My second visit to Simala, Shrine Castle Church, Cebu after 13 years.

in Worldmappin3 years ago

IMG_20220218_070905.jpg
Simala, Castle, Church

Way back 13 years ago when I first visited Simala Church I was in my 6th grade and it was just a simple church that was visited by their strong devotees. I went there with my aunt by a minibus sponsored by our local government. We went there like one whole barangay since the transportation is free but after that, I never had a chance to visit it again after 13 years.

Simala Shrine Castle Church

also known as the Miraculous Mama Mary Church - was built in 1998 by the Marian Monks from Pampanga. It used to be an ordinary Church after the incidents of miraculous events. One of which is the shedding of bloody tears of Mother Mary's image.

IMG_20220218_103743.jpg

During our trip to Simala we started our trip from our house at 9 am and we arrived at almost 11 am.

IMG_20220217_141527_1.jpg

Upon arriving we are greeted by locals asking us to park our motorcycles but we decided to park them in the main parking area of the place where you can pay 20-50 pesos per vehicle.

Before entering the place we passed through the security checking our bags and made sure if were wearing the appropriate dress code with No ENTRANCE FEE.

IMG_20220217_131955_1.jpg

When you entered the place you can see this area where you can light a candle not just for the souls but also for many reasons and whatever reason you want to ask for you can purchase a candle for 35 pesos each or 3 pieces for 100 pesos.

IMG_20220217_132140_1.jpg

CANDLE COLOUR MEANINGS/SYMBOLS

IMG_20220217_133505.jpg

IMG_20220217_132703_1.jpg

THE SOUVENIR SHOPS

IMG_20220217_132506_1.jpg

IMG_20220217_132237_1.jpg

which sells rosaries, crucifix, prayer books and Jesus and Mother Marys statues.

IMG_20220217_141334.jpg

healing oils

IMG_20220217_141330.jpg

keychains and more rosaries
IMG_20220217_132206_1.jpg

After roaming around and deciding which souvenir I'll buy I also give a small donation and exchange for a mass offer for my departed loved ones and a thanksgiving message to the miraculous Virgin Mary. Later on, we lighted the candle we bought and made a prayer and see other miraculous replicas.

IMG_20220219_185054.jpg

Next is that we went upstairs to glimpse the beauty of Simala Shrine but then our mistake not to know the church advisory before coming. We are not allowed to go further because most of the church parts are under construction and you know we were just hit by the strong typhoon. So I just took photos where we can stay and have some selfies.

IMG_20220220_104611.jpg

IMG_20220217_141000.jpg

Unluckily I can't show more of how miraculous this Virgin Mary is. Supposedly at the opposite side of the castle was those miracle proofs that happened to those granted ones.

IMG_20220217_140254.jpg

I also relish the moment while site seeing the surrounding. I admit that over the years the church makes a very big improvement and I wonder why I never decided to go back here maybe because I was bothered about the expenses and efforts that I could spend if I went here because if I go here with a bus I spend for bus fare and go down to ride a habal-habal (motorcycle) again just to reach Simala and repeat going back home.

IMG_20220217_140803.jpg

Even though we only spend a few hours and enjoyed a few parts of the church, one thing for sure is that I always have faith in Her and I'm willing to go back here soon and when everything here is finished.

IMG_20220217_140258.jpg

Later on, we decided to head back because we don't want to take a ride on a dark road going home. We left the area and headed to the parking lot and paid the parking fee.

Thankfully we all arrive home safely.

Just a friendly advice if you planning to visit this place make sure to read the church advisory, bring your food and pay 250 pesos for the dining area or you just eat somewhere before travelling here, wear proper clothes and know that this place is active for worship so act appropriately.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

the place is so beautiful and it's the first time I heard about this church. Hope I can visit Cebu again and will definitely check this place

Thank you. Let me know if you can come here soon.

I'll keep in touch if ever ... have to plan it first :)

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1481.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: