(ENG/ESP) Ecuador: My hike to Quilotoa Lake / Ecuador: Mi caminata a la Laguna de Quilotoa

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Polish_20221029_164940801.jpg


After having worked as a volunteer at a wildlife conservation project, my feet start getting itchy, which stands for: I feel an urge to hit the road again! I make a brief research on the mountain trails of the region and without giving it a lot of thought, I take a pick: The popular Quilotoa Loop. Fun fact: the so called Quilotoa loop isn't an actual loop! It's a 38-km-long linear hike through the Andes mountains, starting off at Sigchos and finishing at Quilotoa village.

Después de haber trabajado como voluntaria en un proyecto de conservación de la vida silvestre, me empiezan a picar los pies, lo que significa: Siento la necesidad de ponerme en camino otra vez! Hago una breve investigación sobre los senderos de montaña de la area y sin pensarlo mucho, escojo el sendero popular de La Laguna de Quilotoa. Es una caminata lineal de 38 km a través de la cordillera de los Andes, comenzando en Sigchos y terminando en el pueblo de Quilotoa.

I pack my essential hiking equipment and I start making my way from the jungle to the highlands! Long bus rides lead me to the scenic village of Sigchos, where I have to dispose of some weight; Hiking with a 20kg backpack ain't a good idea. I ask around several hostels until one accepts to keep a couple of my bags for a few days. The room where they stored the bags wasn't even locked, my things could easily be stolen but they were only clothes so I thought I could afford losing them in the worst case scenario. After all heeeey this is Ecuador! you constantly run the risk of getting robbed or having your stuff stolen (for example from the bus luggage compartment - that's my biggest fear). Be it as it may, I leave my concerns behind, and I start walking onto dusty mountain paths!

Empaco mi equipo esencial de senderismo y comienzo mi recorrido desde la selva hasta las tierras altas! Después de largos viajes en autobús llego al pintoresco pueblo de Sigchos, donde tengo que deshacerme de peso; Hacer senderismo con una mochila de 20kg no es una buena idea pa nada. Pregunto a varios hostales hasta que uno acepta guardar un par de bolsas mías por unos días. La habitación donde guardaban las bolsas ni siquiera estaba cerrada con llave, mis cosas podrían ser robadas fácilmente, pero solo eran ropa, así que pensé que podía permitirme perderlas en el peor de los casos. A fin de cuentas eeeey estoy en Ecuador! aquí uno corre constantemente el riesgo de que le roben (por ejemplo, del maletero del autobús, ese es mi mayor miedo). Sea como sea, dejo atrás mis preocupaciones y empiezo a caminar por caminos polvorientos de montaña!

IMG_20221022_232843.jpg


Normally I like trails to be as virgin and immersed in pure Nature as possible; nevertheless I can also enjoy rambling through villages so as to get a glimpse into the rural life of the locals.

Me suele gustar que los senderos sean lo más vírgenes posible - inmersos en la Naturaleza. Sin embargo, también puedo disfrutar paseando por los pueblos para vislumbrar la vida rural de la gente local.

IMG_20221023_003145.jpg

What is more, I fancy having short conversations with people, and I gotta say I adore being called "gringa" : the latin american slang term for foreigner! (despite my dark skin, my fluent spanish and my decent attempts to blend in, apparently I can easily be spotted!).

Lo que es más, disfruto mucho tener conversaciones cortas con la gente, y debo decir que adoro que me llamen "gringa": el término coloquial que se usa en Sudamérica para referirse a una extranjera! (a pesar de mi piel morena, mi español fluido y mis intentos decentes de camuflar mi naturaleza europea, parece que se me ve mi.. naturaleza gringa!).

I walk rather slow for my standards, seizing the opportunity to take beautiful shots.

Camino relativamente lento para mis estándares y así aprovecho de capturar bonitas imágenes.

IMG_20221025_212836.jpg

I love portraits of people who are not familiar with the lens. There's something special about them; there's something genuine in their expressions, and something humble and discreet in their aura. I usually prefer to go unnoticed but sometimes the person's look makes the photograph especially captivating.

Me encantan los retratos de personas que nos son familiarizados con la cámara. Hay algo especial en ellos; hay algo genuino en sus expresiones, y algo humilde y discreto en su aura. Normalmente prefiero pasar desapercibida pero a veces la mirada de la persona hace que la fotografía sea especialmente cautivadora.


I've walked the first 14km when I get to the village of Insilivi. As I always sleep in my tent during my hikes, and as I like to camp as much off grid as possible, I don't make a stop at the village; rather I keep walking. I walk another 4km until I find my secluded camping spot for the night. Far away from civilization, that's the way I like it!

