You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Majestic Canyons, Fancy Water Mains, and Bleak Lavender in the South of France (Video & Photo Story, Part 2)

in Pinmapple2 years ago

That looks like an incredible trip. I'm so glad you were able to go after all of the previous covid crap and then the health issues with your dog a while back and all that.

Gordes is amazing and it's great that the lavender was in bloom for you at the Abbey. We went too early for that last year. Seeing Arles in your posts was nice because we were supposed to go this year but it didn't work out for us. I can experience it vicariously through you 👍

Incredible drone shots of the bridge and gorge.

Great post!

Sort:  

Thanks Dane. You didn't read it right :-)

the lavender was in bloom for you at the Abbey.

No, it wasn't! The picture is from Wikimedia Commons, source given, to illustrate what it's supposed to look like.

We went too early for that last year.

Yeah, us, too. We only had the first week of June open, so we went. I had high hopes, having had a warm winter and all, but it didn't pan out. A matter of days too soon I understand.

The original idea was to catch the bloom at Maison de la Lavande in the Ardèche. Their fields are big enough to be impressive, and it would have saved a bunch of driving to the other side of the Rhône. Two birds with one stone.

...glad you were able to go after all...

Yeah, me too. Been tied down for a loooong time. It really sucks, when you're done building a camper and have it sit uselessly by the house. Finally got that diesel heater in, too - which is practically a guarantee that this will become the hottest summer on record well into December, from the North Cape to Gibraltar. I won't need it for months to come. That's how the gods of my fortune tend to fuck with me. :-)

We didn't do much in Arles, just parked the van by the flea market ('cause it looks like a vendor's van and fits right in) and walked over to the Arènes to eat, drink, and be merry. Sorry about that. No flying there - very verboten.

I can't leave my mom alone in the house for more than 4, 5 days, otherwise her care costs more than a year's worth of vacations. So I steal the time I can.

Have a great Sunday!