Argentina - On the way to the Martial Glacier in Ushuaia: the first time in my life that I see snowfall. / En camino al Glaciar Martial en Ushuaia: la primera vez en mi vida que veo una nevada. 😃❤️

in Pinmapplelast month

Having the opportunity to travel to Ushuaia was one of the coolest things that happened to me, both for the unexpectedness of this trip and for all the beautiful things I was able to see and do. I had never been so far south of my country before and I was excited for it to be so, so I prepared very well for this trip. I knew it was going to be quite cold in those places and I prepared myself to visit the snow in the hills, not knowing that it would even snow during my stay. With summer so close, this was something I didn't expect to happen, but I was glad it did because I had never seen snow fall before ❣️.

Haber tenido la oportunidad de viajar hasta Ushuaia fue una de las cosas más geniales que me pasó, tanto por lo inesperado de este paseo como por todas las cosas lindas que pude ver y hacer. Nunca antes había estado tan al sur de mi país y estaba emocionada porque así sea, así que me preparé muy bien para este viaje. Sabía que iba a hacer bastante frío por aquellos lugares y me preparé para visitar la nieve en los cerros, sin saber que incluso nevaría durante mi estadía. Con el verano tan cerca, esto era algo que no me esperaba que pasara, pero me alegré de que así haya sido porque nunca antes había visto caer nieve ❣️.


Pinmapple (18x12) (16).png



As always in every trip, I never look at pictures of the places to visit in each destination, but as soon as I get there I ask for recommendations to those who live there. I already knew that in Ushuaia I would have a lot of things to do and I was excited to do some of them, but I wanted to wait at least one day to go to the mountain area. At that time, in Buenos Aires we were having temperatures above 30°C while there it was no higher than 6°C, so I wanted to take some time to "acclimatize" 😅.

Como siempre en cada viaje, nunca miro fotos de los lugares que hay para visitar en cada destino, pero ni bien llego a ellos me encargo de pedir recomendaciones a quienes viven ahí. Ya sabía que en Ushuaia tendría un montón de cosas para hacer y estaba emocionada por hacer algunas de ellas, pero quería esperar al menos un día para ir a la zona de las montañas. En ese momento, en Buenos Aires estábamos teniendo temperaturas superiores a los 30°C mientras que ahí no superaban los 6°C, así que quería tomarme un tiempo para "aclimatarme" 😅.

IMG_20231201_140750517~2.jpg
IMG_20231201_141114478~2.jpgIMG_20231201_141714101~2.jpgIMG_20231201_141731222.jpgIMG_20231201_142459863.jpg


Taking advantage of the location of my hostel, one of the things I was recommended to do was to go to the Martial Glacier, located on the homonymous hill. This hike would not take me more than two hours and its difficulty was not so difficult, which was perfect for me who had just arrived. In my job exchange for accommodation, I had to cover the morning shift, so I had the whole afternoon free with more than enough time to do this. Dressing in layers of all-weather clothing, I set out on my walk 😃.

Aprovechando la ubicación de mi hostel, una de las cosas que me recomendaron que hiciera fue ir hasta el Glaciar Martial, ubicado en el cerro homónimo. Esta caminata no me tomaría más de dos horas y su dificultad no era tanta, lo que era perfecto para mí que estaba recién llegada. En mi intercambio de trabajo por alojamiento, tenía que cubrir el turno de la mañana, así que tenía toda la tarde libre con tiempo más que suficiente para hacer esto. Vistiéndome en capas con ropa para todos los climas, emprendí el paseo 😃.

IMG_20231201_142830532.jpgIMG_20231201_145748694~2.jpgIMG_20231201_150206269.jpg
IMG_20231201_145657637.jpgIMG_20231201_150743021~2.jpg


The trail to the Martial Glacier is one of the most touristic points of the city so it is quite busy. You can get to the base of the hill by car or walking along some trails that are on the side of the road. If you choose to go along the trail, you can go deep into the forest, although at times it is necessary to leave it and cross the road, which gives you the first beautiful views of the snow-capped mountains ❤️.

El sendero al Glaciar Martial es uno de los puntos más turísiticos de la ciudad así que es bastante transitado. Se puede llegar hasta la base del cerro en vehículo o caminando por algunos senderos que hay al costado de la calle. Si elegís ir por el sendero, podés adentrarte en el bosque, aunque por momentos es necesario salir de él y cruzar la ruta, lo que te va dando las primeras vistas hermosas de las montañas nevadas ❤️.

