Franktown, Colorado First Snow

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Nothing fancy on this post. Just a little view of Franktown, Colorado first snow of the year. About a month early for us. 92F (33.3C) degrees on Monday, then high of 30F (-1.1C) on Tuesday with about 5 inches of snow. These early snows are great. The streets are still too warm for the snow to stick, but the trees and grass are gorgeous views.

COSnow2020090801.jpg

The crazy swings are normal for Colorado, but this one was a little dramatic and set several new records since it came so early. The Aspen leaves haven't even started changing up in the mountains yet, but will be in another 2-3 weeks. We just take it in stride, we are supposed to be back up to mid 80's this weekend, so hopefully the real fall season about to start (my favorite!).
IMG_20200908_163136.jpg

Until then, we'll just enjoy a nice fire and cuddle up with some hot Chili!
IMG_20200908_162926.jpg

Sort:  

That’s wild! I remember several years ago in Boston it was the opposite in December. It was in the low 30’s then bam one day it shot up to 90 then back to the 40’s. It was very sketchy! Hopefully not some weather modification stuff.

These kind of strange outliers are definitely enough to give some second thoughts on weather control conspiracy theories!

Yeah, definitely some things to ponder!

It was comfortable but sad last night got down into the high 40’s here in Boston for the first time. Very comfortable to sleep but not quite ready for much colder weather yet in some regards. I remember as a kid it would start to get a lot cooler around the middle of September so I wonder if we are entering that type of cycle.

It doesn't seem that long ago and we were talking about heat. Snowfall is nice...I don't see it here, but have in the past at other locations. We're coming into summer...That means killer high temps and grumpy G-dog.

Yes, that's one of the things I love about our location. Even in the hottest part of summer, we will only get a handful of days over 100F (37C). I think we had maybe 4 this year? The worst I think in 7 years was it got up to 104F (40C) once. It's also a dry heat which feels much less without all the humidity.

Nice...That's much better than here. I'm not a fan of the heat.

Hey, a question. What do you know about the CZ 515 tactical .22? I have a chance to buy one and would value your input.

Feel free to comment here or throw a post into The Pew and rage me if you know anything. 🙂

Interesting. I actually had to look this one up.
First thoughts:

  1. It's a CZ, so of course going to be solid shooter.
  2. I would not choose it over semi-auto here in the U.S., but with your restrictions certainly worth looking at.
  3. Looks like it could be a pain to open up and clean, but .22 may not need as often, or just use a pull-thru cleaning cable?
  4. Definite value of quick follow up shots for hunting/plinking and being able to stay on target with less movement than traditional bolt, pump, or lever action.
  5. Not sure what options for after-market barrels and triggers are, but guessing that like most off the shelf .22's, while solid for casual shooters, it may need some mods to get where you would be happy with the precision beyond 50 yards.
  6. If they ever relax the restrictions, seems it could easily be converted/modified for true semi-auto function.
  7. While my initial impression was that it was a little "gimmicky" to get past restrictions, there is definite value of the staying on target for follow ups. This is even more pronounced since it is .22 with little recoil vs. a centerfire caliber that has more recoil and pulls scope/sights off target. This to me is what makes it worthwhile.

I can't tell you how nice it is with the Ruger. I'm just waiting for my custom stock to be delivered now, (shipping next week) I have the rest of it all put together. Look for the detailed review and before/after targets and scope cam video that will demonstrate how nice to stay on target for followups!

I look forward to your review of the CZ!
K

My good friend, a person I trust, show one at the range last week. At 25m he shot 1/2 inch groups and was very impressed with the accuracy. He said it felt good in the hands, wasn't too heavy and because the firing mechanism was incredibly quick to shoot. A decent substitute for a semi which we cannot have. Yes, not ideal, but as good as it's going to get here.

The good thing is the guy I mention has bought one, which is the one I would buy if I decided to go ahead so I'll get to shooting extensively first. He got it because why not, with no intention to keep it. He has an anschutz .22 which he likes. Ugly but effective.

We'll see how it goes. I might grab it. I'll shoot it first though.

I'm guessing you'll be hooked as soon as you taste that ability to stay on target and send another round or two without lifting your head or losing sight picture.

I think you NEED it.
K

Ah yeah, the need/want conundrum. I'll be completely honest with you, I think I need it too! 😂

i like it,what a beautifull place

Congratulations @ksteem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

First snow already! It's way too early, I'm sure we are not too far behind. The pictures look great, so peaceful. As much as I dislike the snow, the first snow makes everything look pretty for just a moment. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks. I love the early snows, when it doesn't stick to the roads yet, and just makes things look nice. Also I just love going outside very early in the mornings or late evenings and listening to the quiet with all the normal noise sounds muffled by the snow.

Our anniversary is in early November and we like to go rent a cabin in a small mountain village and relax, it's generally very early on the snow season, there is nothing like it, like you said everything is so quiet and still.