Exploring A Spanish Town Called Torrox Pueblo in Andalusia

in Pinmapple2 months ago


IMG_20240317_115209.jpg

Greetings dear Hivers! I am back on Hive again after a long pause. As the dawn broke today, it unveiled a breathtaking sunrise, painting the sky with hues of crimson. Inspired by its beauty, I felt compelled to venture out and explore Torrox "Pueblo," our cherished town where we live during winter time.

IMG_20240317_072744.jpg

Residing atop one of the town's hills/mountains, we are presented with two paths to reach the town below. One is a rugged dirt road, while the other is a narrow concrete route. Opting for the latter, I found myself silently making the sign of the cross, hoping to avoid encountering a car ascending in my direction.

IMG_20240311_125550.jpg

The general rule is that if I encounter a car coming up, they should be the one to initiate reversing down since it's typically easier for them. Thankfully, my prayer was answered, and I didn't encounter any vehicles on my journey.

IMG_20240317_132124.jpg

The mountains encircling the town are adorned with lush greenery, and wildflowers grace the roadside with their vibrant blooms. Indeed, the signs of spring are imminent, promising new life and beauty to the landscape.

IMG_20240317_113624.jpg

I parked the car in the parking lot situated just above the football stadium and made my way up to the Plaza, navigating through numerous small, narrow streets. The town's hilly terrain made the ascent a tad taxing, especially for someone of my vintage (hahaha!). Nonetheless, my thirst drove me like a man possessed to reach the plaza and quench it with a refreshing cold drink. The day's temperature had soared to a balmy 22°C, adding to the urgency of my quest.

IMG_20240317_114028.jpg

IMG_20240317_115026.jpg

It was delightful to observe the quaint patios adorning each house I passed, each adorned with a sitting area decorated with blooming plants. It seemed as though there was a friendly competition among residents, vying to create the most charming outdoor spaces under the radiant sun.

IMG_20240317_114216.jpg

The town resembles a maze or labyrinth, and I found myself somewhat disoriented after mistakenly entering an alley that ascended instead of descending downhill. LOL!

IMG_20240317_150049.jpg

IMG_20240317_114434.jpg

My guide had been the roof of the Church since I was seeing it from the top where I was at that moment. At any rate, I was able to reach the Plaza de la Constitucion and it´s where the townhall is located. At this time, the umbrellas fixed at the Plaza were removed when winter started. I am seeing that they are readying them for Summer soon.

IMG_20240317_150426.jpg

Upon reaching the plaza, I purchased a cold bottle of mineral water and a savory minced pie. Settling onto a nearby bench, I savored the simple pleasure of observing the bustling activity unfolding in the heart of the town.

IMG_20240317_121752.jpg

Nestled upon the surrounding hills are towers that link all households, including ours, to the internet through parabolic antennas.

IMG_20240317_122239.jpg

IMG_20240317_122352.jpg

IMG_20240317_131430.jpg

The mountains enveloping Torrox are known as Sierra de Tejeda, Almijara y Alhama. Beyond these peaks lies Granada, along with the majestic Sierra Nevada.

IMG_20240317_124548.jpg

From our vantage point atop the hill, the town stretches out to the left, while the Mediterranean Sea, though not its usual vibrant blue, remains visible despite the overcast sky today. I must say, venturing out to see the town brought me great joy. It truly was a delightful and picturesque Sunday, filled with sublime moments.

Wishing everyone a fantastic week ahead!

xoxo,
Mers

6. GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo
All images are by @mers

Sort:  

I love the patios with colorful flowers.

Hey amiga, I know that you have a beautiful patio too at your house...thanks for dropping by.

I love Spain!

I love Spain too! Thanks for passing by...

I love the houses adorned with beautiful flowers there in Spain. <3

Yes, they are really beautiful, the spanish women love to adorn their patios and walls with flowering plants.

Angel ganda ng lugar na yan.
!BEER

Oh diba Deev. nakakahingal lang umakyat sa Plaza...hahaha

Hahaha, hinay hinay lang

:-)))

Wow! Mga plantita sad diay ni sila. Ug ibog ko sa mga Roses naa sa bintana. Ug ang roads nila kay tiles gyud limpyo tan awon ay. Enjoy reading your blog again about Spain.

Thank you Judy, sobra pagka plantita nila dito...

It is a beautiful city, looking at the houses built on hillsides with classic white paint makes the buildings there look very beautiful, especially there are decorative flowers in front of the houses which make the view of the environment there even more comfortable to look at.

Yeas indeed, the town is really beautiful and has its own charm...thank you for a lovely comment.

It seems like a place where the sun is very present and it also seems like a country that has managed to preserve its traditions

You are right.. the sun is always present here in Southern Spain even after a rain...Thanks for visiting!

I love the place! Reminds me of romantic movies. ☺️

You are right... something like romantic movies of Julia Roberts... hahaha.. thanks for dropping by Met.


Hey @mers, here is a little bit of BEER from @olivia08 for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

Thank you for the beer dear.