Vienna adventure - Belvedere palace visit

in Pinmapplelast year

Hello everyone and welcome to the last post from my Vienna trip that happened at the beginning of March. In the previous posts I wrote about Liechtenstein castle and Schönbrunn palace visits as part of our guided tour and today I'll share a little bit about our last stop which was Belvedere palace.


As I mentioned in the previous post, the main reason I decided to go for this guided tour was because of the Schönbrunn palace but I have to say that Belvedere completely blew me away by its beauty! Schönbrunn complex/gardens are probably more beautiful but when it comes to the palace itself, for me Belvedere was number one. This baroque style palace was built as a summer residence of Prince Eugene of Savoy, one of the most successful military commanders of his time.


We even got to witness a married couple photoshoot in front of the palace! :) Many times I was in awe of Vienna architecture and this time was no different. It's like I saved best for the last - after this we had few free hours in the city center before going back home.


This complex consists of Upper Belvedere, Lower Belvedere and the garden between them that has a beautiful fountain but unfortunately it wasn't working yet. I hope I'll get a chance to visit Vienna in spring when everything is green and even more beautiful!


We were walking from the Upper to the lower Belvedere and there were Sphinx sculptures all along the left and right side of the path and they kind of look like the guardians especially the ones in front of the palace.


I took a lot of photos in front of Upper Belvedere as I wanted to have them as a memory of this visit - some turned out funny thanks to the wind and being spontaneous and some turned out pretty cool...


Even though it was gloomy and windy, the weather didn't affect my joy and admiration for this incredible complex! Once again, my imagination took me to some other time, centuries back where I tried to imagine how different everything was but the palaces and the entire complex resisted the test of many, many years...


Thank you everyone for following along and supporting my Vienna adventures. I really enjoyed sharing these posts as form of a digital travel diary and I hope you enjoyed coming along with me - at least virtually.


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

i went ro vienna in 2004

i was lucky i gor into an exchange program austria was so nice and i told their highschool class about 911 being an inside job and how its like their reichstag fire false flag and their teachee was so excited ro hear from an interesting Amerixan eho didnt trust his gov

then we threw american pennies and quarters on the ground foe the k 12 gumnasium audtrian students to chase aftee picking up our american money

we were so cool to them

we drank so much at age 15 16 lol