The Valley of Rocks, England

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

The Valley of Rocks in Exmoor National Park, England offers spectacular views of the south west coast and is famous for the rock formations which is thought to date back to the Ice Age. See those little humps on the right? That's where we're going now.
20210729_143226.jpg

And here we are. Isn't the view breathtaking?
20210729_145116.jpg

Ok, let's back track a bit, and start from ground level so you can see the walk from the beginning.
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Coastal walk

The Valley of Rocks is near two charming villages in the area, Lynton and Lynmouth. Lynton is at the top of the hill and Lynmouth is down by the sea. I walked about a kilometer here from Lynton, and will be walking about half a kilometer along the cliff side down to Lynmouth.
20210729_143055.jpg

Here's the start of the walk at the Valley of Rocks. I love how the pattern on wall was built of slate horizontally and vertically, it's almost like they fitted together perfectly.
DSC_4204.JPG

The walk is as relaxing or strenous as you like. This stretch is perfect if you just want a comfortable stroll, and sit and watch the undulating views.
20210729_143243.jpg


The cliff edge where my heart drops

I opted for a little climb, coming up from the path which is now on the right. The view up here is just breathtaking.
DSC_4215.JPG

The dare devils climb up here to get a close up view of these famous rock formations. You can't see it very well, but I hear the drop down to the sea below is about 200 feet!! I had jelly feet up here, and didn't dare to stand up beyond this point, but some people kept on walking across to the the rocks behind me and beyond.
20210729_144844.jpg

Such as my kiddo nephew. The joys of being young and brave! He was bouncing around like a spring lamb, whilst Aunty me just sat on the rocks and didn't dare to move around too much. Kiddo asked me to take some photos of him and my heart nearly fell out when he stepped towards the edge and stood up. Even looking at the photos now makes my heart drop.
20210729_144505.jpg

Here's another view of how scary epic the view is
20210729_152438.jpg


Open air theater

As stunning as the view was up by the cliff edge, I couldn't handle the height for much longer and headed back down to the road. The feral goats are resident around this area, munching away happily at the grass totally ignoring us human beings.
GOPR5925_Moment.jpg

On the other side of the road from the feral goats is the coast, and the coast line path on the right. We'll be going there in a minute. But before we do, I want to show you something quite fascinating. You see these white line markings on the grass and the black boxes in the front? This is actually an open air theater!!!
DSC_4227.JPG

The white markings is where the audience will sit, and the black boxes are the lighting and other audio visual equipment. The audience will be watching the play facing the sea under the stars. I can imagine how spectacular this will be, particularly if you love going to the theater. Surely you don't get this scene setting in many places!
DSC_4226.JPG


Coastal walk

It's time to leave the Valley of Rocks and head down to Lynmouth. The walk is very short, less than half a kilometer, but it felt much longer. Originally it was because we kept on stopping to take in the view.
20210729_151122.jpg

DSC_4230.JPG

GOPR5943_Moment.jpg

Then the latter part was zig zagging down the muddy path through woods. That part wasn't a very pleasant walk and it felt like it took ages, but I reckon it was only less than ten minutes till we got to Lynmouth, also known as Little Switzerland. That will be for my next post. See ya!!!

20210729_160322.jpg





You can checkout all my travel post on the Pinmapple here or click on Mr Pinmapple below

Sort:  

It must be an unforgettable experience to be present in this kind of outdoor theater, and above all in such a beautiful place. I look forward to your sharing your experience in "little Switzerland". Greetings and take care of yourself....

I was there just last week, I've recently moved to a village just 20 minutes drive away. Did you go on the water powered cliff railway? It's a great way to travel between Lynton and Lynmouth...

I'm not sure I could live there, we drove over from Bridgwater, the drive really stressed me out especially going through Porlock. 😅It's a beautiful area though!

The short drive between Lynmouth and Lynton was also quite an experience, luckily the rail was much nicer, I really enjoyed it. Did the touristy thing and bagged the back when we went up.

Are you one of the many who escaped the city life to the countryside after Covid? Hope you're settling down well

I escaped a large town and moved to the coast, decided after experiencing the peace and quiet of lockdown to make it a permanent feature of life. I'm further down into Devon, away from Porlock, that hill coming out of Porlock is an experience, the toll road is definitely preferable!

Way to go post Covid, especially if work permits it. Much nicer quality of life. Btw, do you want to be moved to South West on the Brit list that @steevc maintains?

Also, I noticed you were doing some travel posts a while ago. If you post directly from the haveyoubeenhere community via peakd.com or hive.blog we can drop you a bit more love as OCD supports our community 😉

Slow reply, apologies for that. Yes, I think South West is now the best place to put me.

I'll be resuming my travel posts, as time allows, I've got a lot more opportunity to get out and about now.

I'll check out posting haveyoubeenhere as you suggest, always good to get support where possible :)

Please do check out posting directly from the haveyoubeenhere and pinmapple community on say peakd.com, hive.blog or ecency. For what it's worth, at least you get to keep 100% of your post payout as we don't take any beneficiary cut from you

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

還可以坐在那邊不錯了。換成我,早就腿軟趴著不能動了。還有他那懸崖邊,真的看了都心跳。

其實從路旁趴上石頭也不算高,大概10多尺,掉下這邊也ok,但掉錯另一邊就慘啦!

