Madagascan Adventures (Part Four)

in Pinmapple2 years ago
Madagascan Adventure (Part One) can be found hereMadagascan Adventure (Part Two) can be found hereMadagascan Adventure (Part Three) can be found here

Journey to Tsingy

With the river journey behind us, we jump back into a 4WD and start making our way to Tsingy De Bemaraha National Park (Tsingy). To this day I haven't been able to find where we camped on the river and the start of the zebu cart ride. Nothing of the village names come up in google and I've spent way too long scouring the satellite view of the river bank for something familiar. I may just have to get in touch with our guides and see if they can show me on a map. If I find it I'll put it as a side note in another part or just make a short blog of part 3b.

The only place I have to go by is the ferry crossing to Belo. And by "ferry crossing" I mean 2 long boats strapped together with wooden planks on top. One of those "well, I guess we're doing this" moments as we watch other cars precariously board the ferry. A lunch in Belo then another drive north to another ferry and the Tsingy NP reception.

The ferry from the Southbank to the Northbank and Belo

The dry roadside landscape and a young boy getting mangos at the Tsingy Reception

Arrival at Tsingy De Bemaraha National Park

We cooled off in the pool for 5min, only to have torrential rain come out of nowhere. Since we were already wet we decided to stay...

Our hotel is a welcome sight after 2 days on the river and there is even a pool! One thing we decide to do here is make use of the hotels laundry service. We have our plastic bags with our dirty clothes and take them to the hotel staff and ask how much it will be. We hand over our clothes and the lady proceeds to tip everything out on the dusty ground and count and sort everything. At first I just stared wide eyed as a stranger riffled through my clothes on the rocky ground out in the open. Then I remembered seeing clothes laid out in the sun to dry in villages we'd pass and it occurred to me that it wouldn't be any different here.

A similar realisation occurred a few years prior in Kathmandu. We'd pass stalls with meat for sale sitting out in the open with flies hovering around.. The thought of eating meat from these places verged on repulsive. That was until you realised the hotel or restaurants you eat meat at would have no qualms with sourcing their food from there.


I love having my preconceptions challenged in this way. I'm well aware of my convenient lifestyle here in Australia and it's moments like these that keep my mind open to the spectrum of different ways to do things. I'm a very particular person when it comes to doing things the way I want it done, but if someone does it a different way and the results are just as good, then it doesn't matter.

Hiking the Great Tsingy

Hiking in Tsingy was hot and challenging. The rocks are sharp and the climbs are steep and narrow. Some safety measures are in place, such as a harness and carabiner, and ladders for some sections. It seems like a place you could easily get lost in. The plant and animal life is all interesting, and we even saw some lemurs. The shaded crevices are a welcome respite from the exposed heat of the sun and rocks.

_STO0199-1.jpg

Unique creatures and getting amongst it all

The whole hike feels surreal and awe-inspiring. It's such a unique landscape, although it does remind me of the Pinnacles in Borneo. Only drier.

_STO9964.jpg

A photogenic bridge, not for those with a fear of heights


Walking on top of and underneath the limestone structures

Little Tsingy

The next day is spent in "Little Tsingy". A smaller, but just as interesting, area of rock formations. We begin with a ride down the river to explore some of the caves along the cliffs.

Madagascar_302.jpg

The little Tsingy itself isn't as long of a hike as the day before, but it still filled with interesting sights and photographic opportunities. In neither place did I feel like carting around a lot of camera gear, so all of my shots have been hand-held.

Madagascar_310.jpg

The climb to a lookout and the details of the limestone

Madagascar_315.jpg

A lemur keeps a close eye on us

There was so much to see at Tsingy. Everything about the limestone rocks is fascinating and I had to stop myself from taking photos of everything. I'm surprised I managed to keep the photos in this blog to these few.

The next part of the adventure will take us to the famous Avenue of Baobabs. The road to get there is a great example of why tourists aren't allowed to drive themselves around. Stay tuned for that in Part Five!

LINKS

-Intro Post
-kieranstone.com
-Twitter
-Instagram

ETH NFTs -

-Foundation
-OpenSea
-tux.art

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing pics! Beautifull views! Congrats!

Thanks, Sandra!

Such a good series of posts mate. Making me fomo into going there

You'd love it there. You're missing out so much with every year that goes by that you haven't been there...

Yep in a few years it will be so war torn and plague riddled that travel will be impossible.

Awesome story complimented with amazing glimpse of nature ...wonderful trip.

Cheers! Have a wonderful day!

These landscapes are unreal! Might be on my list now... lol

You won't regret it!

Your trip is an adventure. I love to see someone who explores new places. Thank you for your sharing.

Thanks so much! Have a great day!

OMGosh, the EYES on that lemur!! 😧🤯🤗
It's almost as amazing (to me) as the bright green chameleon from one of the earlier posts 🦎

I usually display it as a black and white. The eyes are even more striking.

_STO0199-1.jpg

Woah! Seriously, that's amazing 🤯 Here's to brilliant photography 🙌🙌🙌

!LUV

Love this cave. If I may ask, how was the experience walking inside the cave? Greetings from the Philippines!

The caves were interesting. Not as interesting as Tsingy itself. And I have seen much grander ones here in Australia so I wasn't blown away.

Because it was very dark in the caves and I didn't have my tripod my shots from inside were limited and poor quality

Madagascar_301.jpg

Thank you for the response, good evening.

amazing photos, view beautiful....😍

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @kieranstone! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 4000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 15
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Ohhh wow 😍 Such beautiful photos!!! This is such an awesome experience worth remembering😍

Thank you! It's been so nice reliving it through my writing of these blogs!

beauty cave

That one was my favourite to see 😁

Wow this trip gets more and more epic with each post. The cave and rock formations look fascinating. Love the cute face of the Lemur in the last photo...

Each place we went was something new and exciting. Definitely a place everyone that is able should go

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1448.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I love your articles about Madagascar. Everyone showcases such a diverse set of experiences. The bridge looks like it requires a bit of courage to cross:

image.png

Thank you, Timo!

As flimsy as it looks it does feel quite sturdy. And you are attached to a cable via a harness as well.
Madagascar_284.jpg

Good to know 😅
I´m looking forward to your next posts!