Japan Countdown: My First Visit

in Pinmapplelast year

We are down to the final week before our trip. There’s been a lot of panic-packing and overall just excitement and anxiety. It’ll be interesting to see how we manage with an infant and a kid bur thankfully, we have help.


A Geisha performing at our hotel in Kyoto

Today, I want to revisit my first ever trip to Japan. Its funny how I’ve lived in Asia for half my life but I didn’t get to go until after I was already in the US. It was cold when we went but pleasant. My favorite activity of course was getting to eat a lot of very delicious Japanese food.


All-you-can-eat Matsuzaka Beef


Itedakimasu!


Real Matcha

Of course, we did quite a bit of sightseeing. We unfortunately didn’t have time to see Arashiyama, the bamboo forest, but we did get to go to the temple, Fushimi Inarii, and it was spectacular! I love how the colors are just so vibrant. It was quite a hike. We may have gotten a little bit lost at some point, but thankfully, with the cool weather, it was enjoyable.

While Kyoto was pretty mellow, Tokyo was completely wild and crazy. It was densely packed and there was so much activity everywhere! We went to the light up robot show that the late Anthony Bourdain went to and it was every bit as crazy as uou would imagine.

Another highlight for me was our trip to Yamazaki Distillery. We were able to drink their top aged whiskeys for cheap! The grounds were beautiful too and we took the tour to see how it is all made. I loved the cavern with all the barrels. And the fall colors too of course!





Photos of the grounds




Photos from inside the distillery and our tasting flight




My favorite, the barrels!

All in all, it was a very fun, albeit tiring, adventure. It was my first time riding the Shinkansen (bullet train), and we also ate the rainbow cotton candy you can use as a hat in Harajuku. And then, there was a lot more eating!

Ahhh that’s better. Reminiscing helped stave off the anxiety and increase the excitement. And with that, I leave you with Mt. Fuji. Apparemtly, its rare to see it in full since it usually is covered by clouds. Lucky us!

Sort:  

Ohhh wow Japan , its on our travel list for when we have no work anymore and can go there for a few weeks.
And travelling with kids is always a thing but making memories is so cool. So this week will be busy packing I wish you a great trip and a super time. Don’t forget to blog. Did you read my message on your intro about @ecency that way you can blog on your phone
Let me know if you need help!
Happy weekend

Yes, I did! Thank you again for that. Actually, I’ve been doing all my blogging on my phone. I am very excited to post stuff while we are in Japan. We are actually going to a few other spots that we didn’t visit the last time. I am most looking forward to Osaka and eating tons of street food. Yum!

Congratulations @kimbuhay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 50 replies.
Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - March 15, 2023
HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow. That Matsuzaka Beef looks like it melts in your mouth. And did you say it was all you can eat? The pictures all look so good. Hope you have a fun trip.

Yes, it definitely melts in your mouth. And yes, you read right, it was all you can eat. Suffice to say, we rolled out of there once we were done and I couldn’t look at meat for a while.lol Thankfully, I love sushi and they are everywhere! Thanks @outwars!

Dear press add to blog when you publish its a button above the title. Also when you go to your list press the dots on the right for all the blogs you made

Now it looks empty ( I will make a acreenshot and place it here )

9E9F24B8-AF90-442F-ACFB-3E71CCC5CF61.png

88C1BEAC-E74E-461E-A7D2-92FF7D1D0D2D.png

See? Let me know if you need help or join out help discord the terminal

Oh thanks for seeing this. I tried to pin to blog but it only can pin 1 at a time? Do I click reblog?

Ok, I think it’s there now. Thank you again! You’ve been so helpful with my journey here and I truly appreciate you!

Oh wow! You're so lucky to see Mount Fuji. I never got the chance to see it while on land but I saw it while on midair going to Hong Kong.