If I had $1000 - it's time to go to Cebu, the Philippines

in Pinmapple3 years ago

It would be so wrong of me not to enter the If I had $1000 writing contest organised by Pinmapple. Although my entry won't qualify (I'm part of the team), it's so nice to be able to dream how I would spend $1000. So here goes.

If I had $1000 spend to travel, that would be after Covid has gone away, and I'd probably be back in Taiwan (my second home). The perfect destination to spend my $1000 would be the Philippines.
image.png
Source Unsplash

livinguktaiwan divider.png
I've only been to the Philippines twice. First for family holiday when I was a little kid, I can't even remember whereabouts in the Philippines we went. Then many years later, which is also many years ago, to Manila. In those days I was working in telecoms, and my main recollection of the city was very busy, with telephone cables flying all over the place across office buildings. It was a business trip, that's why flying cables were a big part of the trip. After that, for some unknown reason there seems to be a lot of negative news about Philippines which put me off from going back again - terrorism and kidnapping, over tourism in their beautiful islands, and general safey issues.

That's until recently, there's been a whole bunch of awesome posts on Hive about the Philippines which has totally changed my impression of the country. Did you know there's over 600 pins on Pinmapple in Philippines, of which over 100 are on Cebu? Maybe I'm missing out on something, and maybe it's time to take a trip there?
livinguktaiwan divider.png
The Philippines is very near to Taiwan, and in fact, some of the 7000 islands are nearer to Taiwan than Manila. I reckon I can get flight tickets from Taiwan to Cebu at around USD200 depending on the time of the year. That leaves me USD800 for travel, accommodation and food. Hopefully that should be enough as I don't think the Philippines is very expensive. I'm just going to wing it when I get there. With the bulk of the budget sorted, let's see where I plan to go. My itinerary is inspired by various people on Hive.


CITY

The first stop is Cebu city, preferably the old part of town. The Philippines has a strong Spanish influence due to its colonial past, and this is where the Spanish first settled in the 16th century. There's also a strong Chinese influence, they arrived here even before the Spaniards. This gives a unique blend of east and west culture, as well as the locals who were here pre colonialism.
image.png
Source Pixabay


SEASIDE TOWN

Next, I'll move to Moalboal, I'll probably stay here as my base and do day trips. It sounds like Moalboal is quite a vibrant area. @scubahead has a diving center here, and I've seen him post some awesome posts of the seaside. Maybe if I bring him some British goodies, he might take me out on a scuba dive trip (one can only hope), the problem is... I can't swim...

image.png
Photo credit @scubahead


WATERFALLS

Cebu is famed for its waterfalls, I definitely have to get around to see a few of them. I've seen a few in Taiwan, let's see how they fare in the Philippines! Kawasan Falls seems to crop up quite often in my research, and this is the river nearby, looks very inviting already..
image.png
Source Unsplash

@ybanezkim26 posted about it before and he said he's been three times! He seems to know his stuff about Cebu, maybe that's a good guide as to how good Kawasan Falls is. But it's another waterfall called Cancalanog Falls that he posted about I find more enchanting. I stole this image off his post (strictly speaking it's not stealing as I'm being open about my actions 😄). I love the turquoise pool, hopefully, it looks just as mesmerizing in real life.
image.png


SIGHTSEEING

Another place in Cebu that has caught my eye is Simila Church. Although I am by no means religious, I enjoy visiting religious buildings, temples and churches. Often they can tell so much about the location. Simila Church doesn't look like any church I've ever seen before. If one didn't know, you'd think this is a castle. It looks so majestic from the outside.

hitoshinamuralfiuqSVU3sunsplash.jpg
Source Unsplash


HIKING

I love a good hike and it sounds like there are plenty of opportunities at Cebu. Osmeña Peak is the tallest peak on the island and is over 1000m above sea level. It looks like the perfect place for a hike, and I love the look of the terrain, the little peaks on the peak. I've never seen anything like that in UK nor Taiwan. And apparently, you can get a real good view of the sunrise. I'll be giving that a miss as no way am I going to get out of bed to watch the sunrise, Never! I would love to do a hike there though, and I think you can even hike over to Kawasan Falls. However, I might be pushed for time, so joining a day tour to Osmeña Peak and Kawasan Falls might be more feasible. It's about USD30, that won't eat into my USD800 too much.

image.png
Source Unsplash


LECHON

One must never never forget about food when you travel. According to Anthony Bourdain, Cebu does some of the best Lechon in the Philippines. I have to try that when I'm here. Just the thought of that makes my mouth water now. Lechon is a whole roast suckling pig and is popular in Spain and many of its former colonies, hence the Philippines. I've had it before in Spain, and Cantonese cuisine also does some mean roast suckling pork. I absolutely love its tender meat and crispy skin. This place claims to do the best Lechon in Cebu, but perhaps I can grab the local Hive folks for dinner and see what they recommend. Always eat where the locals eat is my motto when I travel.
RicosLechonMandaueExterior.jpg
Photo credit Rico's Lechon


So I've got city, seaside town, sightseeing, hiking, food and waterfall in my itinerary. What's left are the beautiful beaches. and whatever I haven't discovered yet. @discoveringarni did a great post a while ago about Road Trip to South Cebu. I'm going use that to fill up the rest of my itinerary, and then wing the rest when I get there.

Now my trip is looking pretty real especially I have included lechon in it.

livinguktaiwan divider.png





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

Nice choice. I see you've 'met' @scubahead and his merry band. At least some of them.

As for the not swimming part? I've yet to meet a real diver that didn't take lack of swimming skills as a personal challenge. I'll bet he's no different.

