You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hiking Ymittos mountain (Greece)

in Pinmapple3 years ago

That arch on the mountain is incredible, do you know what caused it? natural erosion? And it's so quiet up there, not even the sound of wind or birds, must be quite weird. I just read @leaky20 hike in Switzerland, and see they put markers on boulders as well just like your hike. Must be a common thing around Europe. We seldom see it in Taiwan when I go hiking

Sort:  

Incredible indeed. Natural erosion from rainfalls. Spot on about that silence. So nice to only hear just a couple of birds singing sporadically but weird at the same time and me hiking solo in the middle of nowhere made it even more silent and weird. Loved it though.
The more I explore my country the more I understand how this land (and sea) inspired Hellenes to believe in those 12 Gods back in the ancient years (the only religion I might adapt if one day I am forced at a gunpoint to do 🙂 ).

The markers are great. The overdone spray painted arrows are a bit much though. I'm guessing that those weren't made by park employees or people who maintain the trails.