IMG_20231201_142203572~2.jpgIMG_20231201_143128564~2.jpg
IMG_20231201_143346363.jpgIMG_20231201_145552846~2.jpgIMG_20231201_152511093~2.jpg


The first half of the trail took me an hour as promised, and this is enough to get to the entrance of the place. In its winter season, this is a ski center where you can find restaurants and a tea house, ideal to pass the cold after a day of physical activity. I thought that because it was almost summer everything looked a little desolate, but then I found out that in fact, the chairlift service has been abandoned for a long time. Currently, no one has the concession to manage this service, so people can freely pass through to do their snow activities, but only that 😶.

La primera mitad del sendero me tomó una hora como me habían prometido, y esto es suficiente para llegar a la entrada del lugar. En su época invernal, esto es un centro de esquí en donde se pueden encontrar restaurantes y una casa de té, ideal para pasar el frío después de una jornada de actividad física. Pensé que por ser casi verano todo se veía un poco desolado, pero luego investigando me enteré que en realidad, el servicio de aerosillas está abandonado hace tiempo. Actualmente, nadie tiene la concesión para administrar este servicio, así que la gente puede pasar libremente a hacer sus actividades de nieve, pero solo eso 😶.

IMG_20231201_152959884~2.jpgIMG_20231201_153206019~2.jpgIMG_20231201_183100275~2.jpg


Once inside the resort, you can choose to walk to the base of the hill along trails in the forest or along a wide street that is where the ski slope runs when everything is covered with snow. Of course it is always nicer to go along the trails, where you can cross small streams and footbridges, and the path is shorter but no less steep 😅.

Una vez dentro del complejo, se puede optar por caminar hasta la base del cerro dentro de senderos en el bosque o por una calle ancha que es donde funciona la pista de esquí cuando todo está cubierto de nieve. Por supuesto siempre es mas lindo ir por los senderos, en donde te podes cruzar con pequeños arroyos y puentes peatonales, además de que el camino es más corto pero no menos empinado 😅.

IMG_20231201_154212413.jpg
IMG_20231201_160221570.jpg
IMG_20231201_155048227.jpgIMG_20231201_154403970~2.jpg


About forty minutes later you reach the other end of the chairlift, where you can still see the remains of when it was working. It is a real pity that this service does not work because this place is very close to the city center (7 km) and is one of the most recommended places to visit. However, Ushuaia is not without a ski center with chairlifts: those who wish to practice these activities can also go to Cerro Castor, 24 km away from the city 😃.

Unos cuarenta minutos después se llega hasta el otro extremo de la aerosilla, en donde todavía se pueden ver restos de cuando funcionaba. Es una verdadera pena que este servicio no funcione porque este lugar queda muy cerca del centro de la ciudad (7 km) y es uno de los más recomendados para visitar. Sin embargo, Ushuaia no se queda sin centro de ski con aerosillas: los que deseen practicar estas actividades también pueden ir al Cerro Castor, distante a 24 km de la ciudad 😃.

IMG_20231201_160416482.jpgIMG_20231201_160626842~2.jpgIMG_20231201_160715797~2.jpgIMG_20231201_160926861~2.jpgIMG_20231201_161021587~2.jpg
IMG_20231201_161047678~2.jpg


Continuing a little further, you could already appreciate the base of Cerro Martial and how imposing it is, covered with a lot of snow. When I arrived at this place I was quite excited, as I had not been in contact with snow since 2011, the first and only time I had visited a snowy place in season for my high school graduation trip. In all my previous trips I had visited winter destinations but in the low seasons due to a price issue, so this time I was glad to have some snow even at that time of the year. ❤️

Continuando un poco más allá, ya se podía apreciar la base del Cerro Martial y lo imponente que es, cubierto de bastante nieve. Cuando llegué a este lugar me emocioné bastante, ya que no estaba en contacto con la nieve desde el año 2011, primera y única vez que había visitado en un lugar nevado en temporada con motivo de mi viaje de egresados de escuela secundaria. En todos mis paseos anteriores visité destinos invernales pero en las temporadas bajas por una cuestión de precios, así que esta vez me alegré de tener algo de nieve incluso en esa época del año ❤️.