Ya he caminado los primeros 14 km cuando llego al pueblo de Insilivi. Como siempre duermo en mi carpa durante mis caminatas, y como me gusta acampar lo más aislado posible, no hago una parada en el pueblo; más bien sigo caminando. Camino otros 4 km hasta que encuentro un lugar aislado para acampar por la noche. Lejos de la civilización, así es como me gusta!


As the name indicates, the highlight of the trail is the Quilotoa Lake. I wake up super pumped and energised as today is the day! When I arrive to the village of Chugchilán, I realise that I've already walked the first 10km of the day and I only have another 10km left. I gotta say that time flew by so very quickly and before I even realise it, I am there! I have already seen pictures of it, but the real-life views defeat the pictures, big time!!

Como su nombre lo indica, el punto culminante del sendero es el lago Quilotoa. Me despierto super energizada y ilusianda porque hoy es el día! Cuando llego al pueblo de Chugchilán, me doy cuenta que ya he caminado los primeros 10km del día y solo me quedan otros 10km. Debo decir que el tiempo pasó muy rápido y antes de que me diera cuenta, estoy allí! Ya he visto fotos del lago, pero las vistas de la vida real derrotan a las fotos, a lo grande!

IMG_20221022_234035.jpg

To give you some background information, the famous lake is actually a striking volcanic crater filled with esmerald water. Its depth is around 250m and its perimeter is 3km. Allegedly, the colour of the lake varies depending on the season, the sky or even the algae that aggregate on its surface!

Para brindarles información general, el famoso lago es en realidad un sorprendente cráter volcánico lleno de agua color esmeralda. Su profundidad ronda los 250m y su perímetro es de 3km. Supuestamente, el color del lago varía según la estación, el cielo o incluso las algas que se acumulan en su superficie!

IMG_20221026_000933.jpg

Did you know that algae are much like plants, absorbing sunlight and performing photosynthesis?

Sabías que las algas son muy parecidas a las plantas, absorben la luz solar y realizan la fotosíntesis?


In spite of the majestic landscape around me, I start feeling sort of dizzy as the altitude is over 3.900m and my lungs can certainly notice that. Frequent pauses for breathers are highly needed in order for the body to gradually adjust to the decreased barometric pressure. Either way, the degree of gorgeousness is overwhelming thus my eyes request stillness so that they absorb as much beauty as possible!

A pesar del majestuoso paisaje que me rodea, empiezo a sentirme algo mareada ya que la altitud supera los 3.900 y mis pulmones aparentemente pueden notarlo. Las pausas frecuentes para respirar son muy necesarias para que el cuerpo se ajuste gradualmente a la disminución de la presión barométrica. De cualquier manera, el grado de belleza es abrumador, por lo que mis ojos piden quietud para absorber la mayor cantidad de belleza posible!

IMG_20221026_001725.jpg

I wonder whether I've witnessed such electic-blue colours elsewhere. I don't think so.

Me pregunto si he visto ese color azul eléctrico en otro lugar. Creo que no.


The lake seems to be popular among vehicle travellers as well. Nevertheless, none of them has the same plan as I do: spend the night by the lake! By evening time the two little cafeterias shut down for the day, and all visitors start making their way back to their cars and their fancy accommodation! All except for me! Oh how satisfying it is to see people departing one by one, leaving the sandy shore empty and calm.

La laguna parece ser popular entre los viajeros de vehículos también. Sin embargo, ninguno tiene el mismo plan que yo: pasar la noche en la orilla de la laguna! Al anochecer, las dos pequeñas cafeterías cierran por el día y todos los visitantes comienzan a regresar a sus autos y a su lujoso alojamiento. Todos menos yo! Oh, qué satisfacción es ver a la gente partir una a una, dejando la playa arenosa vacía y tranquila.

IMG_20221025_201846.jpg

Private lake for Maria? -oh yeah!!

Laguna privada para Maria? -que sí, que sí!!*

IMG_20221025_202146.jpg


The light of the day is slowly disappearing. The sky is cloudy which means there ain't gonna be a starry starry night. Yet the bubbly sounds coming from the lake compensate for the absence of a starlit sky.

La luz del día está poco a poco desapareciendo. El cielo está nublado, lo que significa que no habrá una noche estrellada. Sin embargo, los sonidos burbujeantes que vienen del lago compensan la ausencia de un cielo estrellado.

IMG_20221026_143839.jpg

In geologically young and active volcanic lakes, gas emissions are manifested as air bubbles traveling from the bottom all the way up to the surface. They can be both seen and heard!

