The night I said goodbye to 2023 | Velero Beach, Venezuela

in Pinmapple4 months ago (edited)

ENGLISH

The images were taken by me in Velero Beach and its surroundings, throughout the day. Enjoy.

I've never exactly been a beach woman, and in fact, I have a bit of a fear of the deep (thalassophobia). So when I found out we were going to Margarita on a family trip, a small, dark part of me thought that when it comes to bodies of water, something can always go wrong.

Therefore, I did not imagine that I would have such a beautiful farewell to the year on the beach at night.

IMG_20240113_115204.jpg

With my family, we went to Playa Velero, a paradisiacal place that has been very well conditioned for tourism and enjoyment by the sea. I had never been to a place like this before, and it has definitely become one of those happy places that I will always want to return to.

Of course, at first I didn't know the name of the beach. Some girls offering the service of making beautiful braids in my hair told me it was known as Velero Beach.

IMG_20231225_180843.jpg

It is a place with many activities and things to offer, such as enjoying kayak or jet ski rides, and even trying your strength on the famous banana, which is nothing more than an inflatable shaped like the fruit in which you get on and are pushed by a boat; if you fall into the sea, you lose.

Also, on Velero Beach there are plenty of restaurants and small food stalls for all budgets: from elegant seafood dishes in a restaurant whose stairs lead you directly to the sea, or the classic empanadas that some lady sells for $1.

In the afternoon, I said I would go for a walk on the beach for a while, and I left alone, without even a phone. The whole trip I had been taking pictures and I just wanted to appreciate the beauty that surrounded me, without being aware of taking a nice picture.

IMG_20231225_002748.jpg

I walked much further than I expected and beyond where the crowds were concentrated. I came upon the end of the beach, bounded by a border of large rocks full of seaweed, sand and some crabs.

I saw some people walking that way, so I ventured out and followed them without a word. I didn't know where I would get to.

When the rocks ended, I realized that I had reached an area where there was a kind of fort, where there were some people taking pictures, and a few meters further there were restaurants.

IMG_20231225_182800_1.jpg

I kept walking and to my surprise, I came to a big old pier eaten by the sea. It was so corroded that there were chunks of dock missing, and stretches where there were large holes where you could fall into the water, and only small pieces available to walk on.

I ventured out there because I wanted to get to the end, and I noticed that several people did not look like tourists, as well as barefoot kids with the characteristic recklessness of people who live on the beaches, playing at throwing themselves off the pier into the sea (and I must say that at that level, it was already deep water).

I walked to the end of the pier, to the edge, and looked down. I was a little dizzy and a little afraid of falling into the sea at that level. I just took a deep breath and watched a bit of both beaches I had on either side of the pier, and how the colors of the sunset were dissipating by the coming of the night.

IMG_20231222_143204.jpg

At one point in my walk, I felt a little insecure because some men were looking at me and saying things to me. And let's see: I may be adventurous, but I'm not that reckless. So with that tourist look on my face and no way to communicate, and on a corroded pier in the middle of the night sea, I prudently decided to turn back.

During the night, I walked around Velero Beach for a while. There were not so many people but the music was still going on. I sat for a while next to a swing hanging from a palm tree, just to contemplate the sea.

IMG_20231222_130227.jpg

On the sand there was only me and a man with a hat and cooler in hand, in a contemplative position, looking at nothing. It was a comical sight to see.

Some people were passing around, some boatmen and workers were picking up the inflatable boats, awnings and deck chairs, and I was just watching and trying with all my strength to keep that moment. Every sound and sensation.

The sound of the crashing waves and the feeling of burying my toes in the sand, the clear and bright moon above us, the lights of the buildings in the background and the warm temperature of the water. Every detail I tried to take home with me because I knew I probably wouldn't be going back to that place for quite some time.

IMG_20231226_012354.jpg

When my introspective moment was over and it was time to leave, I realized that in a way I was saying goodbye. I thought I was just saying goodbye to the beach and that moment, but days later I realized I was saying goodbye to the year 2023. I kept watching the waves and started playing with them, like a child again. I waited for them to reach my feet and get close enough to get me a little wet....

And so ended the night and, for me, the year.

IMG_20240110_221219.jpg


ESPAÑOL

Las imágenes son de la playa Velero y sus alrededores, tomadas por mí durante todo el día. Disfruten.

Nunca he sido una mujer precisamente de playa, y de hecho, tengo algo de miedo a las profundidades (talasofobia). Por eso, cuando supe que íbamos a Margarita en un viaje familiar, una pequeña y oscura parte de mí pensaba que cuando se trata de cuerpos de agua, siempre algo puede salir mal.

Por ello, no me imaginé que tendría una despedida de año tan hermosa en la playa de noche.

