Kamikawa Ice Pavillion

Greetings everybody, me aka NomnomNoodle is back for the third post about my trip in Hokkaido that I went in February. So far, it's been very welcoming from all of you in this community to read and comment about my last 2 posts and that encourages me so much to keep blogging and letting us getting to know each other more bit by bit.

One fact about me #3 is that I like snow but I hate the cold. Well, actually I guess it's all the same about everybody, but you know, coming from a very hot country all year long, I am always love to see, feel and most of all experience it. Frankly most of the experience with snow, I love it. Unfortunately not so much this time in the ice pavilion and in this post I'm gonna tell you why.

Screenshot (7).png

IMG_8771.jpg

The place is called "Kamikawa ice pavilion" located in Furano. This is how it looks from the outside. Like I said it was a snowy all day long but we want more snow, so we went inside.

The ice pavilion is another famous tourist spot in Furano, where people come to see, feel and learn about the cold.

As we about to go inside, the owner came up to welcome us and tell us what we will be seeing inside. He said that all-year round he kept the temperature inside the same. The most famous room is the one that always stay -41 (Celcius) degree.

He gave us a wet towel before we go in to prove that it is indeed very cold and our towel will get frozen in the shapes we made. Great and pretty concrete idea, I'd say.

We went inside and holy bits it's freezing haha

IMG_8749.jpg
Here you can see the jeans are standing (almost) on its own because it's very cold in there.

They have spots to takes pictures with the ice sculptures, I unfortunately didn't take much photos inside because it was so cold I couldn't take my hand out for long. These are the presentable one, that I didn't shake too much.

IMG_8755.jpg

IMG_8756.jpg

Another thing that they showed is the Clione which is an kinda jellyfish-like animal that only survives in the cold place. Somehow Clione is called "sea butterfly" in Japanese. They're really small and too small for my camera to take pictures of it. But if you get to go there, should check it out. It's like a super tiny jellyfish in a very very cold fish tank.

After all the cold zone, the souvenir zone is nice and warm. We can buy hot potatoes and tea to help warm us up.

IMG_8757.jpg

IMG_8759.jpg

IMG_8762.jpg

My favorite zone of the souvenir is the board where people put their photos on their take in the -41 cold room. Yeah... some is a little revealing (?) but it's funny to see how people challenge themselves.
IMG_8768.jpg

IMG_8772.jpg

We went outside and the sun almost gone. The owner came back and let us write our wish on a stick that we can throw in the fire to make it come true. I mean why not right? It's definitely keeps me warm for now and my wish comes true in the future.

IMG_8774.jpg

I wish I could upload a short clip that we throw this into the fire but I couldn't just yet, but I'll try to figure it out. Anyway, outside they have the ice slider that you can sleigh down and it was really fun. It was kinda like a ride in a theme park but a bit smaller.

So that would be for the post today about going in a cold place in a cold day. I promise next time, I'll tell you guys about warmer stuff like our cozy hotel, food and ...(pause for anticipation) you find out next time.

Khob kun ka Everybody!
NomnomNoodle

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/crypptogalz/re-leothreads-rp7z331c
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( crypptogalz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

@hiddenblade would love that place

Me when I get there...except I will have 5 inches thick clothes but still shiver like that

Screenshot 2023-05-15 at 5.00.08 AM.png

same here lol I can't handle it either

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

image.png

Felicitaciones!

Gracias por deleitarnos con tan magnífica publicación, la cual fue valorada por @Womentribe una comunidad para destacar el valioso potencial del ser humano.

*Sigue nuestras cuentas:
@Womentribe
suscribete aquí @colmena-139925
twitter
Instagram

  • Te invitamos a formar parte del trail de curación

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1879.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community: