You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dordogne River Valley Series : The French Gîtes

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Yeah, I really like seeing Donkey's, cows and sheep freely roaming the countryside. I have never heard of a Gite but it seems like a great form of accommodation.

We haven't done a full Dordogne trip yet because we just opened up for travel and the weather has been crap here lately. We only did a quick stop this weekend at one town on the way through the area so I don't have much to show unfortunately. But I am definitely looking forward to checking it out further. Apparently the region is broken up into four areas - Perigord black, white, green and purple. Each represents a different feature of the landscape - forests, cliffs, hilly landscape, and grapes (wine). I'm not sure but I think your previous posts were in the white region and I think my trip is planned for the black. I could be wrong on both accounts but nonetheless its nice seeing the other locations of the area in your posts. Will there be more to come?

Sort:  

Yes you're right, it's so huge, they're broken up into four areas. I'm afraid that's about it. It was only a weekend trip which was too short for sightseeing in Dordogne.

Okay, I see. Did you write about the areas in one of your previous posts and I just forgot where I read it? I hate when that happens lol

Sorry for my late reply, been swamped at work with deadlines. I only wrote about Brantôme, Bourdeilles, and Périgueux. The rest of Dordogne, I have only seen them on posters on the wall of one restaurant here in our village in the Philippines lol. I'd love to return. Hope to read about them on your blog.