🥦Mizuo´s Travel Blog🥦No.9 - Gamla Uppsala, Viking Tombs. Sweden. 2021

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



Gamla Uppsala, Tombs of Vikings

Since I have moved to Stockholm, Sweden, I have become a fan of Viking history and culture. In the Viking age, Gamla Uppsala was the capital of the Swedes tribe Vikings. I visited there almost three years ago and I decided to visit there once again. The last time I visited there, I did not have time to visit Gamla Uppsala Museum, so this time visiting the museum was the main point why I decided to visit there. So, let's go!

In September, it is getting colder a bit by a bit every day....
In September, it is getting colder a bit by a bit every day....

Leaves are turning yellow and red. They are beautiful, but it seems that autumn is around the corner. 🍁🍂
Leaves are turning yellow and red. They are beautiful, but it seems that autumn is around the corner. 🍁🍂

It takes almost one hour and 30 minutes away from central Stockholm to Uppsala. I took a train to get here, but I have heard that taking a bus is even cheaper. 

Arrived at Uppsala station!
Arrived at Uppsala station!

OK! So, where can I go to Gamla Uppsala? Without Google Maps, I would never be able to find a way to get there! Thanks to the Internet, I found out how to get there by local bus.
OK! So, where can I go to Gamla Uppsala? Without Google Maps, I would never be able to find a way to get there! Thanks to the Internet, I found out how to get there by local bus. 

Biogassbuss! Yes! Sweden is very serious about being sustainable.♻♻♻
Biogassbuss! Yes! Sweden is very serious about being sustainable.♻♻♻

Yes! I have arrived at Gamla Uppsala! It was not far from central Uppsala. Gamla Uppsala means ”Old Uppsala” so this is an old part of Uppsala where Uppsala Temple was built to do Nordic rituals.
Yes! I have arrived at Gamla Uppsala! It was not far from central Uppsala. Gamla Uppsala means "Old Uppsala" so this is an old part of Uppsala where Uppsala Temple was built to do Nordic rituals. 

Welcome to Gamla Uppsala! Yay!
Welcome to Gamla Uppsala! Yay!

It is a very beautiful museum 😄
It is a very beautiful museum 😄

Yes! Gamla Uppsala Viking Tombs.....amazing!
Yes! Gamla Uppsala Viking Tombs.....amazing! 

We can walk around the tombs. Well, but I decided to go to the museum first.
We can walk around the tombs. Well, but I decided to go to the museum first. 

Gamla Uppsala Museum

It is a model of Gamla Uppsala Temple where it was here before Christianity was introduced to Sweden.
It is a model of Gamla Uppsala Temple where it was here before Christianity was introduced to Sweden. 

Runestone 😆
Runestone 😆

I want to visit Gotland again to see these runestones. I will be prepared to explore some runestones next time. Yes! Now I know how to use Runedata by Uppsala University 😀👍 ( https://app.raa.se/open/runor/search )

If you are interested in the Viking Age and Viking history like me, this is a must-go museum in Uppsala! You would love the exhibition about how they built the tombs and what they found in these tombs, etc. 

Inside the museum, there is a hall where people can sit down and watch the tombs. It seems that this place is used to learn how the tombs were built and explain Viking history to students.
Inside the museum, there is a hall where people can sit down and watch the tombs. It seems that this place is used to learn how the tombs were built and explain Viking history to students. 

Lunchtime!

There is a restaurant next to the museum called ”Ordinsborg” (Odin´s Castle) 😁
There is a restaurant next to the museum called "Ordinsborg" (Odin´s Castle) 😁

Ordinsborg - Highly recommended to vising here!!

https://www.odinsborg.nu/

Delicious!!!!!!!
Delicious!!!!!!!

I drunk some mead which is made of honey. The Vikings drunk lots of mead back then. 🍯🍯🍯
I drunk some mead which is made of honey. The Vikings drunk lots of mead back then. 🍯🍯🍯

Balt Mjöd - Mead

https://www.mjodhamnen.se/index.php/component/mjodhamnen/result/productdisplay/1080

He was very nice to serve a big portion of everything, pork, beef, salmon, and sausages. 🍖🍗🥩🍺 😀
He was very nice to serve a big portion of everything, pork, beef, salmon, and sausages. 🍖🍗🥩🍺 😀

And then, after lunchtime

We visited a church which is located next to the museum.
We visited a church which is located next to the museum. 

Next to the church, this very cool-looking temple-ish building was standing.
Next to the church, this very cool-looking temple-ish building was standing. 

This building reminds me of the Gamla Uppsala Temple which was destroyed. Well, it is cool to see that they built something similar 😄
This building reminds me of the Gamla Uppsala Temple which was destroyed. Well, it is cool to see that they built something similar 😄 

They used wood for roof materials. It is so beautiful! I have heard that there are old-style churches like this in Norway. I want to visit one of them someday!
They used wood for roof materials. It is so beautiful! I have heard that there are old-style churches like this in Norway. I want to visit one of them someday!

After we visited the church, we walked around the Three Royal Mounds of Aun's MoundAdils's Mound and Egil's Mound.  

Gamla Uppsala - Wikipedia

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gamla_Uppsala

Gamla Uppsala is the heart of the Viking Age, and I love visiting this old town. We used to walk on the mounds (which I was surprised how come we were allowed to walk on the Royal Mounds....), but this time when we visited there, they built the fences around the Royal Mounds. Yes! It should be right to preserve the historical site. 😄 I had so much fun walking around the mounds and learning how they built these huge mounds for their leaders. Amazing! I hope to learn more about their history so that I can get to know the Swedish people more and more. 

🥦Ha det så bra! 🥦
🥦See you again! 🥦
🥦じゃ~またねぇ~🥦

#luv #luvshares 

https://ipfs.nftshowroom.com/ipfs/QmayF1uTdmPFkr4USwUVHup5zcfiXuHQ6Z5jLpGnzSAYn5


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

Wow, so many amazing photos! I love that red temple building. Such strange architecture, but also very interesting to look at. You are lucky to live in such an interesting area. I still have so much to explore in Japan, and I have kids, so I won't be traveling anytime soon, but when I do some of the more historic places in Europe are very appealing!

Hi @dbooster
It was a fun trip to see the Viking historic site 😀 I miss Japan 🎑 Visiting a historic site is fun and made me get to know more about this country. Thanks for the comment 😁👍 !BEER 👍


Hey @dbooster, here is a little bit of BEER from @mizuosemla for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @mizuosemla! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 500 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 20

Congratulations @mizuosemla! You received the biggest smile and some love from TravelFeed! Keep up the amazing blog. 😍

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@smeralda (TravelFeed team)

PS: Have you joined our Discord yet? This is where over 1000 members of the TravelFeed come together to chat. Join us!