IMG_20231201_161225173~2.jpgIMG_20231201_162545426~2.jpgIMG_20231201_161602524~2.jpgIMG_20231201_162539554~2.jpg


Most people only get to this point which is like a viewpoint of the hill, but if you want to walk a little in the snow, there is a small trail that can be done to get a little closer to the glacier. According to the signage, it only takes about 40 minutes more to climb up to this other viewpoint, walking along the edge of the mountain. At first I found it a little unbelievable that people would go up there because they were really walking along the edge and very high, but I was already there and of course I wanted to go up 😃.

La mayoría de la gente solo llega a este punto que es como un mirador del cerro, pero si deseas caminar un poco en la nieve, hay un pequeño sendero que se puede hacer para acercarte un poco más al glaciar. Según la cartelería, solo toma unos 40 minutos más ascender hasta ese otro mirador, caminando por el filo de la montaña. Al principio me pareció un poco increíble que la gente fuera hasta allá porque de verdad estaban caminando por el borde y muy alto, pero yo ya estaba ahí y por supuesto que quería subir 😃.

IMG_20231201_162017043~2.jpgIMG_20231201_162631019~2.jpgIMG_20231201_163252245~2.jpgIMG_20231201_163401853~2.jpgIMG_20231201_165006303~2.jpg


Just a few minutes after I decided to go further, a small drizzle started, which progressively turned into sleet and then snow. I had already been warned about such pronounced weather changes in Ushuaia, so I was prepared with all my waterproof clothes just in case. So far, I had never seen snowfall because the only time I went to the snow before that we were not that lucky, but this time it was coming true and right in that beautiful place. I couldn't believe it ❤️.

Tan solo unos minutos después de haber decidido ir más allá, empezó una pequeña llovizna que progresivamente se transformó en aguanieve y luego nieve. Yo ya había sido advertida de estos cambios de clima tan pronunciados en Ushuaia, así que estaba preparada con toda mi ropa impermeable por si a caso. Hasta el momento, nunca había visto una nevada porque la única vez que fui a la nieve antes de eso no tuvimos esa suerte, pero esta vez se estaba haciendo realidad y justo en ese lugar hermoso. No lo podía creer ❤️.

IMG_20231201_165629265~2.jpg
IMG_20231201_165933385.jpg


Maybe for many people who have always lived with snow this event does not mean something so special, but for me it was. We who live in Buenos Aires never see snow, only on a special occasion in July 2007 and that never happened again, but it was nothing compared to this. I felt it as a welcome gift to Ushuaia and the Martial Glacier, because even though the day was beautiful and clear when I started the hike, the snow started just when I got to where I wanted to be ❤️.

Quizás para mucha gente que conviva con nieve desde siempre este evento no signifique algo tan especial, pero para mí lo fue. Nosotros que vivimos en Buenos Aires nunca vemos nevar, solo en una ocasión especial en Julio de 2007 y que nunca más se volvió a repetir, pero no fue nada comparado a esto. Yo lo sentí como un regalo de bienvenida a Ushuaia y al Glaciar Martial, porque a pesar de que el día estaba hermoso y despejado cuando empecé la caminata, la nieve empezó justo cuando llegué a donde quería ❤️.
IMG_20231201_165846834.jpgIMG_20231201_165620150~2.jpgIMG_20231201_164139818.jpg

I was so warm that being in the middle of the snowfall was not a problem for me, so I stayed for quite a while. I climbed quite a bit on the trail, but then there came a point where the ridge was so narrow and full of snow, that I was afraid to cross there for fear of slipping. I decided to stay there just as far as I had come and enjoy the view. Well, it wasn't an incredible view because the sky was all overcast and the snowfall was getting heavier, but there was no way that could have put me in a bad mood because I was enjoying it all 😃.

Estaba tan abrigada que estar en medio de la nevada no representaba un problema para mí, así que me quedé un buen rato. Subí bastante en el sendero, pero luego llegó un punto en el que el filo era tan angosto y lleno de nieve, que me dió miedo cruzar por ahí por miedo a resbalarme. Decidí quedarme por ahí nomás hasta donde había llegado y disfrutar un poco la vista. Bueno, no había una vista increíble porque el cielo estaba todo tapado y la nevada era cada vez más intensa, pero de ninguna manera eso podría haberme puesto de mal humor porque lo estaba disfrutando todo 😃.

