International Travel Unlocked! Taiwan Travel Experience Day 1

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Years ago, I was longing to travel to other countries to experience different cultures, meet new people, eat different delicacies, and enjoy various sceneries. Last 2019, I was able to unlock that dream. I was given the chance to travel to Taiwan for a research presentation but of course, we would not miss that chance of making a tour in Taiwan.

Since it was my first time, the excitement was really high! I was so eager to prepare for the requirements for the travel. I was just thankful that I have companions who already experienced traveling abroad and they were the ones guiding me on the things that I should do.

Things I prepared?

Since I am a government employee, I prepared Authority to Travel signed by our School President. Also, I secured a Medical Clearance from my Obegyne because I was 5 months pregnant at that time for my 3rd child. The plane tickets were booked through trip.com and our accommodation was arranged by my companions through Airbnb.

Our travel route at that time was from Davao City to Clark and then Clark to Kaohsiung, Taiwan. I feel nervous of IO stories but we ensured that we had the enough documents for the travel and yes, we got stamped quickly.

The travel was also smooth at that time. We arrived at Kaohsiung after 2 hours and our walking journey began. We went to IO of Taiwan and there were no questions for us. There was a last scan of baggage on our arrival, it surprised us, Jolibee products were not allowed that time and there was a big penalty if someone will be caught bringing Jolibee products, good things we didn't bring any Jolibee product that time.

Then we bought a sim card so that we can communicate with my companion's friends who already have our easy cards and NTs. To save for the conversion, since we have friends in Taiwan, we sent money to their loved ones here in the Philippines and we got the actual NT in Taiwan.

We started our walking journey and look for a place where we can eat our dinner since Kaohsiung is not really our destination. It was Taichung. Here's the food that we ordered for dinner, this cost around 100NT.

We always laughed at ourselves trying to convert it into Philippine money.

After ate our dinner, we started our journey to Taichung. We ride a Bullet Train. Here's our photo in the bullet train station.

It was actually my first time and it was really a fast travel. The bullet train was so clean and quite. Only a few passengers for our night trip.

After we arrived in Taichung, we need to go to another train station to go to our accommodation, the walking journey was really tough.

I was so glad that my husband was with me and help me in carrying our luggage. After arriving at the local train station, we then again, walked for almost 20 minutes to find our accommodation. We had difficulty finding it and every time we attempt to ask, most of the people would say "No English". Good thing there was Google Maps, we followed it diligently and arrived at the place at around 10:00 PM. It was really a long journey. My feet were really tired of walking, good thing, I brought this Efficascent Oil with me.

Our Airbnb reservation was good, our room was spacious, only that the comfort room is located outside and on a different floor.

I had so much for this article, I will be sharing to you the part 2, which is our stay in Taichung.

I hope you enjoyed reading my article as much as I enjoyed recalling the details of the events.

Keep safe everyone!

Sort:  

Yung efficascent oil talaga ang nagdala sa journey na ito. Good thing na experience mo na ang magtravel after 2019 are you able to travel other countries pa?

Yes super, sa lahat ng travels ko, dapat andito talaga to. This year, we will have a travel in Singapore. Ito palang ang second.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!