Ammas Ashram, Amritapuri, India - an unforgettable experience - part 1

in Pinmapplelast month (edited)

The trip to Amma was a surprise for me. like a gift.
I didn't know that she was only a few hours' drive away from our Chill Valley in Thodopuzha.
Thanks to Mantra Cora who organized the whole thing.

Despite navigation, we got lost twice and managed to register at the last minute before the visitors office closed at 16:30.
Amritapuri (29).JPG

It's important for visitors to register online.
Also to pay attention to the dress code in the Ashram.

Amritapuri (31).JPG

At first I saw the Kali Thempel, it's really beautiful.
We looked inside.
I had never seen Kali before and I couldn't pray in front of her (but I respect those who do it).
She looks different than other deities. She has her tongue out.😛
The name Kali means “The Black One”. She is goddess of death, destruction and renewal. Among Hindus, she is considered one of the few goddesses who grant wishes.
Kali Thempel.JPG

Amritapuri (30).JPG

We got a room for us 6 woman and bed linen.
Men and women sleep separately in the ashram and I have to say that was very pleasant.
We left our things and inspected the room.
Everything is very simple, as you can see.
There is 1 toilet and a shower.
First bed is mine, I always take my pillow from home with me:)

Amritapuri (4).JPG

Surprise - a door in the room next to my bed led to a kind of balcony above the Kali temple:
Amritapuri (35).JPG

A few years ago I watched a movie where a couple traveled to India and, among other places, they also went to Amma (Mother).
So far, Amma has hugged more than 30 million people.
I wanted to see this woman.

I expected exactly this movie scene- thousands of people on a meadow :) and was a bit disappointed when I saw the hall.
We came late to the Darshan ( “divine sight”), which starts at 5 p.m. The bars were closed and so we stood outside, along with many others, and watched the sermon through the bars.

The hall is very large, for a few thousands of people, and it was full. Amma sat on the stage and spoke, and this was translated into many languages on large screens.
It's amazing how quiet it was during meditation! I wouldn't have thought it possible considering how many people were there.
All I heard was the whirring of fans.

It was already evening when the gates opened.
Many people sat on the floor between the stage and chairs in the room, and I sat there too, to be as close as possible. :)

When everyone found their place and people calmed down, it was a few moments, or minutes, I had no sense of time, very quiet.
Amma watched us, from one side of the room to the other and back again, she looked at us and we all looked at her.

She had dark circles under her eyes and I thought that she was tired. Her look was so serious, how can I say, as if she was thinking: "What do you want from me? There are so many of you!"
But then she set the beat for a song and a great indian music began.

At the beginning I read the lyrics of the songs or watched Amma sing, but at some point I closed my eyes and went into a kind of trance.
I cryed and I didn't care.
I have never seen so many people become one.
I felt on the same time alone and connected to everyone around me. That was a great experience and I am very grateful for it.

I liked watching Amma sing, she's so sweet when she laughs or smiles, and from time to time she raises her arms up as if she had an invisible giant ball. To me it looked like she was collecting everything bad from people and throwing it away.

After that, a ceremony had begun, with the ceremony participants in pairs holding a vessel with a candle and turning it in a circle in front of Amma.
Amma looks at one participant with a loving smile and then throws flowers onto the second candle holder. This was repeated with every couple. It was nice to see that.

We were told, we should look for a Japanese man who would give out the tickets for Darshan (in the context of Amma, Darshan means the embrace by the Guru).

Finaly we had the tickets and were very hungry. We bought something to eat right next to the hall.
Everyone washes their own plate/ bowl (simple bowls made of stainless metal) and if you're lucky you'll find cutlery.
There are long metall sinks with many taps, next to it a sponge and dishwashing liquid. So people stand in line and wash their plates and their hands too, so practical and easy everything.
I had a piece of zuchinni casserole in one hand and drank chickpea soup from the bowl with the other hand, I didn't care, I was so hungry! :D
And it was very tasty!

What a great atmosphere! Everyone (or almost everyone) was somehow loving and nice to each other. And I felt a lot of love, I think everyone feels that way.

Darshan started on the stage.
Photography is not permitted in the ashram, which is understandable.
Good thing, I think that people become more human without cell phones and TV.
Here is a screenshot of a video from the Ashrams Instagram page:
Amma.JPG
I had to leave my bag in front of the stage. Also my cell phone.
At first I didn't want to, but otherwise I could not go to Amma, so I just put my passport and the small wallet in my trouser pocket and left my bag. I got a number for my cell phone.

I got to the stage and saw a few rows of plastic chairs where people were sitting. Everyone moves to the next chair when a seat becomes empty, and so, chair by chair, it was my turn.
A guy gave me a damp paper towel to wipe my forehead with.

And then I was finally in front of Amma, the priests arranged me, and despite all the excitement, I started crying as soon as I leaned my head on Amma. She really has a wonderful energy that i could feel. But maybe also because I had a hard time with my mother.
I saw that many were crying too.

A priest told me to stay on stage. So I sat on the floor with a few select people and always moved forward when someone got up in front of me.
So I almost got to Amma, there was only one woman in between, then Amma got up and left and turmoil began. Oh waaw, people tried to touch her, her clothes or her chair, some of them had their foreheads on the floor in front of the chair.
I didn't want to climb over someone 😅 and waited for someone to get up.
I spotted the flowers and caught a handful.
Luckily I had my glasses with me and so Amma's flowers were safely in the glasses case:
Amritapuri (1).JPG
Of course I gave some away to my friends!

I walked around a bit looking for the smoking spot 😬
(Smoking is also not allowed).
So I discovered these cute houses, it looked like a fairy village, only fireflies were missing:
Amritapuri (3).JPG

Amritapuri (20).JPG

I thought, how does Amma manage this? She is 70 years old and does this every day. It's definitely not easy for her.
Even if some people are of the opinion that a lot of it is just an act - so what? Isn't every religion a theater?
At least Amma's religion is love.
And there I could feel it.
Thank you for the Darshan dear Amma and thank you for everything - I will never forget it. 💝

Thanks everyone! <3
I wish you lots of love!
Cheers!

Sort:  

Hello, @krasnec I hope you enjoyed this beautiful trip

So far, Amma has hugged more than 30 million people.
I wanted to see this woman.

After reading your post I had to go read about Amma as I was curious about how one woman could hug this number of people.

Thank you so much for sharing as this post was educating

The place was very enjoyable

Congratulations @krasnec! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 60000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!