IMG_20231201_165936382.jpg
IMG_20231201_164957459~2.jpg


Although I could not see the glacier with my own eyes, being there at the right moment filled me with happiness. The snow is beautiful and even more so in such an imposing landscape. The trip could not have been better, especially with a reception like this, so more than ever I was grateful for this opportunity. After having walked through that mountain and with those postcards, I am not surprised how people from all over the world come to visit us: my country is worth it ❤️.

A pesar de que no pude ver el glaciar con mis propios ojos, haber estado ahí en el momento justo me llenó de felicidad. La nieve es hermosa y más aún en ese paisaje tan imponente. Concretar este viaje no pudo haber sido mejor y menos con un recibimiento como este, así que más que nunca estuve totalmente agradecida por esta oportunidad. Después de haber caminado por esa montaña y con esas postales, no me sorprende como gente de todo el mundo viene a visitarnos: mi país vale la pena ❤️.


❤️ Hope you liked this post! Thanks for reading. ❤️

❤️¡Espero que les haya gustado este post! Gracias por leer. ❤️


With lots of love. / Con mucho amor.
Lau 💕.


📸 Cover created with Canva. All the images are my property 💕.
📸 Portada creada en Canva. Todas las imágenes son de mi propiedad 💕.


Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

El año pasado estuve allí. Fuiste a la casita del te? Sirven cada cosa espectacular... y me compre varios libros alli... un lugar de sueño :D

¡Que lindo! Si fui pero no compré nada porque había cualquier cantidad de gente jajaja

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2162.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Qué maravillosa experiencia, Lau! Tengo que confesar que adoro tú forma de narrar lo vivido. Se siente como si estuviera allí contigo.

Espero que sigas conociendo muchos más lugares 🩷

Gracias por tus buenos deseos Albani ❤️

It seems like I have to emulate your travel style, you prefer to ask local people for places in an area you visit rather than having to look at recommendations on Google Maps, as a result the places you find have more beautiful views, I really want to use this method for my next trip. I like all the views you share, especially the forest view with a small river in the middle which is very beautiful and also the snowy mountain view which is extraordinary. Ushuaia is truly amazing

It's the best to make friends with local people, they always know where the best places are :) I hope you can travel soon and live the experience. Greetings!

I received good advice from you, when traveling again I will definitely ask for information from local residents, I have already made plans with my friends to travel again, I hope we are always happy sister

Que lindo paisaje, se ve relajante 😳

Lo es 💕

Me encantan tus posts, son hermosos primero por cómo narras tus experiencias (que son increíbles) y segundo por las preciosas fotos de esos lugares que visitas.

Cada vez quedó más enamorada de Argentina 🩵

¡Muchas gracias! Me alegro que te haya gustado mi publicación 😘

What a beautiful city, I am in love with it, your photographs remind me of our visits, we have been to several places you have passed through. My son's wife worked last season on Cerro Castor
What a shame you couldn't see the glacier.
What a beautiful experience and what beautiful photographs you have taken. I appreciate that you share with us the beautiful things you have had in the city.
Have a wonderful day dear friend @lauramica

Good thing, ski centers also give a lot of work in the winter season. It must be nice to go there and live with all the snow ❤️.

As I haven’t also seen snow before, now I know how I’ll feel seeing for the first time
It looks so much fun and I think the trip was definitely worth it
The pictures are also beautiful
This is a trip I would want to go someday if I get the chance

Snow is a wonderful thing, speaking from a tourist point of view haha. I don't know what it will be like to live with her every day, but at least I have enjoyed it 😅

Yeah it’s awesome you have enjoyed it

A person should live his life in the same way and should keep moving around, it gives a person a lot of experience and by seeing natural things, the problems also disappear, so these places are also looking very beautiful.


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

Yes, traveling spands your horizonts :)

Que bonito lugar, se ve hermoso en las fotos y super que hayas tenido el privilegio de presenciar la nevada 😚😍
por un momento la foto principal me hizo recordar la serie de la Sociedad de la Nieve.

¡Gracias! Y es una zona de alta montaña pero no pertenece a la Cordillera de Los Andes, solo es parecida :)