Northern Lanterns of Wat Lok Molee in Chiang Mai - Part III

in Worldmappin9 months ago

Around this time of the year, Chiang Mai is filled with these beautiful and colorful lanterns. I guess I could say that it's almost like the leaves turned brown in autumn. Obviously, Thailand doesn't have spring nor autumn, but this'll do.

S__4579373.jpg

Today's post is gonna be about the last part of Chiang Mai day trip of my friend and I. After the foggy mountain - Part I and Pra Singha Temple - Part II,we still have a little time left for one more temple.

This temple is called "Wat Lok Moli/Molee" or Lok Moli/Molee Temple. (Which moving forward I'll call it Wat Lok Molee, since I figured it's sound more accurate in Thai) Also, disclaimer here : Today I'm gonna be talking about little technical terms, which I'll try my best to explain them to you.

201906073416a75f4cea9109507cacd8e2f2aefc150517.jpg

source

Wat Lok Molee is one of the oldest temples in Chiang Mai. Over five hundred years old built during the Lanna Kingdom Located in the north of Chiang Mai city, near Chiang Mai old town and the city moat.

FYI : A moat is a deep and wide trench around the rampart of a fortified place (such as a castle) that is usually filled with water. Chiang Mai Old Town is surrounded by this moat.

In the temple, you'll see "Viharn and Ubosot"

FYI : A Viharn and an Ubosot are is the halls, which houses various Buddha images and is used as a preaching hall and as a place for prayer and meditation. The difference is that Ubosot has Sema stones while Viharn doesn't.
FYI : Sema stones or boundary stones, looking like shrines, are designate the sacred area for a phra ubosot (ordination hall) within a Thai Buddhist temple

S__4579374.jpg

souce

Going inside, you'll see this buddha image. This sitting position we call it "Buddha in the attitude of meditation", which is a common posture for a Buddha image.

IMG_1410.jpg

We got the flowers for praying too.

IMG_1412.jpg

IMG_1418.jpg

After we were done praying, we went outside and meet this handsome guy.

IMG_1424.jpg

IMG_1425.jpg

I think it's funny that he was sitting on the box that said "Sharing Happiness Cabinet". Somehow he didn't seem much happy, guess he was upset about the donation. lol

IMG_1422.jpg

Then we come to the main attraction of Wat Lok Molee, the grand stupa of Wat Lok Molee.

Stupa is the same as Pagoda. It's just how we southeast Asian would call it.

Screenshot 2023-09-24 020915.png

Screenshot 2023-09-24 021026.png


Like I said at the beginning, this time of year you can see the lanterns everywhere. It's because the festival "Yee Peng" is around the corner. Yee Peng is the festival that has been incorporated into the festivities for Loy Krathong, which I'll need another whole post to explain about it. Anyway that's how they look like. Very colorful!

IMG_1458.jpg

IMG_1429.jpg

IMG_1435.jpg

I might take time and space for another post to write about how these lanterns were made. Could be interesting, I think. Don't you guys agree?

IMG_1431.jpg

IMG_1442.jpg

And that's it for today's guys! Thank you so much for reading my post and I hope to see you again. You can drop me some comments down below if you wanna know anything.

So.. as always

Stay vibrant and let the day take you off your feet.

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/luzscarllet18/re-leothreads-bppm9fpa
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( luzscarllet18 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2007.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

I made it this time yaayy

What a delightful post by you, Nomnomnoodle! Your vivid descriptions and beautiful photos truly transported me to the enchanting world of Chiang Mai and Wat Lok Molee. I appreciate your efforts to share not only the sights but also the cultural insights. Keep up the fantastic work, Nomnomnoodle! 🌟📸🌸

Oh Thank you so much for stopping by and your heart-warming comment. This means a lot to me to know how I should better my post. I really appreciate how you notice my little research to get reader to understand out cultural notes.

Thanks a lot again :))

Outstanding temples but that cat took my whole focus being a cat mom, lol. A bit grumpy but definitely a great source of happiness for people who love connecting with pets and cats in general!

yep! That's actually the reason why I put him in the cover too. haha and I guess it works! lol

For cat moms like me, it sure works! 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Haha I like that the cat is just sitting there and waiting for donations.

pleaseee give him some donationsssss

untitled.gif

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

HiveFest Meetings Contest

Nice to meet you ❤

and you too :)

Have a nice day. ❤