Nepal Encounters: Crocodiles, Rhinos and a Goddess

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

I feel like if I don't write about this, these memories will slowly be buried away, and I will never be able to give honor to this experience. However, even if I do my best to showcase it, I know a blog can never make me feel the same way I felt during those days. Let me try anyway.

It started early morning in Kathmandu, Nepal's capital, where despite the congestion and inconveniences, if you lower your expectations and extend your patience, you would enjoy it. In my case, getting out of there (tbh) as soon as possible, and seeing the Nepal I had always pictured in my mind was crucial.

So I took the 7am bus for Chitwan National Park, located 150km from the city, through a scenic but steep valley. Despite the short distance, the estimated travel time was 6-9 hours by bus. With the poor road quality, it could get extremely dangerous especially during bad weather. At times, two-way traffic was impossible when buses pass by each other, so one had to always give way. I got my munchies ready for the long journey. Our bus was spacious and comfortable; occasionally the conductor sitting at the front seat acted as the driver's peripheral eyes during overtaking. Can you feel my anxiety? 🙃

I was beaten; I underestimated the long hours sitting in the bus on winding roads and dusts. Nonetheless, I reached Eden Jungle Hotel safely, shortly before sunset.

It was discouraged to roam around at dark due to potential risk of getting attacked by wild animals, so I chilled a bit at Sauraha beach until the sun was gone and rested the night away at the hotel.

IMG_20190919_174814.jpg

IMG_20190919_180911.jpg

IMG_20190919_181331.jpg

Crocodiles
The next day the guide walked me to the riverbank for a cruise. The sky was so clear that the mighty Himalayas was visible. What a great way to start the day! Then, looking at the boat and the rapids, I was unsure if it was a good idea to sail on crocodile-inhabited waters.

1110407.jpg

1110599.jpg

1110390.jpg

1110394.jpg

IMG_20190920_075322.jpg

To be fair, we were the ones invading their habitat. So we kept quiet, just observed, and most importantly, kept our hands off the water. 🤠 It was fascinating to look at them, even from afar. I was scared, but it also felt cool to be that close to them in their home. PS: I hate animal zoos.

1110411.jpg

1110413.jpg

1110415.jpg

Sundarkali

I remember first seeing her right next to the hotel. She was kept and fed there. Being that near to the world's largest land mammal was astonishing, so when I got to know that she was in the river, I was overjoyed!

PS: It was the same river, but far from the crocodiles.

My ignorance on their anatomy and what-not-to-do made me hesitant when I was told to sit on her back. Was it really okay to do so? But when she splashed me with water, I took it as a sign that she was okay and wanted to play.

1110668.jpg

1110669.jpg

I bathed her and scrubbed her with a rock. It felt like I was taking care of a child, except that it was an obedient one.

1110674.jpg

1110678.jpg

I was soaked - with water and joy, it was a pleasant day overall. After changing at the hotel, they took me to the center of the town, for a cultural show. It was included in the accommodation package.
IMG_20190920_203746.jpg

I lost patience and did not stay throughout the program; instead, I went to hang out with some new friends I met at the bus ride, at a nearby bar. 🙃 Because it was already dark, they were kind enough to walk me back to the hotel neighborhood.

IMG_20190920_205658.jpg

IMG_20190920_210325.jpg

The town itself was foreigner-friendly, you get what you need there. The food they served were delicious, I was always full.

Abandoned Resort
The next day, with a pair of binoculars and just trekking attire, we walked from the grasslands to the forest for bird-watching. There were lots of birds but the remarkable ones were the great hornbills and egrets.

Then, we were compelled to check out an abandoned resort we passed by along the way. It was creepy and beautiful at the same time. Creepy because there might be ghosts? 🤣 And beautiful, yes, those small little things left so long to rot, became one with the forest.

1110625.jpg
1110647.jpg
1110614.jpg

1110619.jpg

1110639.jpg

1110635.jpg

1110640.jpg

1110641.jpg

1110642.jpg

1110643.jpg

1110646.jpg

Single-Horned Rhinoceros

We continued our journey and walked right next to the stream. The guide, a teenage frail-looking boy I was with, warned me to be quiet and stay alert for wild animals. Although very rarely, there were sightings of the Bengal tiger around the area. Of course I wanted to see one, but I was relieved I did not, else I would have climbed on one of those trees. 🤣

But we were lucky to have a sighting of a one-horned rhinoceros in its private time in the river. It was an amusing view until it stared in our direction, and the guide asked me to keep distance. Apparently they charge towards you when threatened.

1110605.jpg

1110608.jpg

1110609.jpg

1110631.jpg

Walking Safari

On one of the days, we also did a walking safari on another side of the park. Walking in silence was important, to not disturb the animals you would potentially see. Apart from leeches (I got bitten on my tummy, meh), we saw a lot of curious "bambis" 😍, and interesting trees in the forest. At some point, we had to walk on swamps and got our shoes wet - there was no other way. My guide asked me to follow his footsteps, before warning me about snakes. 😒

1110611.jpg

IMG_20190920_090819.jpg

1110444.jpg

IMG_20190920_092045.jpg

1110434.jpg

1110460.jpg

1110495.jpg

1110520.jpg

The Quest for Bengal Tigers

Later that afternoon, I was with other tourists in a 4x4 jeep for a safari. There was very less probability of seeing a tiger. With the number of jeeps driving around and the noisy tourists, I doubted the tigers would be enticed to roam in that area. To be honest, I barely remember the ride apart from seeing a few deers. Instead, I remember taking a walk around the rest area right after the safari, and watched these beautiful women at work. The failed attempt to communicate with them was imminent. Nevertheless, they gladly agreed when I politely gestured to take their photographs.

1110738.jpg

1110739.jpg

1110745.jpg

Staying at the countryside made me feel I entered a blest space. Language was a huge barrier, that was inevitable, but their kindness emanated all the way. They may not be rich as a country, but they've got things more valuable than convenience. Things we essentially need, but do not usually seek for. How do you measure wealth, anyhow?

See you around soon, loves. xoxo

Sort:  

That place has a very powerful energy and the happy elephant is so so cute!! You are so lucky for having the possibility of being there!! I believe your entire body is now filled with that sacred energy!!

Thanks a lot for sharing!!

heyyyy thank you for stopping by and for your nice comment! you are right, the elephant was smiling, i did not realize it til now. 😍

What a great adventure!! OH MY! I also want to play with Sundarkali!
The abandoned resort in the forest looks creepy but also smells like an adventure ready to be explored. Who knows what we'll find there, right hahaha
I never thought Nepal could be this cool and awesome. There's really more to it than just documentaries about people I have watched before. Incredible place to explore, just by reading about your memorable experience!

Thank you for your patience in reading this loooooong post haha! I planned to go back 2 months later to do some mild trekking but covid happened, so I may have lost my chances (given the older knees). Indeed, there was so much more to explore there, being where Himalayas is, and also being closer to Tibet. I think Ph also has a lot of places to explore to.. We also have tigers -- atong mama hahahaha

HAHHAHAHAHA samoka sa last! 🤣
I think you should definitely go back, with your husband. Let's see if the elephant will like him 😂
My posts are longer than this. Maong ok ra jud kaau mubasa HAHAHA

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @kebula! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 30 posts.
Your next target is to reach 40 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Semifinals - Recap of Day 2
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @wittyzell ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Wow, what beautiful places, I love to see pictures of local people's lives, such wild places.
Have a wonderful weekend.

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honourable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1731.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: