TRAVEL DIARIES: THE MULTICULTURAL MACAU

in Pinmapple2 years ago

footer (1).png

As I was devouring an egg tart I recently purchased from a store here near my place, I suddenly remembered how much I missed Macau , not just the place but also the good food and the various tourist sites that I got to witness years ago. Living in this pandemic has definitely hindered us from crossing borders to different places that we would love to wander. These unprecedented times made me realize how much I miss travelling to new places. Maybe now is the time to be still and enjoy the beautiful and calm moments at home. Now is the time to focus on my studies because I know that the time will come where in I will be able to go as far as where my feet would take me. I have realized that we cannot always control the situation but we can always control how we react to it and so here I am reminiscing some beautiful memories of the multicultural Macau!

The Arrival

AB2E3D14-A175-4120-AE6D-4225576048EE.jpeg
This is me together with my mother and aunt en route to Macau. The boat ride from Hong Kong was around an hour and I could vividly remember how strong the waves were at that time but thankfully we arrived Macau safely.

Just to give a quick overview on the history of Macau, based on my research, Macau is actually a Special Administrative Region of China and it was one of the first areas to be colonized by the Portuguese. That is why Macau is a multicultural place due to its rich colonial history. When I first visited Macau, I honestly expected to showcase the Chinese culture alone given that it is a region that is a part of China but when I step foot into the place, I was mesmerized by the world class architecture and it felt like I was in a European country!
7874B85D-319E-4009-B670-70D97CC2048D.jpeg
Upon reaching Macau, we went to a nearby hotel via a free shuttle. We did not check in to any hotel because our plan was to leave Macau before the sun sets since we also had other plans in Hong Kong. Of course, I ordered some Frappuccino and asked my mother to take some photos of me.
CC7E3057-13C0-401A-97F7-2C738013AA0A.jpeg
My mother and aunt then walked around the area and honestly at that time I was starving hence the look on my face. Upon arriving at the Ruins of St. Paul, I was not in my best mood already but then again I must not leave the place without striking a pose right?

The Senado Square

After visiting the Ruins of St. Paul , we grabbed a quick bite at a nearby food place and then we continued our journey towards Senado Square. We did not want to waste time since we only have a couple of hours left before we depart Macau and there were still more places on our list. We then took photos around Senado Square which is like a shopping hub as far as I could recall. Of course I needed to take photos since I did not want my outfit to go to waste. I could rarely wear this coat here in the Philippines due to the climate.
45A69F82-0A4F-4A44-9CC8-0849A076D0BB.jpeg

9E48D660-8FF2-46AC-9405-034F6D0B41B9.jpeg

928DB108-3B18-46C1-9C77-8C365B71B775.jpeg

C3AF4A8D-BCD1-4360-ACA3-AA3C353EE2EF.jpeg

Every corner at the Senado Square was truly picturesque so I never failed to strike a pose whenever I had the chance to!

4B0C40ED-48CE-450F-B414-FBCA0F527D21.jpeg

0877F56F-6478-4437-B9A4-4132CA57240C.jpeg

2D250586-EF00-437E-BE8E-3D7A2EC889BC.jpeg

85724B43-B5FA-46B5-8DEC-B323A1F16C82.jpeg

And of course, I had to take photos of my mother and aunt around the Senado Square. They definitely enjoyed striking a pose as well.

The Venetian Macao

After going around the Senado Square and after doing a little bit of shopping, we then took a cab to the Venetian Macao. This was definitely the highlight of my trip to Macau since this was the time that I felt like I was in Venice, Italy. The interior of the mall was mesmerizing. I have always dreamt about being able to visit and shop around this mall since I only got to witness this in Instagram posts of other friends. Being in this mall was surreal. Even their restrooms have a stunning interior. Writing about it at this moment made me want to be in a time machine because it is definitely a place that worth coming back to. The place was art itself. There was even a river inside the mall.
95DEEF63-7D4B-4CFE-9136-E03EE0A61E21.jpeg

D2606B11-1854-45E1-8B8C-BCB45C781AF9.jpeg

D0CD093B-66C5-488F-B660-3B0378CBE8FA.jpeg

This place was intricately built and it really showcased how multicultural Macau is. The ceilings are even intricately crafted so that it would showcase a European vibe. Just being around the mall makes you feel like you are in Europe but in actuality you are in East Asia.

79F69347-84E6-40DF-AA08-C76940DE0589.jpeg

1ED4737E-E0CA-4BB5-B436-754CAE7D3BF2.jpeg

AEECF157-DDE7-4289-834F-6532C9D3C999.jpeg

CEDC63ED-D450-49CA-940F-463B13C5CDCE.jpeg

The Venetian Macao is actually a shopper's paradise since there are lots of boutiques you can visit. I, myself, also did a bit of shopping around since I could not leave Macau without buying myself a memoir which was a pair of shoes.

