Mt. Talinis: Back on the trail for more thrill

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Hello, Hive!

The winds of May have finally blew our way. But before I celebrate this sweet month of flowers — and fiestas on my side of the Earth — I’d like to share with you an amazing April-ender climb I had with my friends.

Those who have been following my blog knows that I've been looking forward to this trip. In fact, in excitement, I even decided to re-live my first Mt. Talinis climb in a post. It was only a two-days-one-night climb following the Apolong-Apolong trail. The experience back then was a different kind of thrill. Aside from the fact that it is the second longest route, the pressure of reaching the summit within the day was on. We did succeed and witnessed the rare “clearing” at the peak but, in our haste, I felt that we missed a lot of things.

That’s why I told myself that I will definitely return to this mountain one day. And that’s what this post is all about.

Mt. Talinis, the second time around

Love is sweeter the second time around, they say. But I do believe that getting a second chance at love (of any kind) is one thing. Making it a better one — now that’s the trick.

My second affair with Mt. Talinis is a three-days-two-nights climb via Apolong-Panghilakan Trail. The event was organized by France of fv-photography who gathered 13 people for the climb. Aside from James, Kim, Alton and Ate Yen, and Gio whom I’ve climbed with in Mt. Madjaas, the rest of the gang were strangers to me. It was exciting and worrying at the same time. Exciting because I’ll be meeting new faces with new stories for me to hear. Worrying because I haven’t been properly practicing and I fear that I’ll be left on the trails. HAHA!

Anyway, I found that they were all fun and chill people. So let’s talk about the trail.

The Apolong Trail

It was 6:35 when we started the hike from the jump-off area. Our group was divided into two with James, Alton, Kim, Rhalf, Ate Yen and I in the first group, and France, Gio, Keight, Jive, Raych, Steven and Ram in the second group. As the map shows below, the initial part of the trail is actually the toughest since it’s a continuous ascent on a steep hill. However, once we made it through 1100 masl, what followed was an easy hike on rolling hills.

Apolong Trail is well canopied by trees so the heat was bearable throughout our hike. Unlike my first Mt. Talinis climb, there was no rush this time so I got to appreaciate the surroundings.

After an hour, we reached a spot where one of Mt. Talinis’ many waterfalls is visible. Lubas Falls is a horsetail waterfall surrounded by dense woods and shrubs. Even from afar, one can hear its loud roar and I wished there was a way for us to get closer to it. Hmm, maybe next time?

A few minutes later, we stopped by the viewdeck where we got to lay our heavy bags for the first time. This was one of the many things I missed during my first climb. The chance to rest longer, look around, and feast my eyes with nature’s many wonders.


We then proceeded with the hike after a breather and, by 9 AM, we reached a shallow river which indicated that we were getting closer to our next stop.

The Ranger Station

Ranger station took only 30 minutes of hike through a descending trail. From what I know, the guard house was managed by men who took turn every 15 days in looking after the pipes that supply water to the lowlands.

When we arrived, the first thing that greeted us was a group of cute cats and their meows. There were three of them — each with different eye color from ocher, green, to blue.

We rested here for almost an hour before my friends and I decided to head to the nearby waterfalls while waiting for the second group to arrive.

The Twin Falls

The trek along the river bank was very short and would somewhat remind you of Cebu's Budlaan Trail with its boulders. After three minutes, we finally got a glimpse of Mt. Talinis’ Twin Falls.


To visit these falls was my first reason of wanting to climb Mt. Talinis again. I didn’t get to see it before due to heavy rain so I was happy that we were blessed with a great weather this time.

The main waterfall was just as beautiful as what most people see in pictures online. I found its dark rocky ledge particularly interesting as it added to the cascade’s appeal. One can’t help but stare at it for a long time and take a lot photos — which we all did.

Its “twin” is a smaller waterfall located on the right side. The plunging water here is not as strong and wide. But it’s just as cold as the main falls. My friends and I climbed up to the upper section of the falls to get a free massage from nature.


