You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The sad story about the sisters and cousins

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Yeah it's true. It does seem absurd at times. New words are created to replace the old misused words and then other new words are created to replace those, and eventually you can't even figure out what message is being conveyed anymore because it's so far removed lol. I'm definitly for inclusivity and all that but sometimes it can be very challenging. As a rule I just try to avoid any descriptive word for other people. It's too confusing for me anymore. There have been so many times where I have literally thought to myself "can I say that word anymore?" and then I spend like 5 minutes in my head thinking "well the man was from Mexico, so why couldn't I say that a Mexican gave me the tequila?" 🤔

That's just a made up example but there have been actual cases where I thought something similar to that. My social work program ruined me for speaking. Now i overthink everything.