Vienna adventure - Day one

in Pinmapplelast year (edited)

Hello everyone and welcome to the first post in my Vienna travel series. Today I will cover day one in this beautiful city so let's get started...


Arriving in Vienna, bus tour

3.jpg

Our journey started just before midnight on March 2nd when we left Novi Sad. There was 20 of us (girls) and we traveled by a double-decker bus with exactly 20 seats on the first deck. Two of my close friends who started Latino Fitness Power classes got invited to a competition in Vienna so I just tagged along and joined them for fun and to be their camera (wo)man. :) After a smooth night ride with very little sleep and a few longer stops, we arrived in Vienna and had an informative and interesting bus sight-seeing tour...


Walking tour with a guide

It was finally time to get off the bus and go on a walking tour with the guide, learn more about the city and monumental architecture. This was my third time in Vienna but my visits were always way too short and now I finally got to learn more about the city and find out so many new things I didn't know before. I studied tourism and even though I never graduated, I really love traveling, exploring places, learn about different parts of culture, cities, hear interesting stories and just enjoy the experience of being somewhere away from home.

10.jpg

11.jpg

I believe that both guided tours and exploring the city on your own have their advantages and disadvantages. This time I was glad we had this short but super nice guided tour as I would probably never find out so many details about some of the most important buildings, monuments as well as the history of Vienna.

We ended the guided tour in front of the St. Stephen's cathedral by taking a group photo then splitting up in smaller groups depending on preferences and it was also way easier to get around.

20.jpg


Free time, lunch and coffee

At this point, it was definitely time for a proper meal and few of us picked "Türkis Oriental Food" where I had Iskender kebab and coke. Meat was served on sliced bread with tomato and yoghurt sauce, refined with butter and even though it might not look very aesthetic, it was really good and I finished it all! When we were all done with food, we got served Turkish tea which was lovely and it reminded me of my trip to Istanbul. Since we still had time before meeting with the rest of the group, we decided to check out "Sky Garden" and have some much needed coffee with a nice view.

23.jpg


Hotel check in

At 3pm we met up with everyone else, got back on the bus and on our way to the hotel. We stayed at the "Eventhotel Pyramide & Congress Center Vösendorf" where the dance competition was held so it was super convenient for us! After checking in, taking a shower and just chilling after a long night and day, we went to the lobby to hangout and have a drink before going to bed. With that, our first full and long day in Vienna came to an end...


I hope you enjoyed spending the day with us in Vienna, at least virtually and I hope to see you in my next post where we will continue the Vienna adventure!


nikolina.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Beautiful photos! Amazing!

Thank you!

great woman, salute to fellow female friends traveling, and the places you visit are very good.

Thank youuu!

This place looks familiar. Must be fun there right?

It was a lot of fun and a great trip! :)

Great post and images, what a beautiful city.

Thank you so much!

Nice post, but to go in Vienna for a kebab fast food restaurant, is just a sin. Sorry.
Next time I can give you some suggestions.

Suggestions are always welcome but I have zero regrets! :)

Vienna is not very far from me so I have had the opportunity to visit it many times, and yes, it is an amazing European city in every way.
I had the opportunity to visit it during the winter holidays and I can say that in those moments the whole Austria is like a fairy tale.

It's amazing that you have a chance to visit Vienna often and I can only imagine how wonderful it must be during winter time - magical! :)

It's a very beautiful city and I feel very happy that you can enjoy the atmosphere in that city.

Thank you so much!