Exploring the Secluded Beauty of Baganian, Zamboanga del Sur

in Pinmapple2 years ago

20220725_181020-01.jpeg

Hi, Hivers!

After more than a month of being Dora the explorer and a few weeks of Netflix and chill, I finally have time to write my stay in Baganian. And after two years and nine months, I was able to visit my father's hometown again in Zamboanga del Sur and stayed there for a week. My last visit was in October 2019, and I stayed there for a month. At that time, my grandpa was still with us. Sadly, he was not there already to see the license I promised him. Things have changed, including the no longer muddy and bumpy road.

photo_2022-08-17_20-04-45.jpg

Now that 90% of the road going to Baganian is cemented already, the commute is now convenient. However, the van (two only) and a shuttle going there are still limited. The first and last trip leaves at noon and 4:00 PM, respectively. When I went there, I decided to take the last trip since I don't want to wake up at dawn.

At 11:00 AM, I waited for a bus going to Pagadian City. From my hometown — Kauswagan, Lanao del Norte — the travel time to Pagadian City usually takes up to 4 hours. Then from the Pagadian Bus Terminal, I rode a Bajaj (electric tricycle) going to the Palasyo terminal. The van left at exactly 4:00 PM, and I arrived in Baganian at past 6:00 PM.


Baganian is located in the southern most part of Zamboanga del Sur. It is one of the barangays in the municipality of Tabina.


My previous visit to Baganian was purely island hopping. But for this trip, my main purpose was to visit my Lolo's grave and show to him my license, and then afterward, I dedicated the rest of my stay to explore the cold spring and the stunning Blue Lagoon. The moment I set my foot in Baganian, I've been bugging my parents in visiting the two. They were very supportive since they knew I will write a blog about Baganian.

20220724_142658-01.jpeg

Unfortunately, it kept pouring heavily into the place. I was stuck in our bakery, so I made myself useful by helping out. Three days before my scheduled departure, the sun was shining bright and that was when we went to Buwal in Upper Baganian.


B U W A L


The main transportation in Baganian is a tricycle. Papa and I went there first, and Mama, together with my cousins, followed by riding an electric tricycle. The motorcycle could've passed by before the river, but since it was always raining in the area, the road was then muddy. From the main road, we hiked for almost 15 minutes and even crossed a river to reach the cold spring, known as Buwal.

As we walked farther, I can hear the sound of flowing water and the in-synch sound of birds and crickets. It was indeed therapeutic and relaxing. Papa was equally excited as I am even though he had been there many times. He was excited to show to me the coldness and the swimming pool-like water of Buwal. But what really made him so excited is the underwater cave, which he had just recently discovered. He even borrowed a waterproof flashlight and goggles from Lolo's sibling.

20220724_150709-01.jpeg
20220724_145314-01.jpeg20220724_151008-01.jpeg

When we arrived, there were already a bunch of people swimming in the river and then kids who kept on jumping from the mini waterfall. The water is cold and clear and has this pale blue color. Papa immediately wore the goggles and swam to the area where the cave is located. He asked the teenagers about the cave and then tried to enter the underwater cave. Papa tried entering many times but decided to stop. He was afraid he might run out of air. Some of the teens borrowed the goggles in an attempt to enter the underwater cave. However, the current was a bit strong - an indication that it is raining on the mountain. That also explains why the water is not as crystal clear blue when my sisters went here. I have seen the video, so I have a reference.

Even so, I was still excited and giddy about it. The teens asked if it was my first time. I guess it was obvious on my face. One of them mentioned what I have seen at that moment was not the best and it was best to come in the morning. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed the waters.

Since the current was strong, it was hard to swim without bumping my legs into the big rocks or bumping into the other people. So I swam to the mini waterfall, stayed there, and enjoyed the refreshing water. While I was immersed in the water, Papa had his own world, too. He was busy looking for caves and other stuff around the river. He then invited me to go up and check if there is a cave. We hiked for about 5 minutes, and he then suddenly locate a cave. He did first the recon before telling me to come. Upon checking the cave, there was a nest of a bird. I forgot the name but if I am not mistaken, Papa said that the nest of that bird is expensive.

