Ben Lomond, Queenstown, New Zealand.

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Read this post on TravelFeed.io for the best experience



We only really had two full days in Queenstown on the South Island of New Zealand.
We only really had two full days in Queenstown on the South Island of New Zealand.

            
One of them was ear marked for a parkrun and the other, we were hoping to do a decent hike and see some of the famous country side this area is known for but with only a couple of days We were going to be at the mercy of the weather gods.

Even heading into summer nothing is guaranteed.  The Long the range forecast was saying rain and high winds which even though it might be impossible with our lack of gear, training and fitness it probably would not be wise for us to tackle something outside our comfort zone.

Lucky the weather reports improved and we were keen to give it a go, being out and back meant we could just head back if things turned nasty.

We had been watching our step count over the last couple of weeks and trying to do a bit more but the 1550 metres of elevation gain was always going to be a good challenge.

The rain stayed away and the wind was playing fair, we just needed to hang on to everything In a couple of exposed places on a Ridge and the saddle.

It took 4 hours to cover the 8km to get to the top. Just under 3 hours on the way down.

We were up early and there weren't that many people on the track.  l taking lots of photos when I noticed my travel debit card must have slipped out of my phone case.  Not the end of the world  but very annoying that I had made such a rookie mistake. We back tracked a few hundred metres trying to remember where I took the last photo from but after a few minutes, I was second guessing myself and wondering if I had left the card in our accommodation. Best just to push on to the top and keep my eye out on the way back down.


The start of the Tiki trail just above Queenstown Cemetery. The rope and cones are to separate the mountain bike trail.
The start of the Tiki trail just above Queenstown Cemetery. The rope and cones are to separate the mountain bike trail.

You need plenty of rests on this hike.
You need plenty of rests on this hike.

At the top of the Tiki trail is a gondola, restaurant and luge track. Which is also the start of the Ben Lomond trail.
At the top of the Tiki trail is a gondola, restaurant and luge track. Which is also the start of the Ben Lomond trail.

It starts of pretty easy.
It starts of pretty easy.

But it is always steadily up.
But it is always steadily up.

Great views every where you look.
Great views every where you look.

The Saddle and the Peak.
The Saddle and the Peak.

No time for any side trips
No time for any side trips

Finally at the saddle, the track is not maintained from this point.
Finally at the saddle, the track is not maintained from this point.

I always like seeing a bit of snow.
I always like seeing a bit of snow.

From the top towards Queenstown
From the top towards Queenstown

I could zoom in on Mount Cardrona is 1,936 metres high from our position on the top of Ben Lowond, mountain bikes in summer, skiing and boarding in winter.
I could zoom in on Mount Cardrona is 1,936 metres high from our position on the top of Ben Lowond, mountain bikes in summer, skiing and boarding in winter.

The wind at the top was not as bad as I was expecting. Strong wind on the saddle had me worried that the top might be dangerous. I suppose on this day the winds down low were just gusting between the mountains and over the saddle.The views at the top were stunning and well worth the achy legs so much so that I had forgotten about my missing credit card until we crossed another couple of hikers on the way down who asked if I was missing a card? They happily handed it over when I mentioned my name.Such a bonus to have a couple of nice people find and return my card saving me the hassle of having cancel it.
  The wind at the top was not as bad as I was expecting. Strong wind on the saddle had me worried that the top might be dangerous. I suppose on this day the winds down low were just gusting between the mountains and over the saddle.

The views at the top were stunning and well worth the achy legs so much so that I had forgotten about my missing credit card until we crossed another couple of hikers on the way down who asked if I was missing a card? They happily handed it over when I mentioned my name.

Such a bonus to have a couple of nice people find and return my card saving me the hassle of having cancel it.    

Just over 18 kilometres as I started my watch from our accommodation and stopped it at Vudu Cafe where we grabbed a late lunch.
Just over 18 kilometres as I started my watch from our accommodation and stopped it at Vudu Cafe where we grabbed a late lunch.

More than 1550 metres of elevation gain to get to the top of at 1748 metre above sea level.  6 hours and 7 minutes of moving time, 6:59 moving time as we had a number of breaks.


View this post on TravelFeed for the best experience.
Sort:  

What a great walk! Beautiful views as well. I always do that with my cards, it is so annoying. Lucky they found it!

So lucky to get my card back, it was a great day all round.
!ALIVE

Wooooooooooo! So good 👍
I !LUV the photo from the Gondola area looking over the balcony. I hadn't seen that photo before,or that view! It's an awesome shot, babe 🙌

Definitely needed those breaks on the way up... My lungs were DEFINITELY telling me I was !ALIVE 🤣 !LOL

Why doesn’t Dracula have any friends?
Well……I hear he is a pain in the neck.

Credit: reddit
@new.things, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(4/8)

Yes it was good we too it easy on the way up made for an easy decent
!LOL
!LUV
!ALIVE

I didn't sign up for the company 401k.
I don't think I can run that far.

Credit: reddit
@consciouscat, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @new.things

Are You Ready for some $FUN? Learn about LOLZ's new FUN tribe!
(4/8)

😊 !LUV !LOL !HBIT 😁

Which is faster
hot or cold?, Hot, because you can easily catch a cold.

Credit: reddit
@new.things, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @consciouscat

Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.
(1/8)

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @new.things! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1733.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you, I think that's my first time in the top 3 😀

Wow, those hiking stats are impressive! It must have been really rewarding to see that beautiful panorama up there. The photographs are very nice, thanks for posting!

Thanks for commenting, it was worth every step and metre of elevation gain!
!ALIVE

How beautiful New Zealand is! No wonder they filmed Lord of the Rings there. A fantastic hiking tour, I really enjoyed your publication!

Cheers and yes the Kiwi's are definitely cashing in on Lord of the rings. They have tours and advertising everywhere.
!BEER


Hey @vonjerico, here is a little bit of BEER from @new.things for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Congratulations @new.things! You received a bright smile from TravelFeed. Our eyes were beaming while reading your post. 😁

Thanks for using TravelFeed!
@invisusmundi (TravelFeed team)

PS: Why not share your blog posts to your family and friends with the convenient sharing buttons on TravelFeed.io?