The watery world of the Tennessee Aquarium

in Pinmapple3 years ago

Digging into my photo archives I came upon some photos I took at the Tennessee Aquarium in Chattanooga, TN.
They were bright and colorful and probably caught my attention because the views outside in Wisconsin are pretty colorless this time of year!

img_0.17940108931405746.jpg

img_0.39641917620917344.jpg

I've visited other aquariums and this is one of the best. It's located on the Tennessee River and has lovely outdoor spaces and an IMAX theater.

img_0.40584841108030906.jpg

img_0.5891724806110556.jpg

The song Chattanooga Choo Choo was featured in the 1941 movie 'Sun Valley Serenade' and was the first song to receive a gold record for selling over a million copies.

Chattanooga Choo Choo

The Aquarium houses close to 10000 animals and is a wonderful place to spend a day.

img_0.04441367895182784.jpg

img_0.1730504144163869.jpg

img_0.32094130942525123.jpg
.
img_0.6658224586814643.jpg

I enjoyed watching the penguins, although it was difficult to take photos due to all the water splashes on the glass.

img_0.4463547248053114.jpg

img_0.9048660024062948.jpg

There are so many creatures here that I would never have an opportunity to view, without a visit to an aquarium.

img_0.730119331714471.jpg

img_0.2641547984064398.jpg

img_0.7142976524517277.jpg

Jellyfish and sea jellies were fascinating to watch.

img_0.0011936770120518781.jpg

img_0.3501993158461455.jpg

img_0.1308773866542292.jpg

img_0.14047891314295025.jpg

img_0.49829484198904234.jpg

I've done a bit of scuba diving and seeing the colorful undersea world recreated in the tanks brought back delightful memories of that silent world.

img_0.30527504850219833.jpg

img_0.6630225699664666.jpg

I hope you enjoyed seeing these colorful photos!

uxeumm.png

Make a shadowy guess in the contest hosted by @eolianpariah!

☀️Guess the Shadow☀️

When you are out Shadow Hunting, remember to go Reflection Hunting and enter @annephilbrick 's contest, too!

Reflection Hunters contest

img_0.3658591587697289.jpg image by @brittandjosie

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!
Supported by @pixresteemer

Sponsored by Ecency

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg



All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, and Ladies of Hive Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.47763679421453786.jpg

image by @brittandjosie


plumes.png

80pli5.png

by @barbara-orenya

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by OCD


plumes.png

Partnered with ARCHON


Comment and earn tokens!

Posted using Ecency Love

Sort:  

I have not been there!
I bet it was wonderful!
The waters are very calming... so quiet...
I love going to aquariums!
Thanks for sharing, @melinda10100!

I've been to a few others, but this one remains a favorite. They are relaxing, calming places and I would imagine now, while they are limiting attendance that it is even more peaceful without the crowds.
!BEER

The closest one to me now is San Francisco, called the Aquarium By The Bay. The main attraction is an underwater tunnel and you can see Sharks, Bat rays, Rock Fish, and Giant Sea Bass!

887px-Sharksofalcatraz.jpg

So beautiful!!!!

It is amazing!!!

I love that! The Audubon Aquarium of the Americas in New Orleans has a walk through tunnel like that and it was magical to walk among the fish!

It pretty much feel underwater, hehehe. So cool, I could stay there the entire day!


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Hello dear friend @ melinda010100 good afternoon
What beauties of photographs, really very colorful, I would love to visit a place like that, here in my province there is nothing like it, there is one in the south of the country, two days away
thank you very much for these beautiful photographs
enjoy the rest of the weekend

If you ever have the opportunity to visit I know you would love it! There are so many fascinating creatures in our world!
!ENGAGE 25

we are waiting for things to return to normal dear friend @ melinda010100, with my wife we have many plans to visit places that we want to know
have a nice afternoon

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Even without me being there the photography is well detailed and very clear. Nice shot

Thank you! It was difficult getting shots through the glass. It often was not very clean or there were reflections that I wanted to avoid.

But the ones you took is superb. I hail thee

I think they still have a Chattanooga train you can still ride through the mountains.

I think you are right. There are lots of tourist attractions in the area.

Very beautiful your photos of the aquarium

Thank you! I'm glad you liked them!

Nice escape into somewhere filled with life you don't see every day, being under water snorkeling was something I enjoyed as well. One quickly forgets the world above lost in the magic beneath the waves.

Thanks for sharing your outing Melinda.

I do enjoy snorkeling, too! The seas are amazing places, and it great to have a place to go to see a sampling of what's down under the waves
!WINE

We have an area close by called Rocky Bay where we used to camp on the beach front and go snorkeling, not as safe as it once was so have not been in a number of years.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 49 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Thanks, Pix!
!BEER


Hey @pixresteemer, here is a little bit of BEER from @melinda010100 for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Yes indeed my family has visited the amazing Tennessee Aquarium on several occasions when we vacationed in the Great Smoky Mountains!

The different species of fish and aquatic creatures are relaxing and therapeutic to watch in the elaborate aquariums and real-life settings.

Which are your favorites @melinda010100
🐠l🦞🐟🦀🐡

I'll bet you had a great time there with your family!

It's been a long time since we were there - fifteen years I'd say. How about you?

6 or 7 years, I think. It was a few years before Jim died.

@tipu curate

Thank you! ♥️

You're welcome, Melinda!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Hey @melinda010100, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

This is a place my grandson will want to be and stay at forever. So magical and beautiful. Never been to one like this so it's like I'm a kid and you're showing me around for the first time. And I'd go look at that! And that! And that! Can we stay here forever? Oh by the way I love that song Chattanooga Choo Choo. Used to play it on the piano before but my arthritic fingers won't allow me to anymore.

Every kid should have an opportunity to visit an aquarium! It is such a marvelous way for all of us to learn and appreciate more of the wonders that exist in our world.
I love Chattanooga Choo Choo, too, and was delighted to find the lyrics between the rails outside the Aquarium. I'm impressed that you were able to play it on the piano!

Pardon me boy, is that the Chattanooga Choo Choo 😀
I still have a piano book - 80 Oscar Award winning movie theme songs and Chattanooga is one of them.

IMG20210321193359.jpg

It was in my wish list to be able to memorize and play all the songs but no can do. Hardly had the time with a family to feed. But those I was able to play, they sure stayed with me upto now.

I would have loved to hear you play it! I hate being forced to give up the things we love as we grow old.
At least we can still sing... When we are alone! 😊

Ha ha ha That is totally true! 😆

beautiful post! the photographs are great. 40 km from where I live There is an aquarium similar to this one. Later I will visit it and then I will show you the photos.

I would love to see photos from your aquarium visit! Be sure and tag me so that I don't miss it!

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Thanks! Our oceans contain such an incredible amount of life!