En lagos volcánicos geológicamente jóvenes y activos, las emisiones de gases se manifiestan como burbujas de aire que viajan desde el fondo hasta la superficie. Se pueden ver y escuchar!

The perfect lullaby. Tired and cold, I dive into my sleeping bag quite early.

La canción de cuna perfecta. Cansada y con frío, me sumerjo en mi saco de dormir bastante temprano.


In the morning I get woken up by the beating wings of a hummingbird; how tiny yet how rapid! My tent is covered in humidity. While I wait for it to dry, I feast my eyes on the turquoise paradise laying in front of me. Today the sky is a lot clearer and the reflections on the lake are sharper.

Por la mañana me despierta el aleteo de un colibrí; Qué diminuto pero qué rápido! Mi carpa está cubierta de humedad. Mientras espero a que se seque, deleito mis ojos con el paraíso turquesa que se extiende frente a mí. Hoy el cielo está mucho más claro y los reflejos en la laguna son más nítidos.

IMG_20221026_001931.jpg

I wish I could stay longer but I have to start making my way back. I pack and start walking somewhat faster today - feels like my body got used to the altitude. My intention is to partly walk and partly hitchhike so as to make it back to Sigchos in one day, instead of two. 10km from Quilotoa lays the village of Chugchilán, where I decide to make a stop and try my luck with hitchhiking. The first vehicle that is approaching me from afar is a truck. "Eh, I'll pass" I think to myself. Yet the driver doesn't think likewise: He pulls over and asks me whether I want a lift to the next village. Needless to say, I jumped in right away! There is a little girl in there, probably heading home from school. Besides the girl, there's also two large steel barrels. I look closely and I realise...: I just caught a ride with the village's milk truck!

Ojalá pudiera quedarme más tiempo, pero tengo que empezar a hacer mi camino de regreso. Empaco mis cosas y comienzo a caminar un poco más rápido hoy; parece que mi cuerpo ya se acostumbró a la altitud. Mi intención es en parte caminar y en parte hacer autostop para volver a Sigchos en un día, en lugar de dos. A 10 km de Quilotoa se encuentra el pueblo de Chugchilán, donde decido hacer una pausa y probar suerte con el autostop. El primer vehículo que se me acerca desde lejos es un camión. "Eh, paso" pienso. Sin embargo, el conductor no piensa lo mismo: se detiene y me pregunta si quiero que me lleve al próximo pueblo. Cómo no?! Me monté enseguida! Veo a una chica joven allí, probablemente volviendo a casa de la escuela. Además de la chica, también hay dos grandes barriles de acero. Miro de cerca y me doy cuenta...: Acabo de hacer autostop con el camión de la leche del pueblo!

IMG_20221025_122543.jpg

Dear milkman, if you remember me (the gringa), muchas gracias!

Querido lechero, si te recuerdas de mi (la gringa), muchas gracias!


The rest of my day contained some more walking and another hitchhiking -rather casual this time...! Like so, I make it back the hostel at Sigchos before sunset. And guess what; my bags are there, intact. Good things happen to those who have faith, trust and positivity; bad things are attracted by the negative thinkers. Stay positive folks! And walk your worries away!

El resto de mi día contuvo un poco más de caminata y otro autostop, bastante casual esta vez...! Así, vuelvo al albergue de Sigchos antes del atardecer. Y adivina qué; mis maletas están allí, intactas. A los que tienen fe, confianza y positivismo les pasan cosas buenas; las cosas malas son atraídas por los pensadores negativos. Manténganse positivos amigos! Y acuérdense que Caminando se aprende la vida, como dice el fabuloso Rubén Blades!

IMG_20221026_150341.jpg

La vita è bella


My dear Hivers, thank you so much for reading my adventures. I hope you could travel along through the photos and the storytelling.

Mis queridos Hivers, muchas gracias por leer mis aventuras. Espero que hayan podido viajar a través de las fotos y la narración.


All the photographs are taken by me.

Todas las fotografías son mías.


Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lofone ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wow, such a stunning place and what a story you told us @marilandia! I liked that you shared with us an experience so unique and we could see through your perspective the whole journey from the beginning, meaning the jungle (I'm waiting for more about this jungle in the future 😛) until you met the local milkman from the next village! Thank you for taking us with you and keep up sharing your great stories with us!
!PIZZA
!LUV

I'm so glad you enjoyed my story :) Thanks for the encouraging feedback and stay tuned for more ;)

Congratulations @marilandia! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 200 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 300 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and win your Halloween badge
Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!