Travel: Faction Brewing Brewery

in Pinmapplelast year

Hello there, I'm @outwars. I recently visited the Faction Brewing Brewery with my sister and her husband, and I would like to share my experience.

The Faction Brewing is located in Alameda, California, USA. It is close to where we were staying, and they wanted to show me around the areas that they like. It was a very pleasant day where the sun is out and providing warmth, while the breeze is bringing in the cold air.

IMG20221028112703.jpg

When I first saw the place, I immediately thought that it was rather intriguing. They are surrounded by a large area of wide open space. I was told that Faction Brewing is occupying the old Military Hangar area. There are also other businesses here like wall climbing, where having high ceilings are advantageous.

There were a lot of tables outside, and I really like the variety of their tables. Some were just wood on top of barrels, some were big cable reels, and others were nice wooden tables for big groups.

IMG20221028112913.jpg

It's not yet too late in the day which is probably why there weren't a lot of people, but there are already some patrons. We decided to go to the bar to look at the beer they offer, and order. As we were entering the door, I noticed the flyer and saw that they hold trivia every Wednesday.

My sister doesn't join in on the Trivia, but apparently it is very popular. I checked the website and a lot of teams seem to join every week. I can assume that this is a fun event that people participate in to have fun and get to know more people.

IMG20221028113013.jpg

Looking at the choices from the bar, they offered different beer types, but I noticed that they have a lot of IPAs. I haven't acquired the taste for IPAs yet, so I opted for the Pilsner. My sister got a Saison, and her husband got one of the IPAs.

We then headed back outside and chose a seat near the end by the fence. While there was a lot of nothingness all around us, I think it highlighted a lot of the different cool things in the distance.

IMG20221028113055.jpg

Off in the distance, we can see the picturesque view of San Francisco. You can also make out the Bay Bridge. The image below is already zoomed in. But the distance from our seat is actually immense.

IMG20221028093548.jpg

On the side we can see the Port of Oakland Cranes. There seems to be an ongoing myth in Oakland that the Star Wars AT-ATs were inspire by these machines, but searching online, it has been debunked. I can see the resemblance and I think it is still pretty cool.

IMG20221028112925.jpg

While drinking, we started catching up with each other, and talking about the past. It has been a few years since we've seen each other so there was a lot of things to talk about. We went back to get a few more beers and try out the different flavors.

IMG20221028112834.jpg

On the way back, I was able to look a little more on the different areas of the place. There seems to be a bar area, which I think can be used during the Trivia. It also serves as the water station.

IMG20221028112848.jpg

There is also a table in the middle that looks like the area where you can place empty bottles and glasses.

IMG20221028112945.jpg

Near the entrance is like a food truck. I don't think the brewery offers any food, so this is the main place where you can get food with your beer. Since we've already eaten, I didn't get a chance to try it.

IMG20221028113025.jpg

As we were finishing our drinks, my sister told me that we can actually go inside and get a mini tour of the brewery. I have been to breweries, but not inside the actual area where they make the beers. So I was very excited and curious. So we went back inside the building again.

IMG20221028113039.jpg

Since this used to be an old hangar, the ceilings were very high. I guess I can also cross out being inside a hangar from the places I haven't been in. Aside from the spacious area, the other thing that really caught my eye were the cool graffiti on the walls.

IMG20221028113202.jpg

Before we can move further into the brewery, we were greeted by the caution sign.

IMG20221028113231.jpg

On the left side were a lot of barrels and a lot of brewing equipment.

IMG20221028113430.jpg

IMG20221028113257.jpg

IMG20221028113251.jpg

IMG20221028113147.jpg

On the right, the walls are covered with different artworks, and there were also a lot of tables. I assume these are used when it is raining outside.

IMG20221028113139.jpg

IMG20221028113217.jpg

There was a pretty cool looking van inside. I think this might be a replica of the Dumb and Dumber van. I'm not even sure if this is the real one since it looks a bit old.

IMG20221028113306.jpg

Of course there were also a lot of barrels on the right side of the area.

IMG20221028113353.jpg

IMG20221028113422.jpg

IMG20221028113443.jpg

IMG20221028113342.jpg

IMG20221028113404.jpg

The women's restroom is at the end, so if you were going to the restroom, you actually have a nice view along the way. Just be sure to watch where you're walking especially if you're admiring the artwork.

IMG20221028113452.jpg

Before we left, I checked out their merch area. I like their color combinations and I was tempted to buy the beanie. But since the Philippines is a very warm place, so I will barely have any opportunities to wear it, I decided against buying it.

IMG20221028113617.jpg

This was actually a very fun and educational place to visit. While I didn't really learn anything about brewing beer, I did get to see a lot of the machines used for it up close.

I am assuming that they are a smaller brewery but they already have a lot more barrels than I expected. So I can't imagine how much more it will be in bigger breweries that also mass produce their beers.

If you are ever in the area, I highly recommend visiting the Faction Brewing Brewery, not just for their beers [which are good], but also for the scenic view inside and around it.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @outwars! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
Be ready for the February edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1778.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you for the support.