On the road

in Worldmappin8 months ago

Good day everyone, I hope all is going well for each one of you who is reading this. Here at home rainy season is coming to and end but we just go hit by a storm so it has been unusually gloomy and rainy. On this post I want to share some shots I captured on a recent trip where we where detoured and a 9 hour trip became 16 hours 😅😌. We were traveling from Lake Atitlan in Guatemala towards Chiapas in Mexico. I have to admit that although it took longer than expected I enjoyed the ride, especially the sights. I love looking out the window and contemplating nature, architecture, people and all the sights that you are offered when on the road. Here are some of my sights... enjoy🤗

The inside of our van
The inside of our van

You can see the rear view mirror decorated with religious symbols. Although it may not be the first thing that comes to your mind, driving can be a risky and lonely job. On the road drivers face the darkness of the night, car repairs, vandals and the possibility of causing or being caught in a car wreck. They never know for sure of they will be returning home. It is very usual in Latin America for drivers to place in their vehicles religious symbols and good omen talismans to protect them while they go on the road.

The geography of the landscape was fairly flat with mountains far on the horizon. As in Guatemala in the south of Mexico and if I am not mistaken in all of Mexico, corn crops are predominant. It is not for nothing that we, the Mayans, are known as people of corn. Watching the sunset turn into night is also a gift that we rarely get the chance to appreciate and this trip gave me that opportunity.

A local pharmacy. As I mentioned before I delight in observing everything and among all is the architecture of each place. In this particular part of the earth we enjoy color a great deal. You can see that by observing our cemeteries, the towns and businesses, too. Also we enjoy customizing and adding a bit of humor to our facades, being that of a home our our family owned business. Here you can observe the dolphin on the right and he is voicing out a slogan promoting the medicine sold at this drugstore.


I look forward to this journey and want to say an anticipated "thank you" for supporting my content. I hope to meet more travelers and people with similar interest for photography and travel on TravelFeed. Keep having a beautiful rest of your day and expect to hear from me again...
Cat 😀

View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Congratulations @madrenyx! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍 Your post was also chosen as top pick of the day and is now featured on the TravelFeed.io front page.

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@for91days (TravelFeed team)

PS: Did you know that we recently launched the truvvl app? With truvvl, you can create travel stories on the go from your phone and swipe through nearby stories from other TravelFeed users. It is available on the Apple App Store and Google Play.

Oh my! Thanks for the support and for such a warm welcome. I am so happy to be featured on the front page🤗😎

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello @pinmapple. Thanks a lot for sharing my post and further amplifying it. I am still exploring all the platforms on here and soon will get a hold on how to go about in more and more spaces

I like the picture inside the van :⁠-⁠)

Hi @mysteriousroad. I am glad you liked the pictures I have more to share and hope that you will continue to enjoy them

Wow, I loved the photos 📸 Thanks for sharing 😃

Yay! It makes me glad to share my work and have people receive it in such a kind and loving way.

Congratulations @madrenyx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the October PUM Winners
Feedback from the November Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - October 2023 Winners List

Thanks!

That's great @madrenyx! You're doing a great job on Hive! We keep cheering you on for your next goal!