You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wat Maha That in Ayutthaya: A Temple. NOT an Abandoned Brickworks!

in Pinmapple2 years ago

As soon as I saw this, I already guess it's a lowland ancient temple. From what I understand, ancient lowland temples are often made of/dominated with laterite and bricks instead of stones. This is because the availability of materials where around mountain, it's easier for them to find stones whereas in lowland or nearby river, it's much easier to create these bricks (terracota). What I find interesting is the depiction of the statues that has different shapes and facial expression that the ones we have here.

but I wonder how those bricks were stacked together. If in Indonesia, the bricks were stacked by giving water and then rub them together but that one looks like cemented, perhaps that was also the work from the reservation?

I was thinking to do cambodia just to continue the temple trail from my last year adventure but Thailand temples are captivating too and certainly there's more story behind it😆. ALSO, I wonder if I could pass looking like a thai as long as I don't speak🤣 that way I can save up on those 50bath.

Fun fact, I recently visited a resort that tries to mimic ancient architecture with bricks just last week.
DSC06969.JPG

Sort:  

Wow. I was right, you are the expert. Thanks for the lowdown, makes complete sense about the geography and building materials. I think some of the renovations included a dab of cement here and there. Youd love it here, really and yes, keep your mask on, throw 15baht at them and say khop khun ka and youd in like a local ;-)

Take care Mac and thanks :-)

Do they offer official guides around the area too? When I went to do these temple trips, I often go with guides but always told them to skip on the folktales and the myths. So, they would show and tell me fun things like how to distinguish the restoration between the actual compound. These temples are quite fragile and even now, Indonesian govt is restricting visitors into these places and charge hefty amount just to visit them.