Melton Weir, Melbourne, Australia

in Pinmapple4 years ago

FB_IMG_1598964765073.jpg

Australia is a relatively new country with one of the largest land masses and least populated many of or councils are still bound by open space.

FB_IMG_1598964774166.jpg

The majority of Australian's reside in Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane's population has started to grow also.

FB_IMG_1598964768099.jpg

However in this post we venture west to Melton City Council the former Shire of Melton.

FB_IMG_1598964761532.jpg

Melton is a beautiful place with an abundance of land and only recently discovered by Melbournites as a place to move too.

FB_IMG_1598964770905.jpg
Due to its low population there are still many beautiful places to visit and this beautiful municipality is only 30mins from Melbourne's CBD (outside of peak traffic time)

FB_IMG_1598964777090.jpg

I took my drone out for a spin across the weir and caught some beautiful images.

FB_IMG_1598964780918.jpg

I was fortunate enough to capture people out on their boats and a herd of sheep grazing.

I love this place, far enough away for peace and tranquillity but close enough to be in the hustle and bustle of the city if you need too.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I've been here...Nice little spot.

P.s. I gotta get me a drone. :)

It's beautiful. Are you local to the west? Yes drones are great fun. I've had the same one for around 4yrs now. Need an upgrade but she does the job.

Nah, Adelaide. Close enough to VIC that I've been all over it like corona virus. Lol.

I like gadgets so a drone is something I really want. I've got a few hobbies though and shooting takes up all my cash right now...It's costly. So the drone is on the back-burner. I'll need to drop a hobby to get one I guess but then again it wold come in so handy with the hobbies I do...Off-roading, hiking, camping, shooting etc. I probably need to stop fucking around and just get one. I think even the cheaper versions are pretty good these days, old tech sure, but for a scrubber like me, probably still fine.

Dji Phantom 3 which is what I have you can get for $100 - $200 doesn't have anti crash detection but they have GPS so will hover.

Great for hunting as you can see a head. I've had mine travel 1km away but that was clear line of sight. I typically get 300 meters.

Also you can get fishing attachments to drop lures.

Seems way cheaper than what I expected...Hmm, now you have me thinking. Do these ones track an object? Ah never mind, I'll not be lazy and go and check for myself. :) Thanks for the tip though.

You can make it follow the controller and also follow a perimiter. However new tech you can click on the screen and it will track.

But keep in mind it's not the best unless its a big object and there is line of sight. I don't believe it will predict and if you're using for hunting you might lose what you're looking for.

I was thinking more my 4x4 if I was on a trail somewhere and wanted to capture some action...I'd probably use it more for capturing some scenic shots though. I'm going to take a look and see what I can find.

Can't believe this is only 30 minutes from Melbourne! What a treasure

How long does it take in peak hour? XD

Some great shots! Sometimes I wish I could fly but wings would be thoroughly inconvenient especially now when society isn't built to handle permanently attached wings XD drones are a convenient (if expensive!) proxy at least :)