年輕人就是那麼好,不像我們老人家 😁

It's beautiful @livinguktaiwan.
And a photo on top of the cliff!
Oh, an outdoor/open-air theater! For a minute I thought it was a marker for goats or something, hahaha!

The view is absolutely stunning, and the best thing it wasn't too windy, just a nice breeze, so it was very nice as long as I sat down on the cliff!!

Hehehe, I know the feeling!!! 👍😀😜😘😍

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1283.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I smelled the sea air. What a fun trip that was. How often would you say the sky is blue in Lynmouth? We still look regularly, Lynmouth looks fun.

If you like driving narrow and steep countryside roads this area is great, the road are just crazy, some parts had a 1:4 gradient, i think if i live here, I'd never leave town as its so stressful driving around. But other than that, it's a lovely place

How regularly does it rain would you guess? 1/2 the year? Less, more'ish?

Congrats on the reward. 💖

Good question..... many foreigners say England rains all the time, but in reality it's not that bad, definitely less than half the year. Does seaside towns rains even less because of the cold?

Way to return with a good question. I'm not sure. When we were locked down in Ilkley, in the north, it rained more than anywhere either of us have ever been. At least 5 days a week on average I would guess. But then we could be in London and it doesn't rain all week. And the sun shines too!!

So Pura's regularly shopping properties over there, apartments sometimes, we're both like "open, open, open." I'm down to go wherever she wants but I know she'll have UK as home base.

I just keep pleading please, south.. please south.

If I remember correctly you guys were stranded in UK at the beginning of last year and left bang during the first lockdown? Maybe it's the weather north? (Hope the Brits up north don't come after me 😬)

South is the way to go!!! Though I wqs just speaking to a friend in Edinburgh, apparently it's really nice and sunny now whereas I got showers all weekend outside of London. Weather lottery 🙃

South is the way to go!!

You'll be the first to know if we get there. 💖

That's an interesting place and what I like about it is the green!

That manmade stone wall is interesting. Italy has that too. They are building those walls for stopping animals to go through but also for terracing, to hold the soil from running down or be washed out by water.

I'm glad you enjoyed the day.

Learn something new every day. Thanks for that!

Wow that's an amazing park. I'm impressed with the wall. People must have put a lot of efforts to build it.

This area is just a small part of the park which covers a massive area, so much to see and do, I wish i can spend more time in the region

I see, if I were you, I wouldn't leave it 😁. I wish I can visit it once.

The view is truly breathtaking. Very nice photos. It's very brave to go this far. Goats are cute too. Nice travel post. Thanks for sharing. I'm also looking forward to Lynmouth part.

Thanks for dropping by, I'll have ti start in my Lynmouth post now... 📝

I see quite clearly that I need to visit the country side of England once and not just the citys for football matches and festivals. Awesome!

We'll have to swap countries, i wanna see more of Norway!!

That looks like an amazing hike along the coast. Heights are starting to get to me nowadays, so you're not alone there. It comes and goes for me. That is a really epic shot of your nephew. Very cool

We only had time to do that very small stretch, but apparently you can walk for miles and mile along the coast. I saw it on a TV programme once, it was epic. If I have a chance would love to do some coastal walks there.

As to heights, isn't it great to be young!!

That walk would definitely be epic!
Yeah booooooo to getting old.

Mountains are nice and clearly picture. We go to the mountain to make feel fresh. We have breathe air.

So amazing view, these are the kinds of places that I want to visit.

Hopefully you'll have a chance to come over to UK one day

Thise cliffe would worry me yikes! Looking forward to Lynmouth, looks extremely nice!

Those cliffs are nice to look at, just don't get too near!!! Lynmouth will be up soon!!!

Wow @livinguktaiwan ,those views are so awesome, the air looks so fresh and clean. It looks so green and lush there, love to visit those valleys some day, in the mean time, I will just travel with my eyes with you. Lovely post enjoyed it very much. Thank you for sharing.

I thank you @artywink, so glad you enjoy the virtual trip!

What a breathtaking place!! I bet the wind rages there all the time, so I certainly wouldn't want to get to close to the edge.

The wind wasn't that bad, quite mild actually. Talk of wind raging, I got a video which I will post soon, here's a preview 😊

Incredible place, your photos are very good!!!

Oh amazing post that I have ever read! Thank you for sharing. I wish I could be there once in my life 😊

You never know! Hope you will make it to UK one day!

How come people say it's just an island, right? I'm anxious for this pandemic to go away so I can go back to the UK for more exploration. Have you ever checked the north coast 500?

It's a bigggggg island!! My cousin did the NC500 last month, and he's a great pohotographer, posted some fantastic images on social media.

Hopefully you will get back here soon, and have more luck than last time with your bike. Still can believe it happened on your first night in London

Are you in the UK?
Yeah, I can't believe either hahaha But after living there for a while I saw how terrible London is in regard to bike/motorcycle theft. I'd never seen something like that in Brazil, like bicycle parts hanging from fences after thiefs butchered them.
If I ever go for the NC500 I'll most liely rent or buy another bike there, because, depending on the airliner, they charge 100+ USD to carry a bike.

Yeah, I came back to UK last February, a three month stay turned into 18 months and still counting... Waiting for Taiwan to open up their borders before i can go back....

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Just what we need with covid nowadays, plenty of fresh air and space

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment
 3 years ago  Reveal Comment