Unveiling my overall experience of the Japan like Bamboo Forest

in Worldmappin24 days ago
Hello, dearest people here on Hive. Travel here, and I'm going to share with you my experience with Japan, like bamboo forests, ever since they were discovered until today.

Photo edited in CANVA
The one wearing the Kimono is my cousin


I have been to the bamboo forest for the past few years. Specifically six times in a row in different years. So I can tell whether the place improved or not. If I can't tell you the entrance fee, the first time I got there, it was only ten pesos, and now it is already 30 pesos.

In Kyoto, Japan, there is this place called the famous Arashiyama Bamboo Forest, It is a popular sightseeing spot where wailing bamboo branches are ideal for a soothing getaway into nature.

Photo from jrailpass.com


But the problem is that in the Philippines, it's costly to experience the Arashiyama Bamboo Forest. As a fanatic of the famous anime with origins in Japan, we can see some of the animated bamboo forest scenes. But do not worry so much because here in the northern part of Cebu, you will get a chance to experience the magic Japan feels in Brgy. Luy-a, Medellin, Northern Cebu.

Photo from Brian Austin Cartin


It was during the pandemic that the bamboo forest in barangay Luy-a Medellin, Cebu, was discovered, as I have stated in my previous blogs.

A few facts about the bamboo forest. So, the bamboos are planted not to become tourist attractions. Before we got to the forest, we first got through a banana plantation, and it was rumored that bamboo was planted to become the foundation of those bananas, as we all know that bananas are easy to bend down, especially if they bear fruit. But sadly, at this moment, I can no longer take a glance at those bananas.
When it's still newly discovered and just pure bamboo. It was posted on the internet. The place was very dreamy, and the countryside vibe is also there since it is located in the countryside. A place where you can find peace of mind. We got there using only a bicycle. It was far, and I did lose tons of sweat that time. I was with my friend and boyfriend on my team, Suksuk Squad. As you would notice, the bamboos look so healthy and green, with no signs of vandalism. The surroundings still have wild plants in the corner.



When the place was slowly discovered, the management was thinking of some ways to make it more catchy. The first time I was there, they put some bamboo benches in some of its corners. And the entrance fee at that time was only 10 pesos. The road wasn't that good; it was still bumpy at that time; there was no gate and such, just pure bamboo and benches. The second time I got there with my family, I discovered some finished and unfinished food stalls were starting to be built. The area was just starting to innovate; the entrance fee was twenty pesos, and the forest already had a front gate. I wasn't that excited since I already got there for the reason that the place wasn't that new to my sight anymore.

Demoral Family goes to Bamboo Forest


The third time I got there was when I tour Ate Maddy around the North and introduced her to the bamboo first since she was also a natural type of person. Up until getting there, she's not familiar with the whole Medellin, so I just navigate which way is it. When we got there, the road was already cemented and the store was already operating as well. The one store that catches my attention is the one that will welcome you. Called the Coffee Bar, it is a café that offers a variety of snacks and drinks.


We ordered frappes and burgers. Since Ate Maddy is a fan of nature outside cafes, she did love the place. Hence, when I got to take a bite of their burger, I wasn't that satisfied because it was so dry and the cheese wasn't melted, but their lettuce was fresh. The patty was warm, and the chips weren't that good either. I did not finish eating it. But Ate Maddy is loving the scenery, so I guess it is still okay. We decided to enter the bamboo forest since the coffee bar is located outside of it. As I got there for the third time, they already had the prayer garden, which looked like a chapel.


They have some chairs and tables. At the side of the bamboo forest, which is specifically the back of the coffee bar, there are fish ponds. Which is also very nice to see. Out of curiosity at that time, we drove inside, but we asked if we could get there, and they said yes. The weather was hot, but curiously, it was strong.


Fishpond view


I discovered that at the back of the bamboo forest, there was an elementary school, I thought it was already a dead end, but there were houses and the fishpond was wide, but it smelled awful because of the unknown mud. As we take another step, we can already see from afar the sea. And it was really amazing.

Photos during my fourth visit


The fourth time is when I tour my aunt in the bamboo forest.


The Bamboo Forest Aisle


The recent one is when me and my groupmates decided to visit the place for assessment. As a sustainable tourism professional, we have been studying things about environmental attractions and how to sustain their natural landscape, as well as analyzing things that will help the place flourish. Every time I get there, I can say that they are improving; hence, it has added me to the part where, in my opinion, the management wasn't that attentive to sustaining the natural beauty of the forest. They focused on building and building things, and when I got there, the bamboo looked so sad and unhealthy.

Vandalism is very visible on the body of the bamboos, so tourists, please be kind to the bamboos; they are also fragile like us. I am glad that the management took action, and the one caught doing the act will pay 500 pesos. The gate also improved.

1716531342481.jpg

You can also rent traditional Japanese clothes to complete the Japanese feel experience. Bamboo forests, as we know, continue to get known among tourists. And makes the tourist feel relaxed with the scenery, especially during this day when the heat index in the Philippines is at 40 degrees Celsius, whereas the normal human body temperature is 37 degrees Celsius.

Below the Prayer Garden is a fish pond with Koi Fishes.

I don't know much about bamboo, but I hope the management will take really good care of them. Thank you so much for being with me as I look back on all my experiences in the bamboo forest.

-J

Adios, Hivers!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Medellin's Bamboo Forest is one of my to-go lists. I want to visit there soon. It's just a short trip from our home in the province. Thanks for sharing this magnificent experience with us, @mariejeijeim! 🫶

You must visit this place when you have time you'll be amaze for sure.

I haven't been to bamboo forest, thank you for giving as a glimpse of its beauty!❤️✨

You're very much more welcome, thank you for passing by.

Bamboo Forest is really famous. Remember when we thought there would be less to NO people, but when we got there, we were surprised with the number of people visiting the destination. It really has a great potential. It’s just that it lacks maintenance. I hope improvements will be done soon in that beautiful destination. 💚

The same perspective about the improvements as well as not focusing on sustaining the main landscape of those bamboos.

No doubt dearest friend Your experience in the bamboo forest sounds really amazing I felt like I was right there with you, smelling the fresh air and hearing the rustle of the leaves. It would be awesome to come to places like this

I'm glad you have already thought about being there.

Absolutely, dearest friend

The bamboo forest in Medellin Ma'am @mariejeijeim almost the same with the Bamboo forest in Japan

Its cool that it improves every year, but I hope they still keep the bamboos as alive as the first time. And that Vandalism, whoa, some people are just cruel. They are slowly destroying it's beauty by doing that. It's saddening that some visitor has no discipline. Aguy na.

Anyways the place really is stunning, how I wish I can also visit that place someday.

It upset me seeing those vandalism and You surely will. Thank you!

Congratulations @mariejeijeim! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 6000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Hi thank you for this @hivebuzz

That's great @mariejeijeim! We're excited to see your accomplishments on Hive! We'll continue to support you to achieve your next goals!

BTW, we noticed we miss your support for our proposal. Mays we ask you to check it out and consider supporting it?
All you need to do is to click on the "support" button on this page: https://peakd.com/proposals/248.
Thank you!

Thank you for sharing your experiences of the bamboo forest in Cebu ate @mariejeijeim!🥰 It's fascinating to see how the place has evolved over the years and how it's now a popular attraction. Your insights on sustainable tourism are very valuable, and I hope the management continues to balance development with preserving the natural beauty of the forest. Looking forward to more of your travel stories!💗

Hello, thank you so much for loving my travel stories.

Your photos are definitely beautiful and they capture the beauty of the place.