Pantai Batu Mejan - Amazing Surf Side Beach Bars

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Traveling.png

Exploring Pantai Batu Mejan

4 years ago, I first discovered Canggu during my trip to Bali alone for the first time. It was my soul searching period where I explored the place with my former roommate. We enjoyed it and I was still idealizing the digital nomad lifestyle, a dream that was sold to me; working from the beach and the cliche sipping margaritas. So, canggu was one of the place where I worked from the beach. During that time, I visited a place called Othree Bar, it was just a random place that I found because I wanted to eat and also do some work. Apparently, you can not work near the beach because first, it is too crowded, and second the wifi reception is pretty bad. Just as I mentioned in An Honest Reflection of Living On The Road

I did, I worked from the beach. It was not as glamorous as it looks, especially struggling with the internet connection and distractions.

DSC04224.JPG

What to see

That time, I was not able to enjoy the place or even the scenery around me but today, I kinda did. I didn’t even open my laptop, nothing. I was just enjoying the waves that reminded me of the song with the same title. There are many beaches around Canggu, depending on how you like it. One thing to note, Canggu is a prime spot for surfing. The waves are nice and also quite challenging. But not only that, there are many beach shacks around with local food that you can try while watching people surf.

DSC04209.JPG

DSC04216.JPG

DSC04213.JPG

DSC04215.JPG

Around Canggu, there are also places where you can enjoy the beach club which often costs quite a bit for an Indonesian like me. But if you enjoy taking pictures for the gram, it’s really recommended that you try checking out and if you have the means to. In the past, I didn’t know that the beach I was visiting was called Pantai Batu Mejan but only these days, I know that the place is called Pantai Batu Mejan because along the street, it’s also called that way. Around Pantai batu mejan there is also a small balinese temple or the locals call it “pura”. To get into the area of the beach, you have to get down some stairs and also walk along the rocks to reach the cafes and places by the beach. But I promise, the stairs and the short walk are going to be worth it when you can chill by the beach and be greeted by the friendly dogs around.

DSC04256.JPG

DSC04217.JPG

DSC04220.JPG

Where to eat

There are many foods to choose from here and depending on your taste. But I came back to the same spot, othree beach bar. Their curry left an impression on me in the past. So, I came back after 4 years just to eat their curry again. This time, I was also accompanied by @ekavieka. It was like a mini hiver meetup which was really fun. In the past, I also met with other hivers in this area, I think it was othree, if not was another beach bar. Other than othree, I also ordered something from Kaemon, a place that serves Japanese food. Both were reasonably priced and tasted delicious. In Bali, it's hard not to find a place that sells delicious food.

DSC04237.JPG

DSC04234.JPG

Local Culture

For me, I am mostly curious about Balinese way of living which I learned a great deal today. Some of my curiosity was answered and now, if anyone asks me things about it, at least I know what to answer. Something to note when visiting Bali is that you should not intentionally step on the offerings. It’s always best to carefully watch your steps when you see offerings like this one below. However, another thing I learned is that people can actually take the offerings if it’s already sometime and not fresh. The offerings have many things and sometimes you can even snacks or money.

DSC04292.JPG

More Things To See

From pantai batu mejan, we could also see the Pererenan area and the beach. If you like walking, you can actually explore different beaches around.

DSC04255.JPG

A statue around perenenan beach

In pantai batu mejan, the most known beach club is called la brisa. It is a pirate and shipwrecked themed beach club. Today, I was just checking it from outside but in the past, I managed to get into the area. But yesterday, I was only checking out the outside part.

DSC04280.JPG

DSC04278.JPG

DSC04277.JPG

After checking out around la brisa, I took some more pictures that was the way to the street. There were plenty of people just sitting and enjoying the waves. I also took the picture of the path that I walked through before getting into the beach.

DSC04291.JPG

DSC04289.JPG

DSC04281.JPG

On the parking lot, there is a pura batu mejan which isn't open for public. So, I could only take pictures from outside of it.

DSC04294.JPG

DSC04296.JPG

It was my first day to the beach despite living quite nearby. I really enjoyed it and would love to go back exploring the area and also eating accompanied by the friendly dogs. If you are in canggu, I definitely recommend checking out this area before the others.

Gallery of pictures

DSC04276.JPG

DSC04262.JPG

DSC04252.JPG

DSC04245.JPG

DSC04218.JPG

DSC04224.JPG

DSC04239.JPG

DSC04263.JPG

DSC04221.JPG

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this !


image.pngMac is a jack of all trades. A typical introvert in love with literature, books, technology and philosophy. She is also so into nootropics, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than that, she is passionate about cooking and traveling. In her free time, she enjoys learning various things. If you like her content, don't hesitate to upvote, leave a comment or a feedback. A re-blog is also appreciated.
Sort:  

you continue to go hunting yesterday?
well things were a bit unexpected yesterday cem, so sorry have to cut short the meeting and cancel the photo hunting.
but we will do it next time, before you leave Bali or after you finally settling in bali. : )

Thanks for the experience and also the knowledge you have shared to me.

No worries! we'll have fun hunting some more the next time. I am bit settled in Bali TBH 😂 proof : I am eating cup noodles breakfast from mini mart 6k, hot water included 🤣🤣 instead going to the cafe for the pricier options haha


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, wow, wow. How I wish to have a water body like this closeby in my country. Atleast I'd have known how to swim.
@macchiata I love the way you did justice to taking the pictures, now I have a full view of this place in my head.

The place is great but sadly, I don't like salt water. So, no swimming for me 😃 don't you have coastal region in your country?

Actually there are coastal regions in my country but they are quite far from where I reside..