You probably ought to look at @millycf1976 if you haven't already. She takes extraordinary photographs of the fauna, flora, scenes and people of Cebu. Makes me want to go, too.

It would be lovely to meet them in real life, maybe we should do a HiveFest in Cebu one year!

That would certainly work for me! I'd love to meet you and them!

You missed out a gyro trip with @iamyohann best way to see Cebu from the air.

IMG_1529.jpg

oh yes! Up in the air and down to the sea! Sounds great!

Oh no I did didn't watch this space

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Me, you, and scubahead under the sea. Let's do this!

I'm wondering, does one need to know how to swim in order to scuba dive?

Funny. Well yeah, one will be in the water. A few basic swimming techniques will be necessary.

That's funny.

Looks like a great trip. So fun.

I think I can make this one a reality, not totally impossible.

Yes, cause it is so close to Taiwan when you go back. When I lived there the person that owned the school sent us to Hong Kong to renew our visas. I was a little sad that I didn't ever visit the Philippines.

At least you caught Hong Kong at the best of times!

Yes it was fun and right after the take back/ handover.

It is so beautiful 😍🔥

Many of the Philippines islands are very beautiful, I think I'll start with largest and gradually move on to the other if I have an opportunity.

That’s amazing :) If I have the opportunity to travel to the Philippines I will definitely will be very happy :)

While Rico's Lechon is good, the best lechon for me are the ones sold in Carcar Public Market. Plus it's cheaper. There's a section in the market where they sell nothing but lechon and puso (hanging rice).

See! I always say listen to the locals!

That's very beautiful photography.

The credit will go to internet and the people whom I "borrowed" the images from, so thank you on their behalf.

Great post❤️. I stayed there a month & definitely want to come back. Cebu is the island that I love most in Phil. City, scenes, and all the islands surround...just amazing!!!

Thanks. There certainly seems like a lot to see and do there.

A month! You really do like it!

I spent a huge part of 4 years bumming around the Philippines from 2004 to 2009 and it's incredible, even more because of the people than the places. I mainly kept well away from the tourist areas except for...
Palawan. Heaven on earth.

I hope when you get chance you can go back and make your dreams come true and I'm also proud that Phils gets so much positive publicity on Hive :-)

You have been around in Asia!

I hear Palawan is beautiful as well, many English language schools in Taiwan set up shop there

Best place, i want visit to this place

I have yet to go, hopefully it is really so lovely

After all the posts I've seen from @ybanezkim26, I would love to visit Cebu too. Great pick! :D

Nice! So I'm the one to blame if you don't like it here. 😂

I promise you won't get disappointed. After all, Cebu and Visayas Islands is the best in Asia this year according to Condé Nast. So I'm confident. 😄

wow. wonderful place!

So far all the research I've done points to that as well

I know nothing about the Philippines but your photos make it look amazing. Looks like a good choice of destinations.

My research for this 'trip' certainly has changed my previous impressions of it. There are so many islands in Philippines, so many to choose from to be honest

I'm too afraid to be in the Philippines unless I know how much it cost to hire a personal bodyguard. I'm not rich but the problem is too PRC looking. Filipino hate Chinese and I will be mistaken as a PRC unless I put a bindi on my forehead to pretend to be a fake Nepalese 🤣

I know what you mean, I've heard stories about safety as well but it was more about the radical groups. I'm sure once they hear you speak they can tell the difference, just don't walk around in Burberry trousers, a massive LV shawl and Gucci handbag, you'll be ok 😂

There are many Hive content creators who have made Cebu their permanent base. Isn’t that exciting? And if you happen to push through with your plans of traveling to the “Queen City of the South” in the Philippines, please know that I’ll be more than happy to show you around my homeland of Cebu! Rest assured, travel arrangements would be more flexible when that time comes! 😊

I'm definitely going to take you up on your offer when I go to Cebu. The Philippines is so near to Taiwan, I have to go there sometime. Thanks!

This does sound like a dream trip indeed, a bit of everything! That church certainly looks like an enormous castle, I wonder why it's so huge, very strange?
I'm sure you'll make this a reality once all the lockdowns disappear!

I think it's not totally impossible once I return to Taiwan as it's pretty near.

Not sure about that church, it's very unchurch, like a castle. Maybe part of the local culture...

I am so excited about your trip to Cebu and a Hive meet up if ever with all Cebu based bloggers 😍

I heard there was quite a big meetup in Cebu a few years ago, seems like there's a big group of you there. Would love to join you guys for a meet up sometime!

I would say you picked a very nice place to visit. Cebu is very different from UK or Taiwan but it may be that very variety that will allow you to enjoy the place. Also, you did your research really well haha. I look forward to the time when you finally get there. Cheers!

Hey there! Haven't seen you around for a long time. How are things going? Any news when you will come over to UK? Or maybe I still have a chance to get to Philippines before then?

I know haha. And I'm not proud of being gone for a while. Getting back here would beg the question of where do I start from where I left off.

Thing is, I am actually in the UK already! I have been since mid-September (so like you, I am waiting for this lockdown to finally end). That may be the biggest reason I haven't been writing as I still had to attend to pertinent things - contracts, residence permit, employment workbooks and all. Plus I still am adjusting to the new environment, a new job, new places, new people. Basically, everything is new to me haha and I just had to take it all in. I was thinking of writing about it soon but I just had to scroll through my feed to see what was going on haha.

You're here! Welcome!

Where are you going to be based?

I will be working at Kingston and am living in Carshalton 😊