Part II : Exploring the Royal Splendor Inside the Palacio Real de Madrid

in Pinmapple5 months ago

"A monarchy is merely a symbol nowadays."

said our local tour guide. One thing I remembered from the tour in Palacio Real De Madrid. I find it's always complicated to put the right definition in this kind of thing as the world progressed and people questioned more and more about it. That's why, to me, it's so interesting to come to Europe and see how it was/ supposed to be and compare it to the present time.

Day 1 part2.jpg


For the Part I : Me and My Misty Madrid Debut, I've shown you how we got here and started our trip with the "Palacio Real de Madrid". Today I wanted to continue on the tour and "try" to show you what's inside the grand palace, which nowadays is still being used for royal duties.

Why did I say "try"? Well, it's because they only allowed us to take pictures from the first few rooms at the beginning of the tour and after that, I just had to write after my memory and my sourced photos, which might not be super relied on.

Disclaimer: That's why some of the photos come from these 2 sources : patrimonionacional and gottfriedpank.alfahosting.org

Still, there are some interesting things to see and to reflect on my modern-day relevance as I mentioned in the beginning.

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_197.jpg

That's me on the right still cold despite being inside a heated building.


One thing I've always admired European baroque art style is the painting and the artwork on the walls and the ceilings. It hurts my neck already just to look up to it. I can't imagine how it'd be to hang from the ceiling and paint for weeks.

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_108.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_110.jpg

Due to that hard work, I couldn't begin to argue that it's absolutely breathtakingly beautiful and worth it for the later generations to admire the work.

www.patrimonionacional (1).png

source


Now, I'd like to show you some of the rooms where I was able to find pictures from the websites and the things I remembered about them.

🏰 the Colorful Rooms 🏰

www.patrimonionacional (8).png

source

gottfriedpank.alfahosting (1).png


One thing I remembered quite distinctive from the tour is every room has its own personal color. For example, in the left picture is the green room, where the king keeps his favorite globe clock in the middle of the room.

Funnily enough, the local guide explained that the king loveddddd collecting clocks and watches and that's why we keep seeing them all over the place.

I guess that's one thing about obsession. You can obsess about a thing as far and as much as you can afford it. And if you're a king of Spain. It's the endless possibility for your obsession. Scary..

untitled.gif


🏰 the Chinese Dressing Rooms 🏰

gottfriedpank.alfahosting (2).png

source

This room was used for dressing the royal family. But.. no wardrobe or closet? I asked the guide and she said, they had servants to bring all of the stuff for them so no clothing will be kept there.

www.patrimonionacional (9).png

source

This room is famous for the Chinese-style porcelain artwork on the ceiling. Since Spain has lots of history of traveling around and learning a lot about different cultures. I think this is how they "show off" what they learned (and adapted) into an art of decoration for the palace, which is nicely done and I must say, I'm pretty impressed.


🏰 the Bedroom 🏰

gottfriedpank.alfahosting (5).png

source

"Such a small bed for a royal," I thought when I saw the room. I wasn't even sure it was a queen size bed. Then I learned that the royal family didn't actually sleep in the same bed as a commoner. They'll share a bed only when necessary occasion (if you know what I mean). The reason why they don't sleep in the same bed is because it creates more safety in case there are unfortunate events happen.


🏰 the Dining Room 🏰

gottfriedpank.alfahosting (4).png

source

This is one of the rooms they still use in the present time. Whenever the royal family would have a grand gala dinner, they would organize it here. The room was super long and the table had the capacity to have hundreds of world leaders.

FYI: The most important people sit in the middle, not the long end of the table like in a movie. Still, I believe some would still wanna sit at the end of the table.

www.patrimonionacional (10).png

source


🏰 the Throne Hall 🏰

www.patrimonionacional (2).png

source

Interestingly, the throne hall is rectangular with the throne in the middle, which I find it hard to see from both far ends of the room.

www.patrimonionacional (5).png

source

What I like though is the screaming color of RED! I mean, I expect nothing less from the most powerful room of all the palace to be in another color.

www.patrimonionacional (7).png

source

Next to the throne room, they were displaying the crown and the scepter. It looked really heavy and unreal to put on the head of a human. But to this point, it's used as a symbol, so I guess it worked.

www.patrimonionacional (4).png

source

gottfriedpank.alfahosting (3).png

source


🏰 the Church 🏰

www.patrimonionacional (11).png

source

The guide explained that Spain is considered a quite religious country, so the royal needs to be a role model of having a church and a royal religious ceremony for the people. In this room, I can tell that they put a lot of work in there especially on the dome-shaped ceiling, letting the light keep the church bright and close to god. Back then when they were building it, it must have been so hard to create a perfectly engineered and architectured form of building like this. Kudos to them.


That's it, guys. That was the Royal Splendor Inside the Palacio Real de Madrid, I wanted to show you and before I bid you adieu to the cute souvenirs from the shops.

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_140.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_144.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_147.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_1- madrid_231211_146.jpg

The palace tour is over, but my first day in Madrid is still going on. I hope you guys can still join me for the traditional Spanish dinner in the next one. Until then...

Let's enjoy the beauty of the architecture and keep traveling, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


Sort:  

every corner of the room in the city of Madrid has a very beautiful classic European architectural style, I really enjoyed your post

That's very sweet of you :)) Thank you so much for your compliment and of course for stopping by.

Wow. This is my first time seeing a palace from the inside. Good thing I clicked on your blog. It's beautiful to visit a place like this. It shows how powerful and wealthy royal families are.

And.. Great thing you kindly left this nice comment for me. It was really captivating and just to imagine what then was so great and beautiful. It was also now still very amazing. Thanks again for stopping by, I really appreciate it.

You're welcome. It's an honor to be appreciated by one of the hive users whom I admire. Hihi.

Looking at the photos makes me feel the urge to go to Madrid immediately 😭, such a lovely place. Souvenirs from the shops are indeed cute too, definitely a must have🙌🏻. Please continue sharing contents like this, I'll be waiting for you update @nomnomnoodle 🤎

Yayy my mission to show good time in madrid is accomplished when I get to see your comment! Thank you so much :)) I actually just posted Part III : Savoring Spanish Tradition with A Feast of Jamón Iberico and feel free to check it out if you have time. See you soonn

The pleasure is mine @nomnomnoodle, reading your posts makes me love Madrid more🤎. See you soon!

Those rooms look stunning! Almost too beautiful to be real!

It honestly looked so much better in the pictures too. I think the extravagant gold really makes everything look much better.

Congratulations @nomnomnoodle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 800 replies.
Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - December 15, 2023

Everywhere smells of history. Thank you @nomnomnoodle for sharing these beauties with us. The dining table is so big, my whole family could fit on it 😂

for sure and plus couple of your friends, I think they still gonna make it lol. Glad you enjoyed my work. Thank you for letting me know too. 😊

Your welcome

Que buen recorrido, me encantaría algún día conocerlo, que afortunada.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!