One last ride through the Taurus mountains in Turkey. (the end)

in Pinmapple6 months ago

Morning prayer is waking us up, before dawn. I sit up in the tent and look around. The fire brigade behind us, who we had asked last night in the dark, if we could camp in their yard. Of course they had accepted and invited us for tea, which we had to refuse, couldn’t we barely hold our eyes open at that stage. I rub my eyes now, and try to remember where I was yesterday at this time in the morning. Not easy! Where will I be tonight? I don’t know, but I know it will be in a bed and behind a door and that’s what I am looking forward to.

One more day, one more 100km and we would finally arrive somewhere!

As a shy light starts to announce the beginning of the day we pack up our camp and leave.

We pass through the same mountains as we have for the last few days, but this time we are getting closer to the sea. Yes, as we climb our last peak, we can see the endless line, the horizon, blue water.

All we have in mind today, is to finally arrive. And every bit brings us closer to that.

At first we are excited to reach the sea, reach the flat. Until we feel what that means. Coming from steep but quiet and empty mountain roads, we now have to share our way with the coastline highway.

And this is when the real torture starts. Endless. It is burning hot, but we don’t want to stop. Apart from an occasional fresh drink in a little market at the side of the road.

Eventually we start to cross one huge holiday beach resort after the other. Loud music, a lot of plastic, cars, consuming. Awfully huge buildings, separated from the sea through the highway, never stopping. And us dusty and tired cycling endless hours on the footpath or the emergency lane, only one thing in mind: “Arriving”

How did we get here?

As so many times on this trip I felt a complete incidence must have pushed me to the place where I was. In which other reality would I visit such a holiday resort filled place? And what would await us after those last kilometres?

“A renovated ruin on a hill.” That’s the vague description we where building our imagination around for the last few days.

When we reach the cycling lane along the beach, almost there. The contrast between us and everyone around makes us laugh. We are dusty and dirty, sweat not to mention, making our way through clean cut people on their holidays enjoying the beach. We just got out of the wild, back into civilisation, familiar with fighting wild dogs and searching for a camp-spot in the bushes but not with the consumerism all around us. Confused we make our way through the crowds, meanwhile the occasional person looking at us seams as puzzled by our appearance as we by theirs.

Arriving on a car park we wait, not yet knowing who for.

We are welcomed by a wonderful person, opening her home to us as if we had always been part of the family.

That’s where we rest for a while, park the bikes in the garden and walk around on our two feet. Close the door behind us, a key in our pockets, a shower and breakfasts unending.

Once more we can not believe how we got there.

But we did. Unknowingly started to cycle somewhere in France until we are now here, somewhere in Turkey. Closer to Syria and Iran than to every bit of earth we know.

Thanks for stopping by once more, have a good day!

All photos and words are my own.

[//]:# (!pinmapple 36.92108 lat 31.45671 long One last ride through the Taurus mountains in Turkey. (the end) d3scr)

Sort:  

Wow!! what a journey. You are very brave for undertaking this all and I am sure will look back fondly on all these special moments, the places, and of course the well deserved meals.

Thank you!!😊💛 ...it is a lot of moments to look back on indeed, I wont forget them any time soon😁

A great read as ever, thank you. I can really feel the pleasure in those breakfasts. But this isn't actually the end is it? Onward, ever onward!

Thank you:) I noticed I am sometimes looking forward to breakfast even the day before..:D
...I am afraid there will be a change.. The end, no, but it's going to be different!

How I miss "Incir" ! That's soooo tasty in Turkey. I was also all the time waking up with morning prayer when I was in Turkey, I get used to it by time and I started to like it really. Post gave me sooo cozy vibes. These cycling posts have become a series for the readers. You did it really well, I congratulate you and wish you motivation and pleasant moments on your journey always.✨😍

The fruits are just amazing, and the fresh juices!! I really got used to all the fresh things, which seriously got me questioning how to do in the north (even though I really love winter too!!) ...now I am kind of split between snowy mountains in the north and awesome food in the south, don't know anymore what to choose😁
...the morning prayers do have their charm, definitely I agree😊
And thank you, it really is very inspiring to get such a reply😊💛

Wow: this must have been such a moment of - l e t t i n g g o - for you both... I can partially imagine, having done a weeeee bit of cycling, and also having been following your epic pilgrimmage here - I have a tiny taste of that stopping and resting, and the rumbling through your imaginations of all the memories of the ride... Really incredible, dear friend. Such a joy to read through and see unfolding in pictures (which I feel I can step inside!)... amazing achievement...

😍

It is!! And still, weird, it's just changing or changing again:)
Thank you💜...for all those lovely replys, I guess cycling was one thing but then I also got into the joy of writing about it, and it's awesome that it gets read as well😁

❤️

Having followed your adventures for a couple of months, I can only imagine how you must feel. Enjoy the much deserved rest and comfort.
Big hug!

Thank you!! 💙
...I did notice then actually that this was the first proper break ever:D

I am taking a break myself ( it seems ),
after taking care of my niece and nephew for 3 weeks in a row, by myself on my sister's land.

It is always nice to enjoy the contrast ;<)
💚

yes, it is!!

...even though you seem to be a pretty cool uncle😁 (after the stories I read)

And it doesn't end here... I just learnt, today, that I'm gonna be uncle of a 5th ( niece or nephew ). My youngest sister showed an X-ray in the family app. She has a 7 and 10 year old son and now theré sgonna be a third...

The tour feels part of you, it feels like it transports you little by little to the place. The food looks very tasty, and the layout of the photographs is spectacular.

It did kind of become a part of me indeed ...and I couldn't complain about the food:)) Thanks for passing by, glad you enjoyed it:)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, very interesting post. This food looks really good 😋. Wonderful photographs 📸 Top place. Congratulations, keep up the great work

Thank you😊 Food was amazing indeed!!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2054.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: