The New Normal of Amusement Arcade | Fun Workout at Game Fantasia

in Pinmapple3 years ago

20210121_142813.jpg

Line_Break2.png

An amusement arcade is a standard entertainment for urban life in Indonesia. The venue is located inside a shopping mall or adjacent to it. The demographic visitor ranges from children to adults as the place offers various games friendly for all ages. The area often has a theme, but some have a generic one, such as the one I visited today called Game Fantasia.

During the pandemic, the amusement arcade game has to close their place following the mall regulation. However, as the mall started to operate within the new normal, arcade game is open to the public again.

The nature of the amusement arcade game is an excellent place for the coronavirus to spread. The game slots and machines are often touched and used by more than a hundred people a day. It can be categorized in a high-risk level to catch the virus. Many articles, especially in the US, mentioned that this pandemic can end the amusement arcade game industry. Perhaps that is not far from the truth because today, sampling for this particular place in Indonesia seems that the area is unusually quiet.

I decided to visit Game Fantasia because I want to check out what's in there. I am a fan of arcade games, and I have not been to this particular place. I asked my cousin if he has the card, and he said yes.

Game Fantasia is an amusement arcade game venue that is available in several provinces in Java. This place is a medium-sized arcade game area offering plenty of machines and a dedicated spot for toddlers.

Line_Break2.png

As my cousin and I entered the place, we were greeted by a staff who checked our temperature. Before that, we had to wash our hands. Then, my cousin and I went to the counter to top-up his card for 35,000IDR, which is about 2.5$.

20210121_144616.jpg20210121_142813.jpgarcade3.jpg

The price of games here is 3,000 to 5,000 being the highest. There are basketball rings, pinball machines, bingo machines, sega machines, and plenty of arcade games machines filled with gifts. Not only arcade machines, but there is also a small spot dedicated to baby care.

arcade4.jpgarcade5.jpgarcade6.jpg

Inside the place, we were asked to always wear the mask. My cousin and I played basketball for 5 rounds and the bingo machines couple of times.

I was slightly paranoid of the place, so I keep sanitizing my hands a lot while playing inside the area.

When I was a child, I visited many amusement arcade games, and my parents find it hard to bring me home. It never changes. I really love being inside an arcade game because it is filled with adrenaline and serotonin sources that will keep me happy for a while. Today, I was reminded of my more joyful times.

But yes, I don't forget to follow my own instruction on how to be vigilant traveling during covid19. I think it should be noted that safety comes first especially if you live with elder people with complications.

The highlight of our visit is the basketball ring.

My cousin and I played several rounds because this machine cost 2,500/2sets. That is the cheapest that I spotted in the venue.

arcade7.jpg

Line_Break2.png

I think the future of the arcade is going to be quite interesting post-pandemic. It should be noted for the managers of these places to ensure the safety of their visitors. Otherwise, it would hardly stay afloat considering the nature of this venue.

We should be able to have fun but always stay vigilant. Also, arcade games make urban living much more bearable even during the pandemic. Since essentially, it is part of urban living entertainment aside from city park or shopping malls themselves.

Line_Break2.png

~ Mac

Line_Break2.png

Mac covers technology, philosophy, nootropics, books, productivity, minimalist lifestyle, cybersecurity, and languages. Other than those, she is passionate about cooking and travel. In her free time, Mac enjoys learning art and exploring new hobbies.
Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Take me there

come here ;p

What's the closest airport?

Changi aiport.

Singapore Changi Airport?