San Francisco & a little taste of California

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Hi, my Hive friends. I feel a little bit nostalgic today since I'm thinking of my past travels and how much things have changed in the last two years. There are still many restrictions that are influencing my travel plans. Many of them are only in “my head” or better to say, in the head of my family members. I will not point out anyone, but I know, darling, that you are reading these lines 😉

t4.jpg

San Francisco was in my travel plans for a long time and finally my family and I were able to visit it for a few days. The city vibe was exactly what I'd expected, but the whole experience was above my expectations. Since we haven’t got much time, we combined the “exploration” of the area on our own and with guided small groups tours (and it was the right decision 💪).

c14.jpg

We were staying at a small hotel, close to Union Square, SF downtown and using the tramways, Uber and “our feet” to wonder around. The city is stretched over hills and the famous “up” and “down” streets are really of a kind. We didn't witness any police pursuit, so we didn't see any jumping cars like in the movies😀.

c8.jpg

c13.jpg

For a good start to the day, we needed a good breakfast and we just love to stop in a diner for a great meal.

h1.jpg

San Francisco downtown

The small group tour of the city was great. Thank you to our local guide, who was very funny! He showed us a large part of the centre and surrounding area. The painted ladies (colourful Victorian houses), the Coit tower, Presidio area, Palace of fine arts, and more…

c2.jpg

c6.jpg

c3.jpg

c9.jpg

c10.jpg

c11.jpg

c12.jpg

travel2.png

tranvaj2.gif

The Golden Gate Bridge

The most iconic spot is without doubt The Golden Gate Bridge. The weather in San Francisco is changing very quickly and you can experience all four seasons in one day. And in fact mornings were quite cold and foggy, which gave me the opportunity to make some nice shots of the bridge.

m5.jpg

m4.jpg

m3u1.jpg

Fisherman’s Wharf

I was really impressed by the sights of the bridge (in fog and sunny weather), but my favourite part of the city was the Fisherman’s Wharf. I think it was simply the vibe that attracted me, with charming restaurants, bars, street musicians at different corners and…the funny sea lions at Pier 39!

b1.jpg

b2.jpg

b3.jpg

b4.jpg

b5.jpg

b6.jpg

b7.jpg

b8.jpg

b9.jpg

Alcatraz

With just a short ferry ride you can reach Alcatraz – the prison island. I was not sure if to go for a visit or not, but finally decided to give it a try and…..I’m happy that we did it. The tour is done with an audio guide and in my opinion, it is one of the best tours I’ve ever done. The registered voices accompany you through the museum and tell you the stories of the prisoners in a very touchable way.

a1.jpg

a2.jpg

a3.jpg

a5.jpg

a7.jpg

a8.jpg

a9.jpg

a10.jpg

a11.jpg

a12.jpg

Napa Valley

As wine lovers we couldn’t escape the temptation, and we had to make a small tour to Napa Valley (to Napa and Sonoma). I loved the area of vineyards, the tasty Chardonnay, and the Pinot noir! We made a tour of some nice wine cellars and just enjoyed the warm weather.

img_20190921_213117.jpg

v1.jpg

v3.jpg

v2.jpg

v5.jpg

v6.jpg

v4.jpg

v7.jpg

Muir Woods

Short coastal drive from San Francisco brought us to Muir Woods– a forest of the coast redwood (Sequoia sempervirens). The coast redwoods are the tallest living thing. The tallest tree in Muir Woods is 252 feet tall! Most of these trees are 800 to 1000 years old and some are even 1500 years old. It is really amazing and when you are standing beneath these immense and powerful trees you really feel the power of nature.

d1.jpg

d2.jpg

d3.jpg

d4.jpg

On our way back to the city we made a stop in Sausalito and had a late lunch in a waterfront restaurant, enjoying the warm sun and having delicious crab burgers.

h3.jpg

h2.jpg

c5.jpg

I can almost feel the hot Californian sun on my cheeks, and I feel much better now, thank you for “giving me the reason to remember”. It is true that great memories can always erase sad and “grey” moments.

travel_hive.png
Thanks for reading,
feel free to leave a comment, I will be glad to reply to.
Best regards, @miljo76

follow.png

Sort:  

Great to see all those pictures of that beautiful city! It brings back a lot of great memories! Thanks for sharing!😀👍

It is a great city, yes 😀. Thank you for reading my post.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @miljo76! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @miljo76.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Great photo story on San Francisco! Thanks for sharing it, @miljo76.

I'm glad that you liked it ! Thank you for stopping by !

Hi, San Fracisco is an amazing city, but most of all I love that you brought Alcatraz prison into the blog, amazing.

I agre with you, Alcatraz is really a remarkable piece of our history. Thanks for stopping by !

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1455.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @LivingUKTaiwan and @pinmapple Team for the Honorable Mention and for your support. I appreciate it !

Amazing pictures of an amazing city. Golden Gate Bridge is such a picturesque place to photograph with every weather. Did you try out the SeaFood at Fisherman’s Wharf?

Yes, you're right, it is an amazing city. I left the Golden Gate Bridge in sunny weather and the dinner in Fisherman’s Wharf for my next visit, unfortunately. But on the other hand I'll have a reason to come back again 😀

San Francisco has bene on my wish list of places to visit for many years, but i havent mad eit there yet, but this post makes me so want to visit there again such a cool city and so much to see as you have shared here

I love that heart art piece

glad you didnt see any high speed car chases LOL

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

I keep my fingers crossed that you visit San Francisco as soon as possible 🤞I'm not sure that I'm happy about haven't seen any fast car chases,...just joking 😉. Keep going with Wednesday Walk 💪 Thanks for stopping by!

Maybe after things settle back to normal after the pandemic whatever normal is now lol

Beautiful pictures! I loved the ones of nature. May restrictions not hinder the search for new and beautiful places to explore! 🙌🙏😃💯

Thanks for the comment and for stopping by. I'll continue to search for hidden places around us,....for sure!

So did you find my heart in San Fransisco?

I know that's where I left it in 1999, but where exactly I don't remember and in reality, it could have been left in every one of those places that you visited!

Thank you so much for taking me back there again to look for it, but to be honest, I'm happy to leave it there so I will have the good excuse to go back there in real life one day to look for it again! 🤣

(soooooo JEALOUS! of such a great walk that you had there!...)

I feel you!!! Definitely one of the cites that I would love to visit again. I’m glade that my post revived great memories. 😀

Oh it certainly did take me back down happy memory lane and lots of streets too...🤣 And the bars and restaurants and Mexican Tacquerias...oh and the park near Fort Mason...and Coit Tower at night..and the list goes on...🤣