Favorite Street Foods of Mexico - Part 1

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

tacosluis_sm.jpg

"Amante de los Tacos" — what's written on my fridge, and may very well be on my gravestone. Spanish for "Taco Lover", it's both a memento from a visit to Tijuana, and a reminder of my undying love for Mexican street food. While my time in this infamous border town was brief, several months were spent backpacking, exploring, and eating elsewhere in the country, between 2016 and 2017.

amante.jpg

I arrived, bright eyed and hungry in Guadalajara. After spending time briefly in the city center, I was met by a new friend and Couchsurfing host, Xander, who brought me to neighboring Zapopan, where he lived. After two buses, we were there. With night descending, I unloaded my bag, and together we walked to what would be my first true Mexican taco experience.

Tacos Luis. A tiny cart in a quiet neighborhood. Children played on the playground nearby into the late hours, but all was well and peaceful on this warm October night.

tacosluis_sm.jpg

I approached — a tall guero with long blond hair, and board shorts — and quickly caught their attention. I didn't know what to get. On the grill were delicious smelling meats. Among them were chorizo (sausage), longaniza (another type of sausage) suadero (beef), and also cebolla (onion) all carmelized and rendering their full fat and flavor. And nearby was the trompo — A tower of carefully cut and stacked marinated pork on a vertical rotisserie, for their illustrious al pastor. Propane flames roasted the outside meat, while the spit turned slowly and the pineapple top surrendered its sweet juices below. — a method of cooking brought by Lebanese immigrants to Mexico, and this quiet block. I opted for the full experience and the taqueros (taco makers) - a full fledged and respected trade in Mexico - made quick work of my order. For only a few dollars, I had a fat pile of tacos, which I generously coated in salsa and washed down with a bottle of Victoria beer. There seemed to be nothing barring public alcohol consumption here, and this I liked.

Over subsequent evenings, Xander and I returned, with intermittent afternoons spent learning about his life, letting the neighborhood kids ride my Penny board, and heading into the city to take pictures and explore. I've had many amazing tacos since, but this 'gateway drug' forever hooked me on any street food that was to come.

Some time, and many tacos later, I had arrived in Mexico City. Also known as D.F., or Districto Federal, it is the capital of Mexico, and to many, a capital for street food as well.

Here, the region's famed al pastor taco carts line the corners. For a little more than a dollar to less than a quarter, you had your pick of nearly every variety of traditional street taco. Alongside were tables, tents, and people selling any good you could imagine, and also torta stands.

tortas2.jpg

tortas1.jpg

A fast favorite of mine was the Torta Cubana, or basically a sandwich with everything. Nestled between two soft buns, skilled artisans would pile high every type of meat they had, quesillo (white cheese), refried beans, tomato, salsa, and aguacate (avocado). This torta just worked. Meats thrust together, juices dripping down, cheese oozed from every hole, and many flavors became one. It was messy, but surprisingly manageable in size. And at less than 2 dollars on a backpacker budget, an incredible bargain.

tortacubano_sm.png

I would often visit my favorite street stands for tortas, tacos , and other foods while I was doing a work stay in an area hostel. There was no shortage of entertainment in the neighborhood (called Roma Norte), whether it be restaurants, bars, or parks. And with my skateboard and the metro, I had easy access to the rest of the city. Over the coming weeks I had many amazing experiences there. Like & Follow for Part 2.

Credit: All photos are mine.

The sticker was made by Tijuana artist Eli Hega
(Instagram.com/eli.hega)

Sort:  

Torta Cubana looks good and cheap, that already meets my two requirements when buying something to eat 😅.

And you can find them for sale on many corners in CDMX!

Congratulations @nudgetravel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Guess the producer of the "50 Million Block" and win HIVES
First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation

Hi there, great to see you post from the haveyoubeenhere and pinmapple community. Please note our only community rule is that all travel posts must be pinned on pinmapple, https://pinmapple.com/ . Just click on the 'get code' at the top of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Pinning your post on Pinmapple not only increases your post exposure, you may also get greater support from Pinmapple if you're curated by us.

Cheers!

It's not on Pinmapple for some reason, but I checked and the code I copied is in this post following the image of Tacos Luis (the time it appears after the header)

Hey, I see it showed up now! Did you change anything?

No, its just slow.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!