The beginning of a new life in New Zealand

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Kia Ora,
It's Teo again. How are you today?

Do you have a stable job or just going around the world like me? Well, I am a jobless man, being more honest, I quitted my job and started living day by day to stay away from stress.

When the first time I began that style of life, I realized that I just have started my real youth, at age of 28, in New Zealand. It was the first day I go far away from my old world.

When I landed in New Zealand, at Auckland airport, I was not myself anymore, no, it is not exactly. It was like being the real of my version. I don't know, whatever...

IMG_20171104_191440.jpeg
Leaving the homeland behind, carrying a symbol of beloved country: a 'nón lá'

Backpacker life
Okay, so my first job in New Zealand was picking strawberries.

IMG_20171109_084715_HDR-EFFECTS.jpeg
A view from the farm

Have you ever experienced picking strawberries? I am not talking about PYO - pick your own. I mean picking fruits for a living. The farm which I worked for was the most famous strawberry farm in Auckland. We were a team of about 10 people. All were young, and all took a "gap year" of life to be a backpacker, and I've already taken 3 years until now.

IMG_20171201_115726_HDR.jpeg
Here is the team

The job started at 7AM and finished around 4PM, 6 days a week, about $800 NZD - $900 NZD per week. We picked in the morning until lunch then packed in the afternoon.

Picking strawberries is not a job for those who taller than 1m7. I had to bend all day and always had back pain for that. You'd know about that if you've experienced that. Laying on ground often happened.

IMG_20171113_110625_HDR.jpeg
Man is down

It was an hourly job, paid at minimum wage in New Zealand. After about 1 month, I've got used to it a little bit, picked faster and less back pain.

IMG_20171215_093657_HDR.jpeg

IMG_20171215_093704_HDR.jpeg
She was my crush on the farm. She now has a family in New Zealand. :((

One day, when the season went to the end, we found another farm bigger in West Auckland, a Maori man owns it. The farm was very huge. Strawberries were grown on mountains. There were more than 100 blocks, each block as big as the above farm.

The farm here pays by contract, many strawberries you pick, more money you get paid. Your job is to pick every fruit that has a little red, all ripen is not required. That why strawberries here were not sweet.

If anyone here has experienced this, comment below and tell me about your story.

And now, photos:

IMG_20171113_133613.jpeg
Fresh strawberry ice cream for pickers

VID_20171209_085921.jpeg

VID_20171209_090251.jpeg
The best strawberries

IMG_20171210_114214_HDR.jpeg
Double cute strawberries

IMG_20171217_124819_HDR.jpeg
Biggest strawberry ever

IMG_20181223_121455.jpeg
Princess Olivia

IMG_20171119_223757_HDR.jpeg
A birthday cake with strawberries

IMG_20171112_173121_HDR.jpeg
I love New Zealand.

Cheers,

Sort:  

Miss the time in NZ buddy ♥️

Woa, the yellow hat.

VID_20171223_060915.jpeg

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1260.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I am now in Australia, 3rd year of backpacker