99043913-80A0-4693-9B30-483002852378.jpeg

F68E9522-A967-40CC-AD29-69643C9BE7CF.jpeg

6020A471-52AB-4763-A1C6-090D6377EC42.jpeg

Since my mother planned the itinerary, she asked me to take a gondola ride with her and it was definitely worth it. I had the time of my life as I was wandering around the mall on a gondola. It felt like I was in Italy! While on a Gondola ride, the gondolier serenaded us with such beautiful melody. My mother and I were definitely having the time of our lives.

My trip to Macau was definitely worth remembering albeit the number of years that has gone by. I would recommend that you spend a couple of days around the place because there is truly more to explore. Our time was quite limited there but it does not matter because it gave us a reason to visit again hopefully in the near future.

CD63DD92-E9E0-482E-8E9C-A7314E63B0E9.jpeg

Manifesting more travels in the years to come! How about you? What place would you want to visit again? Have you visited Macau? How was your experience?

Disclaimer: The first photo was edited via Canva.

lifewithera is a 22-year old, college senior, an aspiring yogi, a furmom, and a wanderer, who writes stories about her personal life, mental health, fitness, travel, and just anything and everything her heart wants to speak. If you want to get to know her more, then you can connect with her through various social media platforms.

INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | FACEBOOK

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you pinmapple!!! 😍

Nice kaayu ang Macau no? Haaay mga goals ayy hahaha

Yes Sasha!! Definitely a must visit 😍🤗

Manifesting hehe

Seeing your pics, I can conclude Macau is definitely a beautiful place to be. Thanks for sharing! 🙏😊

Thank you also for dropping by! Indeed there's a lot to explore around Macau 🤗

The Venetian Macao looks like a real Venice. Do they also speak Italian 😁 Thanks for sharing!

Yes it felt like I was in Europe even if I haven't been to Italy yet. I guess the gondoliers are fluent in Italian

Macau looks really like a fantastic place I love multicultural places and the Little Venice it s nice ,also if as an Italian I suggest you to come to visit the real Venice ❤️

Yes it indeed showcases diverse cultures. Hope I could visit Italy soon, I would love to immerse myself in Italian culture 🤍

Macau is also one of the places that I want to visit. Good evening!

Thank you so much for dropping by! Hopw you can visit soon 🤗🤗

You're welcome (^_^)

Congratulations @lifewithera! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you hivebuzz🤗

Me encanta viajar y conocer lugares,, gracias por compartir 🤗

I don't speak Spanish hehe but thank you so much for dropping by! This means a lot 🥺🤗

🤗 https://www.deepl.com/es/translator 👈 este es muy bueno jajaja

🤗 https://www.deepl.com/es/translator 👈 this one is really good hahaha.

😊 Happy day to you

May you have a wonderful day ahead as well🤗🤗

Thank you for sharing lovely pictures with us . the pictures was beautiful and nice.

Thank you as well for taking you time to drop by. This means a lot🤗🥺

:) I luv the green door! and those ceilings!

Awww thank you so much for noticing🤗

I am not really a person that aim to travel a lot but Macau would be a place that I wouldn't mind to visit 😉

Yes in the future you should definitely visit Macau since it boasts a multicultural experience as well as modern infrastructures 💖

I really envy nga you can travel with your mom. I couldn't kay Ma has osteoarthritis, really bad. Lisod na maglakaw huhu Travel with you parents gyud while they still can :)

Awww sorry to hear that Pat. Hope she is doing okay now. Yes, I definitely cherish every moment that I get to travel with her because time definitely flies fast🥺🥹

Shame on me that I never heard of Macau before. However, it's mix of cultures is definitely something uncommon and rare which everyone should be aware of :)

Ohhhh Macau is definitely a must visit!! :) even for solo travellers or first time visitors. It boasts a multicultural experience due to its rich colonial history🤗

What a beautiful place! 😍 Share ko lang that back in 2019, I was supposed to travel to Hongkong together with some of my colleagues but we failed to book a ticket from the seat sale! hahaha 😂 Hopefully, we can get to travel soon without any fears and worries.

Omg so sayang but maybe it wasn't your time yet to visit HK and Macau. There are lots of seat sales going on lately so hopefully you'll get to visit this wonderful place in the right time. Hoping there will be less travel restrictions so that you can travel without anxiety🤗 thank you for dropping by!

Always love your travel blogs Era ❤️
Travel Buddy jud si mommy 😍

Awww thanks Mary💖💖 forever date when it comes to travels hehehe

WARNING - The message you received from @aston.villa is a CONFIRMED SCAM!

DO NOT FOLLOW any instruction and DO NOT CLICK on any link in the comment!

Thank you for informing me :)

You're welcome @lifewithera. Stay cautious!

BTW, I noticed I miss your witness vote 😢
Do you mind casting one to me? It would be much appreciated!

Wow MACAU😍 Really love your travel blogs🥰

Awww thank you so much for dropping by😍🥺