Touring the World in Just an Hour at the Mirror of the World in Sikatuna, Bohol

in Pinmapple6 months ago

Happy Monday Hivers!

Maybe everyone loves to travel; however, due to our different priorities in life, some will choose to set aside travel because it is not the most important thing in life. But we cannot deny the fact that there are also people who have truly disciplined themselves to save money in order to support their travel aspirations. Travel is indeed an expensive hobby. Even if it is just a local trip, it can still be costly. How much more if one will travel internationally?

Only a few Filipinos can afford to travel internationally because many Filipinos are not affluent. As much as we want to travel abroad, the amount of money we save up is not enough. Perhaps we need several more years before we can truly afford it.

One of the reasons we want to travel abroad is to behold the beauty of a particular country. We yearn to see its famous tourist attractions with our own eyes, stroll around, and capture photos of those wonderful spots. However, since only a few Filipinos can afford to travel abroad, someone has created a unique tourist spot located in Sikatuna, Bohol. They bring well-known man-made tourist spots from all over the world and place them together in one location, allowing Filipinos to tour the world in just an hour. Let me take you to one of Bohol's famous tourist attractions: Sikatuna's Mirror of the World.

The downpour hindered me from entering this well-known tourist spot in Sikatuna, Bohol, by the time I arrived. I didn't bring an umbrella, so I was stuck at one of the native stores around.

20231007_141652.jpg

When the rain stopped, I immediately paid an environmental fee to gain access to the entrance area. I paid PHP 20.00 for it.

20231007_141750.jpg

20231007_141739.jpg

20231007_142100.jpg

20231007_142040.jpg

As I arrived at the entrance area, the security guard instructed me to pay the entrance fee, amounting to PHP 150.00, before I could enter and tour around. Fortunately, the queue was not that long, so I didn't have to wait long. After I paid, the cashier gave me a coupon to present upon entry. A smile spread across my face as I received my coupon, as it meant I could begin my tour of the Mirror of the World.

20231007_142212.jpg

It was still vivid in my mind how someone from Cebu approached me and volunteered to take a photo of me while I was standing in front of this boat, busy taking pictures. He was also traveling solo at the time, and since we both came from Cebu, we quickly became comfortable with each other and we both decided to tour around together.

20231007_143129.jpg

As we started to tour around, the monument truly captured my attention. To me, the message is clear: even though we have different skin complexions and come from different races and countries, we still share the same planet, and we are one.

20231007_153723.jpg

20231007_153700.jpg

Since the area is huge, we couldn't easily decide which part to visit first. Just as we were about to decide to take a photo of the Eiffel Tower, the heavy rain began. We both didn't have an umbrella, so we decided to rent one to continue our tour. The weather at that time was really unpredictable. The sun would appear, and in the snap of fingers, it would suddenly rain.

20231007_143526.jpg

My newly found friend was just a very simple man, yet he had already traveled to some European countries, and my mind was completely captivated by his international travel stories. And, do you know what? I wasn't able to capture some of the wonderful spots because I was so well-entertained by his stories and the photos he showed me from his travels abroad.

While we were busy talking, our curiosity was piqued by the view upstairs, aside from the visible Elizabeth Tower. As we discussed his international travels, we decided to climb the stairs. The first thing that welcomed us was the beautiful city of Moscow, Russia, a sight I regrettably failed to capture in a photograph.

20231007_143814.jpg

While we were upstairs, we discovered that the canteen area was situated there, allowing one to truly enjoy the scenery while having snacks.

20231007_145957.jpg

20231007_150031.jpg

20231007_145543.jpg

But when you are on the opposite side, this is the scenery that you will enjoy.

20231007_152339.jpg

After spending a few minutes upstairs, we decided to descend, but this time, we used a different set of stairs to explore other areas. That's when we encountered the Gate of Heaven, also known as Lempuyang Temple, in Bali, Indonesia.

20231007_150134.jpg

This was just a coincidence. While I was enjoying a walk, my newly found friend asked for my phone because he had found a nice angle on my side. As he took a photo of me, I spread my arms to show my surroundings. When I checked the p, I realized that the statue behind me was Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and it happened that I had posed the same way as the Christ the Redeemer.

20231007_150256.jpg

After that, we continued walking until we saw other well-known tourist spots from different countries. I'll tell you, taking photos without photobombers was very challenging because there were many tourists around. You had to wait a few minutes until they were done so you could have a photo souvenir without photobombers.

20231007_151719.jpg

20231007_150717.jpg

20231007_150941.jpg

20231007_152538.jpg

20231007_153301.jpg

20231007_152828.jpg

20231007_152858.jpg

20231007_152254.jpg

While reminiscing about my Mirror of the World experience, I realized that there were many spots that I failed to photograph because I enjoyed talking with my newly found friend. However, I haven't regretted it, as I had a great time walking around and listening to his international travel stories. Although I haven't had the opportunity to travel abroad yet, his stories and the various tourist attractions from all over the world at the Sikatuna Mirror of the World have given me inspiration to travel abroad soon.

20231007_153613.jpg

20231007_153339.jpg

Thank you for reading and see you on my next blog. Cheers!


Watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places.

Roald Dahl

Discord: kellyane#0924


Some photos were edited using Canva

Note: I use Grammarly to help me check and fix grammar.


205704246_497302184716947_9074957943064903968_n.jpg

inbound-1236560438.jpg

Namaste! I am fond of reading books, watching korean, american and filipino series/movies and I am also fond of gardening. I love listening to different life stories and I am always captivated with the beauty of nature so travel is my escape when life turns into blue. But hey, how could I forget my photography hobby? It is one of the best, so follow me as I will be featuring my experiences of the stuff that I am passionate with.

Sort:  

It's certainly a very enjoyable trip for you there, there's a lot you can see there, not only the natural scenery, bridges, buildings and fish also look really embellishing your trip that day.

It was indeed an enjoyable trip @vikar!

Just by reading posts here, I discovered many awesome spots in Cebu alone 😄 it seems like that's gonna take a lifetime just to explore them all. That Lempuyang Temple in IRL looks really amazing but that miniature def do the justice 😆

Yeah we have so many spots in Cebu @macchiata but this spot is in Bohol an island close to Cebu.

The Lempuyang Temple replica gives us the feeling of being in Bali. Thanks for dropping by!

Nalingaw kos bohollywood ug sa statuwa nga nangihi 😆😆. Ganahan ko sa bridge pod nga puwa.

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

Makalingaw kaayo didto mem 😁

Last time kay tua raman kas Tagbilaran beach nagtambay Jack. Karun kay nagtravel naman ka around the world uyyy 😭😭 lahi najud ning akong amiga da, layua naba nimug naabtan! Haha.

By the way, witty kaayo ang Bohollywood da. Thank you sa pa-virtual tour namo dihaa jack. 🤗

So ang "new-found-friend" is a "he"? 🤔 Charooooot! Ka marites ba 😅

Feeling kaau ang around the wordld day noh 🤣🤣

Half day 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2043.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks @lizanomadsoul and @pinmapple team for the support!

Congratulations @kellyane! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 18000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 19000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

Ang ganda naman ng mga pinasyalan mo kabayan. Tska meron pala Bohollywood, ngayon ko lang nalaman.