looked like air balloons, only that the basket was the ice cream cone.

bubble gum room.png

In the Bubble Gum room, you enter a chamber that was supposed to be a giant gumball machine. For a minute or two, the closed chamber would be filled with air and the balloons would go swirling around.

Oh, I don't remember the treats given in this room. I was caught in the moment of kicking balloons in the swirling chamber. My inner child was very happy 😆

gummy bear room.png

This room was less interactive than the others. There were some huge balloon bears on one side of the wall. Balloons were also spread randomly on the floor. But, the cutest corner for me was the colored bathtubs. I chose the yellow one again because it matched my shirt!

The treats in this room were macarons.

cotton candy room.png

At this point, we were already in a hurry because April was still going to line up for her concert. So, we rushed through the remaining rooms.

This room offered cotton candy treats straight from a cotton-candy machine. I think this was the most beautifully designed room with heaps of cotton candy that served as a covered walkway donned with beautiful fairy lights.

cake pop room.png

In the last room, we climbed over inverted cake pops. There were several ones with differing heights. So, if you're not that tall, you could still ride on one. The inverted cake pops do not swing so you can't ride them wrecking ball style like how Miley Cyrus did hers 😅

Closing Notes

Overall, I had a lot of fun at the Dessert Museum. I'm so satisfied with the pictures that we took. Even now, a year later, I still smile when I look at them and remember all the fun that we had. It was quite pricey but then, their concept was quite unique. I'd say it's good for a one-time experience. This place is perfect for private photo sessions, say if you are doing a debut birthday shoot.

If you visit Manila, you should definitely take some good pictures here.

You end up in their sweets shop after you exist the last room.

🍭 END 🍭

 


In the cyberspace, Kaycee Ports is a freelance writer who does blog writing, SEO copywriting, and web content for bloggers, entrepreneurs, website designers, and authors. In the mundane world, Kaycee Ports is a licensed chemical engineer practicing her degree in the field of environmental science. She is based in Manila, Philippines as an industrial hygienist. But the strong Bisaya accent still shows at times. In an alternate universe, she believes she's a Beyoncé.
Feel free to follow her if your interests are on personal development, travel and literary arts!
Sort:  

Omg, I showed this to my daughter and we both got excited. Love the wrecking ball style cake pop room 😀

Ahhh that's cute! 😍 When you visit PH, take her there. I'm sure she'll enjoy it as much as I did (or even more!).

Haha I think there's a huge probability I won't be able to convince her to leave when we do visit. 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Shared to Twitter:

Congratulations @kayceeports2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
The Customization Guide for the HiveBuzz store

This post is also so extra. 😄

I knooooow. Sinaniban ako ng sipag at tiyaga kagabi hahahaha! Sana everyday 😂

This is incredible!!! :D The place looks so fun and relaxing ^_^

It is! I'm in so much awe of the concept. It's great for kids and adults combined.

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #943.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Oh my Top 3! Thank you @lizanomadsoul and the @pinmapple team for the recognition 💖

You are very welcome @kayceeports2020! It was well deserved! Looking forward to your next posts already ❤️🙂

When I started reading, I really thought it was a Desert Museum and was expecting some camels and Bedouin tents. Lol. Then I came to the Donut room and I realized it's Dessert! Haha.

Nice to know there are places like these to explore in Manila. Maybe we can go there the next time we come home. 😍 I'm sure the kids would enjoy. Thanks for sharing!

It's funny because before I posted this I made sure to google that I used the right spelling 😅

Anyway, I'm excited for your kids. I'm sure they'll love it. I mean I love it even if I'm already an adult haha!

My sweet tooth self would be jumping to and fro while tasting all the sweet and color-popping treats! The same with your friend, I went there to attend a concert last 2018. 😅 Sadly, I haven't heard of this.

Congratulations on your pineapple feature! 😊

I am really not a big fan of pastels and rainbows and cute things but I know my siblings definitely would. I can imagine my six year old brother jumping directly towards the ball pit, same as you haha. Maybe they should open one in Cebu someday

I agree, they should open a branch in Cebu! So people could take their younger siblings and kids. So I could also drag my friends with me lol.