After a well-deserved dip in the cold waters, we decided to trace our way back to the ranger station. The second group has arrived by then and after lunch, they went to see the Twin Falls too.

By 3 PM, the team decided to continue the hike to the campsite which was just 30 minutes away.

The Rancho Campsite

Rancho is an open area that is perfect when you’re camping with a large group. It is wide enough to accommodate a number of tents and is mostly grassy which is a relief for your aching backs. The availability of water source also made it convenient for campers who want to cook or refill their bottles.

Being the first group to arrive, my friends and I decided to go straight to the nearby Kaipuhan Sulfur Vents to see how it looks during sunset. It's an extraordinary place which I believe deserves a separate post of its own. Next time I'll show you why it made us feel like we entered a surreal world. 😁

You also can check parts 2 and 3 of our Mt. Talinis escapade below:

Mt. Talinis: Exploring its triple treat of delight
Mt. Talinis: Adventures and misadventures, and my first taste of Panghilakan Trail


Maria is a hopeless romantic who travels in pages and places. She is an INFP who loves sunrises and moonlight nights and reading books in between. On weekdays, she works for a self-publishing company as a copywriter. On weekends, she lives for life as a poet or hiker. She hopes to share her love for words and the world with you here on HIVE.

If you like this content, don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to show some love. You can also reblog if you want. Connect with here through PeakD, Tiktok, or Instagram. 🤍

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @mariasalve! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 400 comments.
Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the April PUM Winners
Feedback from the May Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

This place is so beautiful

It is indeed. Glad you liked it 😁

wow finally naka twin falls na haha, looking at the pictures makamingaw pero kapoy naman hahahah

As innn! Maka happy jud ang Twin Falls. Haha ayaw kapoy2x sir arc kay mailhan imong pagka tito. Dagat nya ta sunod ninyo 😁

dagat na dayun please haha

again you and another good article. nice tour. : )

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the read 😁

Hello @mariasalve
Reading your post and looking at the phots I can say you sure had a great time.
Another way of having a great time is by way of joining and winning the current $10000 quest that is on for all hive users .
It is super easy to join .

I invite you to join the $10000 Leo threads quest that is a big opportunity for all hive users .
You can join it here
Once you join think about what all you could be doing with the extra $10000

image.png
You can read about the steps involved to join the quest here
Do let me know in case you need any assistance in this regard

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1868.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Wow! Thank you ☺️

Sarap magbabad sa falls, lalo na ngayong summer hehe

Trueeee! Tag-init is real hehe

Worth it ang pagod. The beauty of nature is so beautiful. So relaxing to see this kind of view after a series of walks.

Mapapasigaw ka tagala ng DESERVE. 😁

Tama. 😊

I love those place. I wish to be there someday. What a nice adventure ❤️😁😁

Making adventure in trail is always exiting. I love to visit such kind of place.

the first thing that greeted us was a group of cute cats and their meows

Those cat are looking very cute. I think they were waiting for your to say hi😅.

I visited in a waterfall in our country which seems almost similar to yours shared one.

All the photographs were well captured and thank you for sharing your experience here🙂.

The cats were really cute and, yes, they love the attention they're getting from the hikers. Glad you enjoyed our little adventure. Thanks for reading!

I can feel the fresh and cool air, the lively sound of the forest. It's moist and full of life.

Nature at its best 🍃

~~~ embed:1653774229035438082?t=Fhj0maC9u-u3wkAGDiUQYw&s=19 twitter metadata:dG9wem9uZTIwMTB8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vdG9wem9uZTIwMTAvc3RhdHVzLzE2NTM3NzQyMjkwMzU0MzgwODJ8 ~~~

That 2nd photo of the miming is sokyot! Talinis really is great especially if it’s a chill hike. Like dli magdali2x ba haha. I didn’t know there’s a lot of falls in Talinis until now. Great post!