Chioggia – Venice's Little Sister

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

By pure coincidence I read an article about Chioggia right the day when I was planning our short trip to northern Italy. From the image I thought they were writing about Venice, and only when I read the title, I realized they were talking about Chioggia. The article and the images captured my attention and I’ve immediately added Chioggia as a stop on our road trip.

Chioggia is located in the southern part of the Venetian lagoon. The city itself is formed from small islands connected by bridges. The landscape is very similar to Venice, with canals, bridges and boats.

A very charming town, a little bit off the beaten path, just right that you avoid the crowds of tourist. It is quite small and for sure one of the cities that you have to discover on foot. Walk along the main street but also enter the canals, and narrow streets with colourful buildings.

We park our car at one of the parking spaces available right on the border of the old town and enter the city from Porta Garibaldi. We made a quick stop at the Chioggia Cathedral and the Refugium Peccatorum.

Then, we’ve taken a walk, or how Italians would say “a passeggiata” along the main street, Coros del Popolo. Very lively street with lot of effervescence, locals and tourist walking, or wondering around on bikes and vespas. We were doing some window shopping and taking a few photos, stopped by for a souvenir, and quite quickly reached the northern square, Piazzetta Vigo.

This is the place where the ferries from Venice arrive or depart. On the right side of the square you will notice a nice bridge that crosses Canal Vena, the most important canal in the City.

On the bridge, there is a small statue of the lion (the symbol of Venice city) that is called “the cat of Chioggia”. There are different stories about this statue and its size. Venetians were saying that is so small because the inhabitants of Chioggia were so stingy that they didn’t want to make a bigger statue. The inhabitants of Chioggia were saying that they made it so small as to mock the Venetian symbol. The thought is, most probably, somewhere in between 😊.
From the Vigo square you have a nice view of the lagoon, and you see “the big sister Venice” on the other side.

We walked along the Canal Vena, and for me it was the nicest part of Chioggia, with bridges, boats parked along the canals, the colourful houses lining along the water and making incredible reflections in the waters.

Of course, we made “a mandatory” stop for aperitivo and small bites (aperitivo and ciccheti). We were relaxing and enjoying the nice atmosphere of late autumn by the sea. It was so nice and inspiring that I wish I had more time in the city…

We visited Chioggia in the morning and had the opportunity to walk through the local fish market, which was great. As Chioggia is in a lagoon, it has a long fishing tradition but also a great selection of daily catch. I was so sad, since we had to go on the same day. I would love to stay in the city for at least one night to have a chance to prepare a nice dinner with some of the delicacies available on the fish market. This is also one of the reasons why I will definitely return to Chioggia in the near future.

Chioggia is well known to European tourist also because of its long beach, Sottomarina. The beach is located “just on the other side” of the bridge, and looking outside to the lagoon. A very big and sandy beach. I presume that gets very crowded in the summer months, offering a lot of facilities (playgrounds, restaurants, bars, sunbeds etc.). It is not the type of the beach that I like, so I guess that I will avoid the area in summer months, but as said already, I will return off-season.

If you have already visited Venice, and if you liked the city, but this time you would like to visit a similar place just much smaller, then I recommend you a stop in Chioggia.

travel_hive.png
Thanks for reading,
feel free to leave a comment, I will be glad to reply to.
Best regards, @miljo76

follow.png

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1593709319496908800 twitter metadata:MTQyOTQxNTI0NjEyOTcyOTUzOHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xNDI5NDE1MjQ2MTI5NzI5NTM4L3N0YXR1cy8xNTkzNzA5MzE5NDk2OTA4ODAwfA== ~~~

The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aplusd, @michupa, @shiftrox ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

It looks beautiful.

It's really beautiful, but it's even more beautiful in person! Definitely worth a visit. Thank for stopping by!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1699.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Hi @lizanomadsoul and the @pinmapple Team, thanks for featuring my post, I really appreciate your support!

@tipu curate

Thank you @ashikstd for your support and for stopping by!

It's my pleasure.

Wow!! I’ve never heard about Chioggia!! You are right, it’s very similar to Venice. And it seems to be a very particular place. The architecture, the colors of the city, even the food looks special.

Beautiful post!! I really enjoyed the pictures that you shared with us!

Thank you for your kind comment @belug ! It is indeed very similar to Venice, I was there last year in September. In Chioggia, I really remembered many times the details of Venice, when I was walking along the canal by all these colourful buildings. I would definitely recommend a visit!

Scenic views, warm air, and vintage style houses. I will consider this soon when I got the chance to travel to Italy. My priority is Milan and Roma, then here.

Thanks for this review.

Chiogga is really worth a visit in my opinion. If I were you, I would definitely add Venice to your visit to Italy. Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for the suggestion! I'll definitely add Venice :)

many times I think that Chioggia is almost more beautiful than Venice

I would quite agree with you, although Venice is Venice 😀. It was my first time here, and as I am only a two-hour drive from it, I will certainly be visiting it again soon.

It does look a lot like Venice! Very charming town and you have captured some beautiful shots @miljo76 :) It looks like you had a great day! Thanks for sharing

My family and I had a really wonderful day in Chiogga, and also the weather was on our side 😎 Thanks for the compliments & for stopping by!

A pictorial town indeed. I think you have captured very well that, what it has to offer to a photographer. A sheer beauty of a post.
!HBIT

I tried to capture what attracted me most about the city, and what I didn't, I will on my next visit 😉 So I have an excuse to come back again,....Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your witness vote!
Have a !BEER on me!
To Opt-Out of my witness beer program just comment STOP below

I really like to see the views in the pictures you share.And I think the city has good places for us to visit

Thanks, I highly recommend a visit in the city! Thanks for stopping by!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @miljo76.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice to read. A wonderful place to tour. A land of great people and great opportunities

Wawww. Beautiful place that.

👍 Thanks for stopping by!

truly looks like a small Venice

Exactly, like Venice in a nutshell 😉

I love Italy 🇮🇹
Beautiful photossss 🤍

Thanks @clarissaaaa, I'm also in love with Italy, especially the their cuisine 😋

Hahah yesss 😅

It is a very charming town indeed,thank you for this post

It's my pleasure, thaks for stopping by!

Wow! It turns out that there are two Venices in Italy? What beautiful multi-colored houses and bridges! A fence of multi-colored pencils. Very cool photo of a seagull eating fish!

Thanks for your kind comment. The fish market is located by the canal, and a whole flock of seagulls have gathered behind it, waiting for someone to serve them fish food. They looked very hungry 😜

So ammazing

Thanks!

Beautiful ✨

Thank you 👍