IMG_20240110_222054.jpg

Con mi familia fuimos a playa Velero, un lugar paradisíaco y que ha sido muy bien acondicionado para el turismo y disfrute junto al mar. Yo nunca había estado en un espacio así, y definitivamente se ha vuelto uno de esos lugares felices a los que siempre querré volver.

Por supuesto, al principio no conocía el nombre de la playa. Unas chicas que ofrecían el servicio de hacer trenzas hermosas en el cabello, me dijeron que era conocida como playa Velero.

Se trata de un lugar con muchas actividades y cosas por ofrecer, como disfrutar de paseos en kayak o motos de agua, y hasta probar tus fuerzas sobre la famosa banana, que no es más que un inflable con forma de la fruta en el cual te subes y eres empujado por una lancha; si te caes al mar, pierdes.

IMG_20231222_143210.jpg

Además, en playa Velero hay un montón de restaurantes y pequeños puestos de comida para todos los presupuestos: desde elegantes platos de mariscos en un restaurante cuyas escaleras te dirigen directamente al mar, o, las clásicas empanadas que vende alguna señora por $1.

Por la tarde, dije que me iría a pasear un rato por la playa, y me fui sola, sin siquiera teléfono. Todo el viaje había estado tomando fotos y solo quería apreciar la belleza que me rodeaba, sin estar pendiente de tomar una foto bonita.

Caminé mucho más de lo que esperaba y más allá de donde se concentraba la gente. Me topé con el final de la playa, limitada por un borde de grandes rocas llenas de algas, arena y algunos cangrejos.

IMG_20240110_221846.jpg

Vi que algunas personas caminaban por ahí, así que me aventuré y los seguí sin decir palabra. No sabía a dónde llegaría.

Cuando terminaron las rocas, me di cuenta de que había llegado a una zona donde estaba una especie de fortín, donde habían algunas personas tomando fotos, y unos metros más allá habían restaurantes.

Seguí caminando y para mi sorpresa, llegué a un gran muelle viejo y comido por el mar. Estaba tan corroído que habían trozos de muelle faltantes, y tramos en los que habían grandes huecos en los que podías caer al agua, y solo pequeños pedazos disponibles para caminar.

IMG_20231225_180750.jpg

Me aventuré por ahí porque quería llegar hasta el final, y me di cuenta de que habían varias personas que no tenían pinta de turistas, además de chamos descalzos, y con la temeridad característica de la gente que vive en las playas, que jugaban a tirarse del muelle hacia el mar (y he de decir que a ese nivel, ya eran aguas profundas).

Caminé hasta el final del muelle, hasta el borde, y vi hacia abajo. Me daba algo de vértigo y algo de miedo caerme al mar en ese nivel. Solo respiré hondo y observé un poco ambas playas que tenía a los lados del muelle, y cómo los colores del atardecer se iban disipando por la llegada de la noche.

IMG_20231225_002936.jpg

En un punto de mi paseo, me sentí algo insegura porque habían algunos hombres mirándome y diciéndome cosas. Y a ver: puedo ser aventurera, pero no tan temeraria. Así que con esa pinta de turista que cargaba y sin ninguna forma de comunicarme, y en un muelle corroído en medio del mar nocturno, prudentemente decidí regresar.

Durante la noche, caminé un rato por playa Velero. Ya no había tanta gente pero la música seguía. Me senté un rato junto a un columpio que guindaba de una palmera, solo a contemplar el mar.

En la arena solo estábamos, en posición contemplativa, yo y un señor con sombrero y cooler en mano, viendo a la nada. Era una imagen cómica de ver.

IMG_20231222_142752.jpg

Algunas personas pasaban alrededor, algunos lancheros y trabajadores recogían los botes inflables, toldos y tumbonas, y yo solo observaba e intentaba con todas mis fuerzas guardar ese momento. Cada sonido y sensación.

El ruido de las olas rompiendo y la sensación de enterrar mis dedos en la arena, la luna despejada y brillante sobre nosotros, las luces de los edificios al fondo y la temperatura cálida del agua... Cada detalle intentaba llevármelo a casa, porque sabía que probablemente no volvería a ese lugar en un buen tiempo.

IMG_20231223_144559.jpg

Cuando mi momento introspectivo terminó y ya era hora de partir, me di cuenta de que de alguna forma me estaba despidiendo. Pensaba que solo me despedía de la playa y de ese momento, pero luego me di cuenta de que me estaba despidiendo del año, del 2023.

Me quedaba viendo las olas y empecé a jugar con ellas, como una niña otra vez. Esperaba a que llegaran a mis pies y se acercaran lo suficiente como para mojarme un poco...

Y así terminó la noche y, para mí, el año.

IMG-20231225-WA0080.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @mimistories! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 5000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - January 15, 2024

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful 🥰🥰