20220724_153335-01.jpeg

When we got out, we noticed the current became stronger and the water was cloudy already. Papa and I went down hurriedly and then he told everyone to pack already. The water had increased and we might have difficulty crossing the other river if we stayed a little longer.


B U H I S A N


The next day, I went to Buhisan Beach with my cousin. Unlike other beaches with fine white sands, Buhisan Beach has these beautiful black pebbles and the water is clear and calm. Even at knee-high water level, I can vividly see some fish swimming. It was still at low tide when my cousin and I went there. But after almost an hour of swimming and chatting, we noticed the water was rising with waves on it and the water became clearer.

We stayed a little longer until the sun had set. The sound of water and the sight of the sun as it approaches the horizon were enough to complete my day. I have seen the sunset of Baganian from the mountains, but seeing it up close in Buhisan was one of a kind. And from the beach, I could see the lighthouse blinking.

It was not as fancy as my previous visit, where my cousins, sisters, and I had a boat escapade. Also, at that time, my cousins, uncle, and Papa dived into the water and picked some big shells for our dinner. However, even without scuba or free diving, the sea and the sunset made it extra special.

20220725_183356-01.jpeg

I don't have enough photos of Buhisan since I got too excited. But I took lots of videos before I started swimming.

I guess that would be all for part 1 of my Baganian trip. I can't wait to share with you the fun things I did on my last day in Baganian.



kneelyrac.png

K N E E L Y R A C
InstagramTwitterGoodreads

Sort:  

The hues of sunset 😭 it's really fascinating. Ang Ganda Ganda ganda

Super. Noong first time ko diyan, nasa bundok pa ako, grabe yung rays super ganda.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This water is very clear. fresh shower there. Thanks for sharing.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLHoCApXcGAm3Wir22K1hwEEEDzSeR8zyNMhWyRXcEXKiDD6JPEnyuCFEmpgS9zFwsXBqvr8PDmc5jc5ta3Pym3HHnLnt4EsBdCXkzfXQAHdfyMU1yHGa.jpeg

Yes, it was indeed refreshing. Thanks for dropping by! 😊

This is indeed a beautiful experience. I enjoyed how you took me on a tour, frame by frame.

Screenshot_20220817-150607_Kiwi Browser.jpg

This particular click is brilliant and mysterious. Like some exploration into a magical world.

Each photo told a story, thank you for sharing😊📸

Oh, thank you!! It means a lot. 💚 But I got pretty scared while taking this pic. I was afraid a snake might appear. My heart almost stopped when I noticed a small black creature crawling on the ceiling.

Ikr😆 I would be scared too. Keep living❤️📸

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @queenstarr on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thank you! 😊💚

Wow, I believe you are very blessed to be able to enjoy that landscape. Each color, from the shiny day to the sunset, is beautiful and powerful. That's a place where nature shows in all its expression.

I've seen a lot of pictures here on Hive Blog from the Philippines, and all of them are extremely pretty, with landscapes that I've never seen in another picture. Do you think it's a save place to travel as a solo traveler girl?

Yes! It's safe to travel alone here in the Philippines. But if you plan to visit a secluded area, I suggest availing a travel 'n tours. Here on Hive, most of the travel blogs from the Filipino Hivers are in Cebu City. There are lots of tourists there traveling alone or in a group, but there are still other beautiful places in the country like Siargao and Palawan.

The Philippines is an archipelago, so you have a long list of beautiful beaches to choose from. If you want a combo of sea and nature, check out the neighboring island of the surfing capital of the Philippines (Siargao), which is Sohoton. You might want to check out one of my blogs: Sohoton Trip.

Thanks a lot for all this information!! I had no idea about the long list of places to visit, and it's great to know that I can travel alone, and also take some tours to different secluded areas. Yes, I guess it's better to go in a group to a more isolated place, mostly in the middle of nature.

I'm going now to see your other post.

Thanks a lot!!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1651.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you, @pinmapple and @ybanezkim26 😊

You're welcome! 🤗

wow great blog and earnings too hehe, congrats! I hope I can find time to write a blog again here on hive.

Thank you, sir. Hehe pohon sir. pohon.

Those sunset shots of yours are superb sis! The water is very clear too and very refreshing for a swim! Bet you had so much fun. 😊

Thank you, sis! Yes, it was def fun.

So amazing post and nice photo. I hope have a follow from you