Part II : Take a Closer Look into Toledo Cathedral

in Pinmapple4 months ago

"The magnum opus of the Gothic style in Spain."

My Part I : Stroll to See Toledo Steel continues with the vibe of bricky and earthy Toledo. In this post, I'd like to introduce you to Toledo's most important place: The Primatial Cathedral of Saint Mary of Toledo.

S__5087234.jpg


Here is my first day of the trip, if you wondered where I went.


🇪🇸📍 Three cultures of Toledo 📍🇪🇸

As I've mentioned that Toledo is a city of three cultures, I can see it during my walk through the city. The architect and decorations reflect the cultural influences of 3 religions; Christians, Muslims, and Jews.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_20.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_16.jpg


Toledo used to have large communities of Muslims and Jews until they were expelled from Spain. When Spain decided to make Christianity the main religion of the country. Toledo is considered to be what's left of the history of how 3 religions coexisted.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_17.jpg


Some decorations still had some scents of Muslim and Jews. Not that I could point them out much, but from my experience of being in central European country like Germany, I started to see how and why the vibe is different.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_3.jpg

Mom caught me a little off guard strutting down the alley 😂

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_11.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_10.jpg

This is my favorite photo. A door knocker shaped like a small petite hand. I find it so interesting and cute. If I had a cafe and I want it to have this vibe, I'll have them make this door knocker. After a while of just admiring the buildings and house, we get a glimpse of the cathedral

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_2.jpg


🇪🇸 🕯 Toledo Cathedral 🕯 🇪🇸

or in the other name of "Mary of Toledo", or Spanish name of "Catedral Primada Santa María de Toledo" is a Roman Catholic church and not just any church, but it's (allegedly) considered to be the magnum opus of the Gothic style in Spain.

Magnum Opus means a great work and especially the greatest achievement of an artist or writer. (According to Merriam-Webster Dictionary)

Toledo_Cathedral,_from_Plaza_del_Ayuntamiento.jpg
source

There are only three 13th-century High Gothic cathedrals in Spain and Toledo Cathedral is one of them. So, here I know I was gonna experience vertical proportions, pointed arches, and asymmetric style of Gothic.


🇪🇸🔺 The Entrance 🔺🇪🇸

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo_240122_3.jpg


As I researched, I learned that the cathedral actually has many entrances, which in this case, they called it Portal. The one we used to go inside (on the left picture here) is called Puerta de los Leones or in English, Portal of the Lions.

The portal is the most modern of the great portals. By modern, I mean it was the last out of 3 portals that was built, in the 15th and 16th centuries, And, Why does it called "Portal of the Lions"? If you zoom in, you'll see the columns in front with lions holding pictures(?). I'm not sure what they're holding honestly.


🇪🇸🔺 The Interiror 🔺🇪🇸

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_39.jpg

Interesting fact is that the church being built such a long time ago. It was actually built on top of a Muslim mosque. (Remember I told you about how 3 religious used to coexist?) Then it was rebuilt and reshaped this "temple" to be more gothic.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_38.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_37.jpg

The next 300 years later, the art of Mudéjar and neo-classic were added to complete the grandeur of the church.

Mudejar style in architecture refers to the application of decorative Islamic art styled motifs and patterning to Christian styles of architecture.


🇪🇸🔺 The Ceiling Fresco and The El Greco Painting 🔺🇪🇸

The things that captured my attention were the art. I got to mention the ceiling fresco, done by Luca Giordano, in the sacristy. Sacristy is the hall where a priest prepares for a service, but on that day, it was more like an El Greco art exhibition. (To me, at least) Anyway, the virgin mary in the middle of the room is my favorite.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_21.jpg

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_19.jpg


LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_20.jpg

That time is my first time to learn about El Greco, the artist of the painting. Interestingly, he was a greek painter, sculptor and architect of the Spanish Renaissance. His famous works are gathered here in this cathedral.

LINE_ALBUM_Toledo2_240124_22.jpg

The Disrobing of Christ or El Expolio painting, (here above the text) is his most renowned work. His work style is dramatic and expressionistic, using bold colors to extenuate the element like Jesus wearing red robe and purple and yellow are decorative presences.

There are 2 major art features that I'd love to write about, but as time would have it and more researches to be done. I might have to be prepared and work writing about it more. Today, I hope you'll get to know about the Toledo cathedral better.

I know I do! and I have these sources to thank for:
Spain's official tourism website and Toledo Cathedral Wikipedia

I hope I keep it understandable, but if it's not in anyway, please feel free to let me know, I'd super appreciate it.

Let's enjoy the beauty of the place and keep traveling, guys

Khob khun kaa,
Nomnomnoodle 🍜


Sort:  

I absolutely need that doorknocker

I knew Im not the only one

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


Congratulations @nomnomnoodle!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

The art inside the cathedral is just something else! I love it!

it is truly amazing! the beauty of them all :))

Felicitaciones por tu ascenso en Hive 🥳🥳🥳👍 y esas estructuras tienen mucha historia que contar; hay que conservarlas porque son historia y gracias a está publicación; muchas más personas conocemos sobre ellas

I do hope people would read it and know more about this wonderful place. :)) Thank you for your kind words.

Que ciudad tan maravillosa!.
Espero algún día visitarla con mi familia.
Gracias por compartir.

Your welcome! I believe it'll be so much easier for you going there, since you speak Spanish. I needed a lot of translation, but it was still very fun and very beautiful. I believe your family will love it too.