Shinjuku - A city whithin the city πŸ‘ΉπŸ£πŸŽŽ Fascinating Japan

in Pinmapple β€’ 3 years ago

279 shinjuku (11).JPG

There are not many places in the world that impress me more than the Japanese capital Tokyo. Since my first visit some time ago I have become addicted to this city, and fortunately I have been lucky enough to indulge my passion a few more times.

Unfortunately, my last visit was quite some time ago, but luckily I still have many pictures in my head and also on my hard drive. And from time to time I try to refresh my memories by looking through my photos, and then I always realize how much I have already seen and experienced in this turbulent city.

Even though I now live in a rather quiet "small town" and almost in the countryside, I am actually a city boy, and street canyons and crowds of people have always attracted and fascinated me. On my last visits however, I have noticed that I now always need some time to get adjusted to my great love, because the difference to my current place of residence is quite enormous.

But then after a few hours I am back in my element and my heart starts to glow again. The sound of the big city is actually music to my ears and the rhythm of the metropolis makes the blood in my veins pump. Between all the skyscrapers, with all the countless people scurrying by everywhere, I just feel at home. So many stories are told here over and over again every day, and there is always something new to discover behind so many corners.

Tokyo is not just one city, Tokyo is made up of many individual cities, each with a different atmosphere. Sometimes more traditional and sometimes more modern, sometimes louder and more colorful then somewhere else more quiet and tranquil. But never boring, wherever you go, there is something to discover and experience, and even for me there are still enough spots I want to see.

Some places of course, I have visited repeatedly and learned to appreciate. One of them is Shinjuku, on the west side of Tokyo's circular Yamanote Line, which is one of those towns in the middle of the big city of Tokyo. Shinjuku is home to a large business district, including the Tokyo Metropolitan Government. But also a large entertainment district, where people turn night into day. And of course countless restaurants and department stores, as shopping is very important in Shinjuku. Actually you do not need to leave Shinjuku station, because this huge transfer hub is firmly connected to the surrounding district with its dozens of entrances and exits, and you can directly move underground from the station to various department stores. A truly impressive labyrinth that must be experienced to understand and comprehend.

Shinjuku is one of the places in which modern Japan is best presented. Peace and quiet rarely occur in this corner of Tokyo, here the city is always humming, and sleep is not a word that people use here too often. But maybe that's why I like Shinjuku, I just enjoy sitting or standing on the side of teh action and watching the hustle and bustle of the city.

And so today I would like to present a selection of pictures from Shinjuku, this colorful and noisy, stimulating and yet also contemplative district of Tokyo. Simply because I liked it there so much and I also wanted to refresh my own memories. I hope I can share with you a little bit of the vibe that always captivates me.

So just sit back and let's take a look together.

279 shinjuku (4).JPG

On the west side of Shinjuku station begins the high-rise district, where many major companies have their headquarters and where work goes on far into the night and the lights in the offices are not extinguished until very late.

279 shinjuku (5).JPG

279 shinjuku (8).JPG

On the other side of the station, the houses aren't quite as tall, but they're not exactly small and low either. And it is very seldom quiet here either, because countless stores are waiting for customers and loudly trying to draw them into their stores.

279 shinjuku (3).JPG

279 shinjuku (7).JPG

Shinjuku Station, and especially the wide streets surrounding the station to the north and south, seem like a sheath separating two parts of the city from each other, yet somehow uniting and holding them together. It takes some time to pass under the station from the east and come back up in the west.

279 shinjuku (9).JPG

It shines and flashes at many corners, countless screens and illuminated displays bombard people all day and half the night. Visual overkill!

279 shinjuku (10).JPG

Sometimes also rather old-fashioned with a simple billboard. But still colorful and loud in a its own unique way.

279 shinjuku (14).JPG

But there are also quiet places in this district, where you can sit down and relax and forget the hustle and bustle around you.

279 shinjuku (15).JPG

Especially in the business district you can find these little oases in the big city, with some green and especially no intrusive advertising around you.

279 shinjuku (16).JPG

And there you can also find the Toujo, the Tokyo Metropolitan Building, where the city government is located and which is also the seat of the governor. At the top of both towers there is an observation deck, from which you have a wonderful and very impressive view over the city. But even the view from below makes for a little respect, in this city that in so many places seems to come across as disrespectful as possible.

But probably I love Tokyo and Shinjuku just for this reason, and can not wait for my next visit there. It will probably have to wait some more time, but my mind is already traveling again and I'm trying to figure out what I still have to see.

That was our little visual trip to Shinjuku. Soon I will introduce you to a few other places in Tokyo, because there is still so much to show from this city. For now, I wish you all a pleasant week....

またね matane



[//]:# (!pinmapple 35.691844 lat 139.700198 long Shinjuku - A city whithin the city d3scr)

Sort: Β 

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

thank you

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @ashikstd & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

cheers!!

@tipu curate

arigatou!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1278.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! πŸŽ‰πŸ₯³πŸ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is a great report thank you